6th Nov 2008, 23:04

I'm not sure why I did it, but I bought a 1984 Eagle Wagon, the main reason I bought this tank is because it has a professionally installed 360 Chrysler v-8 and transmission, which run perfect, the problems are with the vacuum lines, cv joints, turn signal switch, rear wiper and defroster and small things like that. It is a limited and to my surprise all the power mirrors, door locks and seats work fine. My main plan is to use it as a trailer tow rig, the body and paint are in very good condition, so hopefully with the tow hitch installed I'll not regret buying it since I paid way to much and the repair bills haven't come due yet. My advice to anyone buying a car this old is not to take the sellers word about anything, but take it to a trained mechanic and have it checked out.

23rd May 2009, 03:00

Should have switched to the AMC 232cid two barrel. More power and pickup. Motor of my choice since my 1970 Hornet. When the second barrel kicked in, the backend drops down and car takes off like a V8.

The 4wd Eagle most likely has a worn out valve. The one I have has same problem, and that is the cause of it not changing from inside control. Need to make up mind as to whether you want two wheel or four wheel drive. Remove the metal cover under the car and find the switch and move it manually.

4th Oct 2009, 18:47

I have the chance to purchase an '85 wagon eagle for $3000. The car was garage kept for the past 15 years, and only has 30,000 miles on it. The car seems mint for the most part. Is this a good deal? I'm not real familiar with the AMC Eagle's. Also, what are the approx. MPG's for this car? Your help is appreciated. Thank you.

13th Apr 2011, 14:24

I need an original factory installed starter for a 1985 AMC Eagle wagon with the 258 c.i. engine with 5 speed. It can be new or used, but must be an original equipment starter. The problem is rebuilt starters from parts stores do not match up to the original flywheel ring gear teeth, and wear out in a very (2-3 weeks at most, and I've only done that twice) short time. Cash of course. clydewalden@yahoo.com

13th Sep 2013, 22:45

I just got an 85 AMC Eagle 6 cylinder straight 4.2 liter with 73k miles. I have to make a little cleanup, and changed all the parking brake cables. At first it was so hard to start because it had been in the garage for 15 years the owner mentioned. It was titled in Florida and they drove it to Virginia Beach, VA. I added an electronic digital RPM gauge and voltage monitor that I got from Ebay for $20.00. I adjusted the RPM to 600 +/-50 as written in the sticker. Now it is running like a champ.

I degreased and power washed the engine because there were residual oil drips on the exhaust manifold, causing it to smoke. The smoke went away after the motor dried. It has carburetor in it so it is very easy to adjust the fuel setting, and save gas.

The AMC old literature/records show this AMC Eagle can get up to 33 MPG. I am going to experiment with it. Next week I am going to install an electronic digital fuel/air ratio gauge monitor ($24.00 Ebay) also.

21st Sep 2013, 15:42

33 MPG? That claim would be for the 2.5 liter 4-cylinder Eagle with the 5-speed manual transmission, a model that was not even available by 1985, when the 258 six-cylinder became standard equipment.

The Eagle was already quite slow with the six cylinder; the four must have been a real turtle, no wonder it didn't sell.

1st Nov 2017, 05:36

I found a fix to the two listed shortcomings. I found a Eagle Kammback in North Dakota. 2.5 Iron Duke and 5 speed manual. A rare combination I found out.

The original engine was OK. Fuel economy was low 20s and acceleration was moderate. I then found a rebuilt, hopped up Jeep 2.5 for sale. It had performance pistons, heads, cam, and carb. Place the hopped up 2.5 into the Kammback and wow, we have acceleration and good fuel economy. If I had kept it, which I should have, I would have gone further: posi rear, gears, overdrive, lighten it a bit...

It was a fun, reliable, sprightly tank. I am sure with modern upgrades the wagon could be improved immensely as well. Roll on in an Eagle.

1st Nov 2017, 17:30

Of course the 2.5 Iron Duke was reliable. It was built by Pontiac.

1st Nov 2017, 18:04

Oh yeah, everything GM touched during the 80s turned to gold!

1st Nov 2017, 18:41

The Grand National new at the time would have been a sound GM buy from my investment opinion. Keeping it garaged, low miles on it and original. Just responding to a comment. It’s not the review car. Good Luck.

2nd Nov 2017, 03:59

Well the Iron Duke was produced from 1977-1993 and used in US mail trucks, so I would say it was a trusted engine.

2nd Nov 2017, 10:42

Sone dwell a lot in this decade; maybe they were born into it. If you missed the 60s to 1972, there were tremendous domestic choices across the board. Gas was cheap and better without ethanol or no lead. I went mostly import in the 80s. Both European and made in Japan. We had to wait til the late 90s to see some really interesting and inspired domestics return. With really decent improvements in the cars and good power.

At this moment there are some great cars (both import and domestic) to go with. Especially many European import models. Very nice to own and drive.

I agree the 80s were bleak on domestics. Why keep dwelling on the 80s. Mid 70s were as well. All the government interference, restrictions and car insurance pressure came in after the 70 model year. It kept dropping the horsepower. Ugly 5 mph bumpers, smog control experimentation 73 up. We use to take a lot of it off and vehicle inspections were not stringent, at least in our area. Many knocked the gas fill out to run regular gas til that disappeared.

The issue on today’s cars are complexity and ethanol problems. I have less issue with ethanol in vehicles. But I have spent many shop visits $$ on my marine engine the past year, especially over today’s fuel. Draining, cleaning rebuilding carbs and tank issues. But that’s another story.

2nd Nov 2017, 17:51

For every Grand National, there's a Fiero or Cimmaron. How about Crossfire Corvette or an Olds diesel?

2nd Nov 2017, 20:06

Very true my friend. But you have options today. Buy a brand new ZR1 supercharged or ship one up brand new to Calloway with a 20k check attached. Or grab a stock new Z06 or a Grand Sport. The 80s was bleak and I am on your side. What’s the fascination with that decade with over 90 other years of Chevrolet to pick and choose. And really Fiero? Hand me your wallet; I will have your driveway lined with absolutely amazing pieces that will spill out for blocks. There’s no need for an 84, considered one of the least collectible Corvettes ever made. Are we off Vettes yet? I enjoyed them for 3 decades and even I drive other makes today.

2nd Nov 2017, 20:07

Olds diesels had a lot of their issues ironed out by 1983; by then it was too late. It got the axe in 1985. Believe it or not, there are still a few of the better ones around today with high mileage. Check them out on YouTube.

I will hand you some credit on the Fiero and Cimmaron. Not the finest hour for GM in the 80s. We had a few of the better quality cars: Buick LeSabre and Electra, Pontiac Grand Prix, Olds Cutlass Supreme. Some of the best cars we owned.