Aston Martin DB7 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1996 Aston Martin DB7 Coupe 3.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Faults:

Interior trim started falling off within days of me buying the car.

Alloy wheel trim was corroding when I bought the car. I bought a new pair of alloys a week after buying the car.

Air conditioning packed up within a month of buying the car.

General Comments:

The Aston has given me a few electrical, body and interior problems in the six months that I've owned it, but I can truly say that it is the best car I've ever driven. Its engine has superb performance and the chassis matches this with brilliant handling.

It was nine years old when I paid £30,000 for it, and despite being expensive to buy and expensive to run, I've never regretted buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

1998 Aston Martin DB7 I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission I6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carLotus Esprit

Summary:

The most well-balanced sport cruiser made

Faults:

Rough shifting after prolonged storage.

General Comments:

Best car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

2002 Aston Martin DB7 Q from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Ultimate Q car

Faults:

Tyres needed replacing prior 5000 miles.

Damage to coachwork.

Electrical problems. Problems with accessories including cloak malfunction.

General Comments:

I have taken possession of many other fully optioned high performance vehicles including BMW, Lotus and other Aston Martin models. Some such as the Z3 and 2CV have been a let down.

This vehicle has been a delight to drive. Stirring performance. Easily out handles XK8. 0-10 in less than 0.07 seconds.

Cheers,

Mr. B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

9th Oct 2003, 04:06

Mr B, you have a Vanquish not a DB7 but both handle better than a London Bus or a T82 Tank.

1998 Aston Martin DB7 3.2 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carRolls Royce Silver Spur

Summary:

A car for the roller owner going through a mid-life crisis

Faults:

This is not a car that you would expect to go wrong, but as with all hand built cars, the fit and finish is less than perfect, but it all adds to what is a great car.

The seat belts do not return very quickly, and considering its age and mileage, this is not very good.

General Comments:

I really, really would advise anyone thinking of buying this car to go to a dealer. You may pay more, but if anything goes wrong you WILL have to take it back to a dealer, and talking to other owners, dealers do not like cars that have not been supplied by them. MUST have a full Aston service history.

On balance the 3.2 V6 is not going to break any land speed records, but has more than enough power.

Be afraid of a service, they charged me £25 to take the wheels off!

The fuel tank is FAR too small.

I HATE the fact that parts of this car come from a Ford something or other.

I suppose it handles better than the roller, but I never really driven it hard.

I've driven newer models and can report that the V12 engine makes mine look like a Mini -the power is truly amazing, and the noise does not betray any 'Ford' origins.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

29th Jan 2002, 05:12

You may dislike Ford, but you've got to remember that Ford has wads of cash to spend getting Astons right. If Aston Martin wasn't owned by Ford it wouldn't be able to afford the Design costs for just a wing mirror! Part sharing keeps costs as low as possible and the parts that are shared are minimal, you've got to remember that the superb Jaguar X-Type is essentially a Ford Mondeo, at least the majority of the Aston is a different car!

2001 Aston Martin DB7 5.7 V8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4700 miles
Previous carBentley Turbo R

Summary:

A superb carriage for the discerning gentleman

Faults:

The engine initially was rather thirsty for oil, though much better now.

General Comments:

A superb executive gentlemans express that simply says 'Out of my god damn way, I'm coming through and I earn much more money than you'. Who could ask more of a motor car.

It is also unwise to let a lady near to the beast as she is likely to become pregnant, such is the power of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

29th Jun 2001, 16:04

5.7 V8? I thought the DB7 came with either 3.2 supercharged straight 6 or 6.0 Litre V12 in Vantage form. As a one off Aston Martin Service Dept did produce 1 6.3 litre for a customer a few years back.

27th Nov 2001, 07:08

Gotta ask, is this post for real. The views seem to come from the Victorian age and there seems to be a question about the accuracy of the post...

Get out of my way I'm rich? Not a chance mine costs less to fix!

16th Oct 2003, 15:05

If this person actually owns this car he doesn't know what he is driving. No DB7 ever came with a V8 engine. They are either an in-line 6 or a V12 for the Vantage model.

6th Oct 2004, 04:40

Apparently 2 DB7's were made with a V8 engine, there whereabouts unknown...

30th Mar 2005, 03:38

I guess being rich and 'coming through' all got too much, I do believe that this car is now for sale on e-bay.

13th Apr 2008, 17:40

This is one of the most fake sounding reviews I have seen on this site. And it adds nothing useful in terms of content.

1999 Aston Martin DB7 Volante 3.2 Supercharged from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 3.2 Supercharged
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Brake light's didn't work when it was delivered, soon cured.

General Comments:

It's a fantastic car!

Incredible looks combined with supercar performance really shows an XK8 how it should be done. Interior is a marvel (if a little small sometimes) and they even managed to make the air vents out of a Ford Granada look like they belong.

I'm on my second (the first one was a hardtop) and I can't think of anything that I would rather drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 1999

14th Feb 2001, 08:41

Although the Aston may show the XK8 how it should be done... the XK8 certainly shows Aston Martin how to competitively price a car!! The DB7 is in fact an F-Type Jaguar at a ridiculous price. AND for all that money they still have to use horrible Ford parts... shockingly overpriced and over hyped, overweight bull... Hippo.

To see how it's done look no further than TVR... the only good "British" Supercar.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews