1987 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint / Sprint Reviews

1987 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint / Sprint Green Cloverleaf from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A beautiful, if demanding mistress

Faults:

The list goes; head gasket failure on both banks of the boxer, rev counter failed, rear windows wouldn't open, rear window de-fogger failed, eyeball vents would shoot out of the dash on second fan speed, hatch pull failed, speedometer cable, plus too many niggles to list. Heck, even the dipstick had to be replaced as the top came off. That should give you an idea!

General Comments:

This was the car that was like the little girl with the curl. She was horrid in summer, with issues like vapour lock in the fuel lines & no ventilation to speak of. In winter she would leak... But show her a couple of bends & she was the most wonderful creature ever built by man. The sound of the engine, especially the exhaust crackle on the over-run never failed to rouse the spirit. Despite the problems I had, I always felt the car was on my side & didn't really want to let me down. I have never tinkered with a car so much, polishing this & tightening that; these things will do that to you. I made the mistake of using it as an everyday car. If you get one, do it justice & keep it for the weekends & you'll love it. Plus if you're selling one in good condition, I'd like to know!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

14th Sep 2005, 21:06

I couldn't have said it better myself. Yes, I too, mad the mistake of driving it as an everyday car. So, now it is being prepared for low level club driving. That way, it doesn't matter if the rear windows won't open, the fans only come on when they want too and the down-change exhaust snap crackles and popping won't wake the neighbors.

1987 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint / Sprint Green Cloverleaf 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

An accomplished modern classic

Faults:

New clutch required, both actuating mechanism and master cylinder.

One or two minor electrical niggles.

The rust bug is starting to bite.

General Comments:

A fantastic overall car. Good for motorway cruising or for nipping in and out of London traffic.

The car had been garaged for all it's life when I bought it. After nearly three years outside it is starting to suffer and I'm selling it to someone who can look after it a bit better.

Interior is still 100%, only mechanicals replaced are the clutch, water pump, tyres, cam belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

1987 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint / Sprint Clover Leaf Green Stripe 1.5 boxer twincarb from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 boxer twincarb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Once driven hard, it becomes an addiction!

Faults:

The speedometer has stopped and the fan has burnt out.

The air con is hopeless, as the car just over heats. However, living in Australia the weather can reach 40+. This probably had something to do with the electrics burning and the air con not working properly.

The engine can get noisy and the belts tend to squeak a lot. They need to be replaced more often.

General Comments:

The motor loves to be driven hard. For a 1.5 it is quite quick, however I will put in a 1.7 in the near future. The engine also has a lovely sound. The car out handles it's big brother (GTV). I would relate the handling to the characteristics of a go-kart (very fun).

My sprint has a galvanised body so rust is not so much of a problem as the earlier models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

10th Sep 2001, 21:12

I bought my 1987 Sprint 2 years ago, and I love the thing. It's happiest at the red-line, and tends to sulk if only driven around town. It's got about the sweetest sounding four cylinder ever produced which pops and crackles on over-run. Mine has an unhealthy (for my bank balance) addiction to 98 octane premium and destroys front tires in 15,000km. I wouldn't swap it for anything.

24th Jan 2010, 18:50

Just got a 1948 Alfasud Green Clover as a replacement for a stolen car - it was $1500, been completely redone over the last 5 years, and I love it! It's fun to drive, noisy, stylish, head turning and roomier than you would expect! It cruises along nicely on the highway, but loves a bit of a kick along as well... Very much a car that can have a thousand negatives, but you still smile every time you drive it!

16th Jun 2011, 05:52

Where are the pictures?

1987 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint / Sprint Veloce 1.5 boxer from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 boxer Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres

Summary:

A small red Italian sports car!

Faults:

I've had quite a lot of trouble with the electrical systems. For example when I turn on the fan for the climate control, the interval on the wiper won't work.

The starter engine doesn't "grab" the flywheel, but I just went to the scrap-heap and bought a new one!

General Comments:

The car is so lovely on the road!

And it is fast with its small engine!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

1987 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint / Sprint Cloverleaf from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

Rorty Italian classic with 'character'

Faults:

Rust, rust, rust and more rust.

Some problems with the electrics and the front suspension.

The interior components also started to fall off or break fairly regularly, and the dashboard developed a nasty crack in it.

All in all, not to bad considering the km's on the clock.

General Comments:

A great car - I do not regret buying it nor do I regret losing several thousand dollars on the resale 2-3 years later.

Incredible fun in the wet - neutral handling characteristics - pushed to the limit produces mild understeer results. Back off on the accelerator and the nose falls back into line.

Rorty engine with a beautiful exhaust note. Great fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews