2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance54750 miles

Summary:

Good-looking, seemingly well-built, lovely to drive. Fast, that is.

Faults:

Rear wiper motor packed up, but was replaced under warranty.

Driver's heated seat requires a new element.

Exhaust heat-shield needed replacing after 54,000 miles.

Eats front tyres rather quickly, but the rears seem to last for ever.

General Comments:

A gorgeous car to look at, and I still look back at it with pride after parking it anywhere after three and a half years of ownership.

The suspension makes it a little hard at low speed - it's not really a town car - but along your favourite twisty road it's a joy.

Steering is nice and sharp, always letting you know exactly what the front wheels are doing.

The cabin is a lovely place to be and feels well bolted together, though it's starting to develop a few rattles as the miles pile on. Still, just turn up that CD player...which, incidentally, is a good one!

My local Alfa dealer is a friendly place, but maybe I'm lucky in that respect because I know Alfa dealers don't score highly in the surveys, but I have no problems with mine.

Fuel consumption isn't wonderful, but then when that sort of thing becomes important to you, you know you need to get out more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

24th Feb 2005, 06:48

Have you changed your cambelt yet? If not get it done asap, at 50-60K it is essential.

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 distinctive 1.9 turbo diesel from Luxembourg

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 145

Summary:

I love the car, but I hate spending a fortune at the garage repairing it

Faults:

Leaked where the windscreen was fixed on driver side

Aerial of the ignition no longer recognized my keys

Electronic engine of roof opener broke

Loss of power this week end - engine chip says there is a problem - I think with the Turbo, but garage is unable to find the problem - will pull 50 mph maximum and rev limits at 3300

At least 8 head lamps have been replaced - especially driver side.

General Comments:

Pleasure to drive if it didn't go wrong so often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

25th Apr 2005, 15:58

My 2001 Alfa 147 is currently broken down outside my home. Since 2001 I have had the following problems -

Rear window leak.

Both doors fell off.

Boot lock replaced 3 times.

Engine computer failed 4 times.

Window switches replaced.

CD and changer replaced.

Gearbox replaced.

Clutch replaced 2 times.

Cruise control system failed / replaced 3 times.

Boot open switch failed 10 times.

Air bag light on 3 times.

ABS failure.

EBD failure.

ASR failure.

And many more...

My man, yours is nothing!!!

22nd Mar 2006, 17:55

I bought my new alfa 147 in 2003 as new, I have had nothing go wrong with it at all, except for the totally useless dealership who I have "dumped" and get my car serviced for half the price and done a whole lot better.

Long live the 147.

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance48100 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Well designed car which could turn out to be a Lemon

Faults:

Selespeed system failure causing loss of gear function.

Rear Windscreen Wiper unit failure.

Handbreak cable failure.

Failure to engage reverse gear.

Failure to unlock car security/door locks.

Electronic Sunroof dial failure.

General Comments:

The Selespeed system in design and to talkabout is a work of Art. In practice it proved highly unreliable/dangerous leaving me without gearbox functionality coasting towards roundabouts etc.

The Dealer network left a lot to be desired without many answers and some plain rude! I have now (at last) found a reliable/honest dealer however.

When it works, this car is a pleasure to drive, great chassis with responsive steering and well equipped.

Recommend to anyone who buys 'a 147 lemon' that they extend the manufacturers warranty at the very least.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Twin Spark 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Statesman

Summary:

The best value for money in it's class without exception

Faults:

CD player looking for a multi change unit that wasn't installed originally, fixed first time.

Rattle in drivers side door recently fixed, going by the way the interior door handle was put back together, this was repaired by an ape with a crowbar, so now they are replacing the handle.

High oil consumption, so far dismissed by dealer. This is a tricky one as it appears hard to find what "reasonable consumption" actually is.

Remote locking system started to re-lock the car on opening, sometimes with passengers still in the car, rather embarrassing, appears to be resolved after attention.

Rattle in passenger seat just emerged, I haven't told the dealer about this yet, in case they get the ape that they used earlier to fix it.

General Comments:

A beautiful car that always get the looks of fellow motorists.

Stunning interior, intoxicating dashboard lighting.

Comfortable seating easily adjustable.

Handles like a go kart, although the chassis could handle a good deal more power.

Engine revs cleanly and effortlessly.

As my first Italian car, it is everything that I hoped for and expected.

Free revving, beautifully balanced, wonderfully designed, stunning motor vehicle capable of absolute joy and occasional annoyance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

21st Jan 2005, 01:12

I have high oil consumption as well- worries me!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 32 reviews