2004 Acura TL Reviews

2004 Acura TL A-SPEC 3.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles

Summary:

Great car... great deals now that you can find these with high miles

Faults:

Navigation unit sometimes resets itself.

One of the side marker lights has gone bad.

Driver's seat leather shows signs of wear.

General Comments:

OK... here it goes for those of you considering this car.

I have had it since 2008, and I'm still driving the car. Bought it with 91000 miles, and now it's got close to 158000 miles on it.

Since then I have changed the battery once, tires twice, and bunch of oil changes. Still at 158000 miles... it's still running like the day I got it with 91000 miles.

It's a very quick car... The MPG isn't bad at around 21 combined, it has good handling capabilities. Overall it's a nice car; I don't understand some people bashing this car?

It's a great car for the money I paid in 2008, and I plan to take it over 200000 miles before considering selling it.

By the way, the transmission is smooth as long as you change the fluid every 30000 miles; just changed the trans fluid yesterday, and it shifts very smooth. Trans fluid makes a big difference on this car.

Nothing mechanical has gone bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2012

2004 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Buy it

Faults:

Nothing, just basic maintenance.

General Comments:

So far, having owned the car for about 3 years, and having to buy it with 91000 miles already on the odometer, the car has been fantastic. Nothing major went bad; replaced tires, brakes, and rotors. Still runs smooths, idles smooth, and the handling is still solid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2011

2004 Acura TL from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission  
Previous carVolvo 360

Summary:

I much prefer my 18 year old Volvo

Faults:

My car has only 19,000 miles on it and the tires need to be replaced. I drive it to church, grocery store, shopping, and never long trips.

It just seems that the tires should have lasted for a longer time, since they are so expensive.

General Comments:

Other than that, the car is doing well. Don't you think it should with only 19,000 miles?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2010

8th Oct 2010, 11:15

Perhaps it is the age of the tires, six plus years that has someone saying tires should be replaced. If so, the tire person should have said so pointing out dry rot, cracks in the side walls that could make the tires unsafe.

2004 Acura TL Base 3.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance88300 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Wouldn't trade it for anything within $10k of its price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great car. Owned a TL before this one, and just bought a TL to replace this one. Never had a problem outside of routine maintenance, car still drives just like it did when I bought it. Even the clutch feels the exact same, and it has over 88k miles on it. I expect it to last another 100,000 trouble free miles.

Performance: I opted for the 6 speed manual, which I do not regret, it is a fun car to drive. For a 260 horsepower sedan this car moves, 0-60 in under 6 seconds. I get decent gas mileage too, 23-25 mixed driving, and 27 on the highway doing 75ish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2010

2004 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Worth every cent plus some!!!

Faults:

Plastic from the air box broke off 125,000 miles while driving; was sucked into the line. Car still ran and got me home, but ran weak. That's it!!!

General Comments:

This car has been a dream. I loved it when it was introduced in 2004, but couldn't afford the 32K price tag. Bought it used for 24K and loved it.

Put a lot of miles on it with no problems except tires. The Michelin Pilot Sports are great, soft, sticky tires, but only last about 6 months. Went with a less rated tire, and has been better.

Other than that, ACURA has lived up to its reputation. Will buy again!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2010

2004 Acura TL 3.2L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carVolvo S70

Summary:

Lacks the quality I would expect for the price point

Faults:

Torque converter needs to be replaced at 68k.

General Comments:

Very disappointed that for years Acura hasn't seemed to fix their transmission problems. It looks like for years earlier than mine, they upped the transmission warranty to 100k because of a lawsuit, and the year after mine they changed it to 70k. I guess that is what I get for buying the first new model year, as they haven't figured out they still have the same issues they had for the last model.

Someone mentioned they finally got the transmission fixed on the 04 model. Wrong. My old Pontiac I had when I was a teenager lasted longer than this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2009

26th Jun 2009, 18:59

I'm having the same issue with my TL. I think it's a beautiful car, but I paid way too much money to have things go wrong on a constant basis. When I get it back, I'm trading it for a Chrysler 300C or a Cadillac CTS :) Can't wait!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews