1973 Audi 100 Reviews

1973 Audi 100 LS from North America

Model year1973
Year of manufacture1973
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

A winner, but purposely ruined

Faults:

Everything and anything. It's highly recommended to not buy it since it was poorly thought out and ill conceived, and whoever allowed such a beautiful, comfortable car to be cursed from the outset must be held responsible. Please come forward, and explain.

General Comments:

We all have our favorite cars, but this one coasted at 110 MPH for a very long distance, and only a porsche or a jaguar can accomplish such a feat bearing in mind that it was so poorly thought out from the outset and that the "creators" must be held liable. Please come forward, and explain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2005

14th May 2005, 14:37

Mmmmmm... I can really see Audi coming forward and apologising for a car they made more than 30 years ago.

14th May 2005, 17:40

We had a new 100. We had it for a year. I think it was at the shop more than we drove it. We bought a Volvo to replace it.

1973 Audi 100 LS 1.8 slant four from North America

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership1988
Engine and transmission 1.8 slant four Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

I learned all I know about how to repair cars from this terrible Audi

Faults:

Points constantly needed overhaul or it wouldn't start.

Transmission scratched in second gear. Then transmission locked up in second gear. Replaced transmission.

Back seat started to disintegrate as battery acid fumes began to eat away at it. Battery stored under back seat as in VWs.

Alternator bracket was loose and broken. Fan belt slipped noiselessly, and battery would go dead.

Burned tons of oil. Replaced rings. Needed valve job, but couldn't afford. Engine failed.

General Comments:

I considered the car an Experimental Model, 100EM. The vehicle had inboard front disk brakes. The car was front wheel drive with a transverse engine. Engine was perpendicular to front axle. The front disk brakes were next to the differential, not outboard next to the wheels. Difficult to service.

I have tons of electrical problems.

My girlfriend and I wore out the passenger front seat that reclined flat.

The car was somewhat rare and was similar and the predecessor to the Audi Fox.

Lots of leg room in the back and many passengers commented on it quiet, roomy and comfortable space. They always thought is was a Mercedes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

29th Mar 2004, 10:18

My 100 LS is 30 years old an going strong. The car has 90,000 miles and has had no major problems. This car is very rare and I have never seen another one on the street.

20th Apr 2004, 09:43

I have a 1971 (33 year old) Audi 100 LS. Since it had been abandoned and left to rust and rot for a decade, it was in pretty bqad shape when I got it.

I spent 3 years restoring it at my own pace. I now use it daily with great pleasure. I love its smooth ride, space, weight and clearance. Its got loads of under steer to a point where you think it wants to veer out of a corner.. and the engine being mounted in front of the wheels means its much stabler with some weight in the back.

Rare and precious... I love this car.

5th May 2009, 22:54

Hello: I'm glad to read all this, because I recently brought an Audi 100 LS model 76, and the truth is I've loved this car since I saw it, but it's very hard to find parts, specially those that do not sell in the stores like the dashboard and the cluster. I'm trying to find this, but I can't, even in your country, and I didn't find it, so if you could help me to find this I'll appreciate it. Thanks, my mail is chopiloto@hotmail.com bye. NOTE sorry because of my English.

Average review marks: 4.5 / 10, based on 2 reviews