2004 Acura TL Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Acura TL from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11400 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Sharp look, but has issues..

Faults:

Here's the issue: Windshield wipers suddenly stopped working. I live in Florida, so rain is a constant weather condition. Checked the fusebox and fuses were fine for this component. Thinking it's the wiper motor, cabling or electrical system. Anybody else have this issue? Solutions? Not keen on having to take to dealership. Have heard nothing, but bad reviews about dealership service and associated costs.

Any help would be helpfut.

General Comments:

Like the look and handling for the most part. interior is pretty good. Not 100% satisfied given the price of the vehicle.

Expected MORE for my money. Current problems doesn't make me happy or think about buying another Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2007

6th Sep 2007, 18:24

I just had the same thing happen on my TL. Did you ever get yours fixed?

30th Sep 2008, 18:17

This is a known issue, there is a recall for the wiper motor which fixes this.

2004 Acura TL 6-MT 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance23800 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Well-worth the purchase; recommended!

Faults:

Windows (perhaps window gaskets) creak slightly on bumpy roads.

General Comments:

Excellent overall with nimble handling - fun to drive. Not like a BMW, but BMW owners who ride/drive it say "Close call!"

Excellent navigation system with voice recognition. Folks love the spoken directions!

Very quiet on highway, Bridgestone tires a bit noisy.

Delightful surround-sound system; surround-sound DVDs difficult to locate, limited number available.

Comfortable back seat for two well-sized adults.

Dealer provides excellent service!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2006

2004 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Disappointed after paying $35,000 for this vehicle

Faults:

Vibration between 50 mph - 60 mph since I bought it new. Dealer says it's a flat spot in the tires.

Tires are already in need of replacing at 24,000 miles. Dealer said that after I buy new tires, the vibration will go away.

Paint started chipping off the front bumper. Dealer says it is "delamination" and has offered to fix that at no charge. Lucky me!

General Comments:

Dealer says its the tires that is causing the vibration even though it has been reported to them since the day after I bought it. They suggested I replace the tires. I bet if I replace the tires, I will still have a vibration problem. Anyone else having the same problem?

The dealer offered to fix the paint chipping off the bumper, but only a small area of the bumper and not the entire bumper even though there are more smaller areas of delamination on the bumper.

HELP!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2006

7th May 2006, 17:50

That is not bad actually on a sports sedan. I am on my second set myself the stock tires were lousy. My boss had a new NSX and wore out his first factory set before 20,000 miles! There are too many pluses vs. minuses with the TL. How about listing what you like about your TL. I have had issues with tires, brakes and the transmission, but still like it more than any other car I have ever had.

2004 Acura TL from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Doesn't live up to its promise

Faults:

The car vibrates badly because of fancy adjustable motor mounts - the dealership can't fix.

Poor alignment means a set of expensive tires has gone bald in 10000 miles.

General Comments:

The expensive technology doesn't work and the dealership cannot fix it.

This car is definitely not worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

2004 Acura TL from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired626 miles
Most recent distance1575 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Waste of money for me

Faults:

4 warranty repairs (trunk latch and alignment the first day, bad Firestone tires, car still pulling to one side) in less than 2 weeks and still a list of things wrong. I still have to take it back. Here is a list of things wrong: driver window rattles unless cracked, passenger window sounds like fingernails on a chalkboard when rolled down, Voice Recognition randomly stops working, car pulls to one side after alignment and new tires, steering wheel not straight, center console between seats gets extremely cold when AC is on (causes condensation in storage compartment), headlights not aimed properly, and plastic "pins" that hold the trunk liner to the inside of deck lid keep popping out. I am thinking of contacting a lawyer.

General Comments:

Car is nice, but I have had many problems for only owning in for 2 weeks. ADVICE: Drive the car a day or two before you buy if you can and try everything out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2004

6th Sep 2004, 05:11

I have similar problems with my 2004 Acura TL. These problems arrange from painting to brake/rotor problems. I have been fighting with the dealer for 9 months with little success.

John Jones

Fayetteville, NC.

30th Sep 2004, 18:30

I have had problems with paint and body alignment within two months of purchasing my 2004 tl, still have not resolved the issue, the paint starting peeling about

6 weeks after I bought car. Trying to resolve with customer service but so far no luck.

2004 Acura TL from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carHonda Pilot

Summary:

A sport sedan bargain

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

This car drives like a front wheel drive BMW, and costs $10,000.00 less. It is the best looking sedan Acura has ever built. The interior is more beautiful than any competitor, except Jaguar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews