2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 5door 1.6 120 from Norway


A sublime, outstanding car with a few niggles


Leakage from right front wing caused wet carpets. Dealer used two weeks to fix. Car's been dry since.

Some occasional rattles from dashboard and passenger door.

Driver's seat (leather) is very noisy when shifting weight. Appearantly easy to sort out.

Keep getting "Rear fog light failure" message, even if it is faultless.

A stunning, head-turning car with a general good quality. It's a sublime drive - even if quality niggles are annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

10th Apr 2003, 18:19

I'm interested to know if they traced where the water was leaking in. Mine is doing the same thing and I am about to take it to the dealer for them to have a look.

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 progression 1.6 120 bhp from Italy




During these first 15000 kms the only thing I had to do with my car is to wash and fuel!

General Comments:

The engine is very powerful and rather full at low revs.

Roadholding is absolutely superb.

Interior is very stylish, accurated and his quality is certainly good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

3rd Jan 2003, 03:50

My 147 1.6 120pbh progressive with lowered suspension has been excellent car to drive, with no faults except one, camshaft belt failing after 60.600 km.

Reparation was done under the guarantee.

Still it gives me a little uncomfortable feeling to think that it just might fail again. It was repaired with original parts, that has no modifications.

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive from Belgium


Great driving experience and a superb car


One flickering had to be fixed.

One plastic cover for the engine was damaged and had to be changed.

General Comments:

Overall the car is reliable and excellent built in quality.

Performance and handling are excellent.

The design is amazing, in particular the dashboard.

Comfort is correct thanks to excellent seats and superb leather.

Only cons are high consumption and uncertain resale value.

A great car which gives far more satisfaction than insipid German competitors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 120 distinctive 1.6 from Germany


Good build in quality and wonderful to drive


The paint is rather fragile.

One seat had to be fixed better.

General Comments:

It is my first Alfa and the driving experience really good!

The engine has nice sound, and the performance of the 1.6 is quite good.

Comfort is acceptable, except on bad roads.

Build in quality so far is very good, I am really puzzled.

Driving position is excellent, and gear changes are smooth.

I would certainly recommend this model, far more exciting to drive than its German competitors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Twinspark 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A 16,000ukp bargain


A new aerial antenna needed fitting under the warranty.

New carpet is to be fitted after the bulkhead sound proofing melted onto the carpet behind the brake pedal.

General Comments:

A well equipped car.

The performance from the 1.6 engine is more than adequate.

I opted for the leather interior and have found this car to be the most comfortable and pleasant driving environment to date.

I have never had a car get so many looks when driving through town.

So far no electrical problems, if I have a relatively problem free three years I will buy another Alfa Romeo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland


A misthought disaster


Leak on the power steering with a new steering rack required.

Cooling system leak which required AA recovery. New oil cooler casing required.

Complete Selespeed system failure with resultant replacement.

Continuing gear selection problems changing from second to third when it will often go into neutral or fifth. This problem particularly occurs after resuming driving after a longish journey. Problem is still unresolved.

Oil usage is incredibly high. This problem is still unresolved.

General Comments:

A very stylish car, fast, good handling. Firm ride.

Completely useless when the gears decide not to work. An embarassment to own. You find yourself lying to your friends about the problems you keep having.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2001

29th Oct 2001, 23:01

This is very interesting... I also own a 147 Selespeed and can tell you that I have not had 1 problem in the first 3000km of ownership.

I am very interested in finding out more about the problems experienced on your 147. Could you please e-mail me on ss200@msn.com

I would very much appreciate it.


2001 Alfa Romeo 147 5 door 2.0 Selespeed from Australia and New Zealand


Absolute GEM of a car with great features!

General Comments:

This is my 1st Alfa, and I am amazed how good the car really is.

Standard features of this car SURPASS those of the Alfa 166!

The Selespeed is fantastic, but does take a little time to master.

I decided to change my order from a 3 door to a 5 door following the test drive, and I have not regretted it since. The 5 door still looks very much like the 3 door, but is much more convenient.

Go for Sports leather and the 17" alloys, and you will not be disappointed. EVER!

Compared to the Audi A3 1.8T, Golf GTi and BMW 3 Series Compact, the Alfa beats all of them hands down in looks, handling, equipment, price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 09:59

Did you test drive a Seat Leon 20V T Cupra? A very quick car with great handling, excellent safety and equipment levels at a fraction of the price of the Alfa.

A real Wolf in sheep's clothing!

4th Sep 2001, 20:15

No SEAT LEONs of any sort are sold in Australia. The last models of SEAT sold here were discontinued from 1998. SEAT's are not very popular in Australia. But I must say I did see them on the road in France recently and they look great.

I guess Alfa are trying to position themselves in the same bracket as BMW, Merc and Audi. As such they will never be able to achieve that by pricing their cars too low!

I do wish that we were as lucky as most Europeans who are spoilt by the number of choices in cars.