1999 Alfa Romeo 166 Reviews

1999 Alfa Romeo 166 3.0 V6 24v from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 24v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres
Previous carProton Satria Neo

Summary:

Italian Princess that needs to be spoiled all the time

Faults:

CV joint on the intermediate shaft gone after 1 week; $300.

Differential leak for gearbox drive shaft 3 weeks after purchasing. New gearbox required at the cost of over $5000.

Engine idler arm after 2 weeks ($150).

ECS system screen flickers when turning headlights on/off.

General Comments:

The most comfortable car I have driven and sat in, you can never hear the road. Luxury at its best.

My fault, I should have had some more money saved. Alfas are known for issues. My next car will be an Alfa once I have some emergency money saved.

I had to trade it in to get another car, but I will be back; once you drive an Alfa, you always want one regardless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2011

22nd Apr 2012, 19:57

Update from above review.

After the intermediate shaft CV joint was changed, the slight noise and rattle on the shaft didn't go away. Inspected by an Alfa mechanic, and it turns out the internal bearing for the CV shaft inside the gearbox was gone.

Had to be sent off to ZF Australia for 6k job. I never sent it, since I bought the car for that much. I traded it in to a dealer for a Saab.

Yes, I wanna have an Alfa again; just wasn't my luck with this one, only done 142k.

1999 Alfa Romeo 166 3.0 24v V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance83000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Cefiro

Summary:

My first Italian love affair

Faults:

A/C defunct. Apparently this is a known weakness of Siemens equipped A/Cs in BMWs, M-B, Alfas and some of the newer Fords etc.

Car is a Japanese import so still coming to grips with the ICU. Will need to attend to the cam belt and water pump soon.

General Comments:

Only just got the beast and love it. Great engine, exhaust note, steers well for a large and heavy FWD. Well assembled, no squeaks or rattles even at this age and mileage. There is a lot of fun to be had in this car but already I am wincing at the woeful fuel economy.

And given its size and general rating as the 'big' Alfa, there isn't a whole lot of space in the back. The Cefiro was definitely the better car to be a passenger in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2008

16th Jan 2011, 22:46

Well, a year ago there was the $4500 cambelt service (yes $4500 incl. tensioner, new seals, water pump and titanium spark plugs). And now the heater has leaked fluid over some solenoids and the transmission computer, and the damn thing has locked in Park. I haven't got the bill for that yet, but either way, it is going to be sold.

Next time I want to experience the joy of driving an Alfa, I will borrow one.

17th Jan 2011, 15:22

Got the bill at over $3000 for what is essentially a design flaw. This thing has now cost me pretty much the purchase price in R&M over the last two years, and as such has to be regarded as a bad buy, and should be avoided.

A shame because I have loved Alfas since I was a small boy, and my first is going to be my last.

8th Jul 2011, 05:13

I think I might have just bought this car... LOL! :-)

166 from Japan, first registered November 2008, one owner since then, previous heater leak... Well if it's not the same car, the experience certainly sounds familiar.

Wonder if the air conditioning works now? Hehe

-Alex

1999 Alfa Romeo 166 Lusso 3.0V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo GTV

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Tyres wear rapidly at the back.

General Comments:

I have owned and driven new Toyota's, Hondas, Ford's, BMW's, Fiat's, and VW's, but this is a truly great car. When they first came out I thought the front-end styling was a little strange, but now it makes sense. From the rear it has a great stance. They still look great, this one will be a classic.

The interior is very stylish comfortable and robust. Its lasted well in the three years I've had it. Italians know how to make stylish furniture. I have the beige leather, so things look nice and light. People comment on how luxurious it is. The stereo is great.

It drives like a grown up 164, which is ideal: far more solid and refined, but still sporty. You can cruise very confortably in it, or when the road gets more interesting, really have a fun drive. It ain't a GTV, but that's another story.

The sportronic gearbox takes a bit of getting used to. In normal mode it changes quite early from first to second, which is quite smooth around town, but not that fast. Anytime you want a more sporty response, nudge the lever over to the left and it is in sport mode, where it holds onto the gears for longer. I find sport mode good for windy more demanding roads if I get a bit of space. For a cool trick, change it into first and floor it. it goes to the redline in first and second. By then you have to slow down because you are exceeeding the speed limit. It sounds glorious, best sound this side of a Ferrari.

People are funny about Alfas. It seems you either love them or hate them. People still ask me if breaks down all the time. Puh-Leeze. I've run a variety of Alfas for 16 years. They are better than the VWs I had at the same time. Just because your father had an Alfasud once and it dissolved in a rain shower. Its reliable, comfortable and fun. If you truly love cars, you would love this. If you care about what other people think, buy that BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews