1978 AMC Gremlin X 2.0 gas from North America

Summary:

The rarity and condition make it a rewarding ownership experience

Faults:

Replaced catalytic converter and muffler.

A re-manufactured smog pump.

Fuel sending unit.

General Comments:

First of all, I would say that the Gremlin X was very inexpensive. AMC had a lot of options for their cars. Mine is the middle of the road, as the options are a red Levi interior, power steering, and no power drum brakes. The X stripe kit helps take away from the unusual shape of a Gremlin. The 3 speed floor mounted automatic transmission is excellent, and the gear transition is superb.

The chrome bumpers, side view mirrors and roof rack help set off the beautiful Autumn Red body color. Thin whitewall striped tires also dress it up.

The 2.0 liter Audi engine is barely acceptable when going up steep inclines. A running start helps maintain speeds decently. The engine has very little torque and AMC should have explored the Porsche 924 setup or facsimile. 80 HP is a bit low for the overall weight of the car. At highway speeds it seems to like being revved up. The 2 barrel Holley carburetor stays in tune and it idles very smooth.

The brakes work well, though I would prefer power assist. It drives very straight and the suspension is on the cusp of harsh, but really not jarring. The short wheelbase does have some Jeep CJ dynamics.

I removed the gas tank and did a clean out and seal.

The interior is in excellent condition throughout, as is the exterior.

As with all Gremlin owners of today, I experience thumbs up wherever I take it. People pull out their camera phones almost every time I fill up for gas, or come get a closer look and comment on how good the condition is. A 100% working condition Gremlin has been a overall novel experience. A V8 engine would be very interesting!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2014

28th Dec 2014, 05:11

God bless you.

2.0 Gremlin. I'll never forget Consumer Reports road test of this car/engine/transmission combination - 63 MPH quarter mile. Nuff said.

You're hardcore :)

28th Dec 2014, 21:49

Look up my 73 Gremlin X with factory V8. Manual trans.

25th Feb 2015, 13:47

Hardcore?

Passed by old ladies on tricycles?

1978 AMC Gremlin 253 from North America

Summary:

This is an awesome car

Faults:

I had to replace the front seat.

The fuel pump was also replaced.

General Comments:

I love this car; it's awesome. It's my daily driver.

It has a different look. Something that I was looking for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2014

1978 AMC Gremlin 258 from North America

Faults:

Had to rebuild transmission. Oil leaks due to being 33 years old on original gaskets! Other than that, it's just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

These cars were very unfairly criticized. Keep in mind, they were the least expensive cars on the market, and therefore are not luxurious, cushy or state of the art.

You got a very strong, durable and uniquely styled car for little money. They were quick, though not as good at MPG as the Pinto and Vega competition, but much safer. They sold half a million in its 70-78 run with almost no styling changes - a major success for a small company!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2010

4th Feb 2010, 16:20

This review gives us a nice history of AMC, but says almost nothing about the actual car that is being reviewed.

6th Feb 2010, 13:15

The Mopars prior to '75 didn't have the electrical and emissions issues that you mention. Chrysler had a lot of trouble with that Lean Burn system. 1975 was a turning point in that they still made some cars that just had a catalytic converter, while others were starting to use the smog pump or Lean Burn.

Our '71, '73, and '75 Dodges and Plymouths were good, reliable cars. Actually our '76, '77, and '79 Slant Six cars were really good, but the '75 Fury always had trouble whereas the '75 Charger did not.

All the solid state electronics and mechanical approach to emissions control just seemed spotty, and it took the micro processor to actually make the concept work.

Prior to '75 cars were good, and since the mid-'90s things have been good, but the '80s were tough. Just my opinion based on ownership experiences.

8th Oct 2011, 18:59

Well, I said it was solid, quick, uniquely styled, safe, and how inexpensive it was. What more did you want to know?

26th Feb 2015, 15:02

Check out my review on my 1973 Gremlin X special order Copper Tan Gold Stripes with Factory 304 V8. I purchased it brand new for 2900 in November 1972. It ran great and never had any issues. I drove it all through college and after. Pretty rare today and I have been trying to locate mine. I would pay 15k today to get it back. I live in Wilmington De. I collect GM cars today, but would really like my AMC back!

27th Feb 2015, 11:11

My 75 Duster had nothing but electronic issues. I was thrilled to get rid of it. I would turn the lights on and the engine would die. Was in the dealer 3 times. The car was purchased new.

This is a Gremlin review and I had one prior to this year. Great car, and wish I had never sold. In early 70s they were very common at college. There were three engine choices. They had some nice color choices in the Gremlin X. I think pre 74 looked the best.