1987 Audi 5000 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Audi 5000 S Quattro 2.3L inline 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L inline 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Best used car deal ever.

Faults:

Power antenna doesn't work, I removed the works and it just stays up.

Valve cover gasket leaked, I replaced it, but the old gasket looked almost new!

Runs rough when just started from cold, but warms up and smooths out quickly.

General Comments:

Peerless grip. My 5000 came with slightly stiffer and lower springs, wider Audi rims and big fat Yokohamas.

On the highway or the back roads, this car feels better than most modern cars.

This car is a dog and a half off the line, but it's not the engine's fault. Those wacky Germans put a way small final drive ratio on this car, what the drag racers call a "granny gear", so any wheezy old Chevy Cavalier can blow me away up to 40 mph. The upside: on the expressway or Interstate, the car never runs out of gear. This car must drive great on the Autobahn or Autostrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1987 Audi 5000 S Quattro 2.2l fuel injection (gas) from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2l fuel injection (gas) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Very cheap, reliable transportation. Extremely under-rated car!

Faults:

The only problem I have had; a thrown alternator belt, no other problems to date.

General Comments:

Purchased this car from a friend who runs an Audi & BMW performance shop. He drove this car very hard! After a minor tune-up & cleaning session, it looked like brand new!

Not the fastest car I've ever driven, but handling is quite good.

Quattro has locking front & rear differentials, very handy in the snow belt!

Does not use any oil, fuel mileage very good; much better than I expected.

I expect to put another 100000 miles on this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

15th Jun 2007, 23:24

My 5000s quattro's RPM gauge bounces, but it does not stall. Now when I get it running, I shut it off, and it's dead. It's a great car, just very expensive to fix in ONT. Can you help me?

1987 Audi 5000 S 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

If it did 0-60 in under 10 seconds, I would never buy another car

Faults:

So far nothing major has broken or gone bad. But the valve cover gasket was leaking and had to be replaced, but that was only 10 bucks, and I put it on myself.

There are some minor oil leaks, but you find me a Volkswagen product that doesn't leak oil. Right now I'm needing to replace an oil hose on the front of the engine and found out that it's $200 for a new one, but I could find the hose off of an old one at a junkyard for under $50. So far that's all that's been serious on it.

General Comments:

The car overall is great. As long as it's taken care of, the engine will run just about forever. But beware, when something does go wrong, Audi's are NOT! cheap to fix, the parts for those cars are astronomical.

On the performance, it's a little slow for my tastes, but she is pushing 15 years and counting.

It gets great gas mileage, about 25 miles to the gallon, and with a 21 gallon tank you rarely have to fill up, but once every week to two weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

9th Jan 2002, 19:01

I have owned several coupes, including the legendary UR-Quattro Turbo, and I love their individuality. You say that you would never buy another car if yours did 0-60 in under 10 seconds - well try a manual! The UK 2.2 5-cyl did 0-60 in 9.3 seconds (136bhp). There was also a 160bhp version sold in Germany. Good review though.

24th May 2002, 15:28

If you like the S, but want it to be faster get The Audi 5000S turbo it is plenty fast.

19th Dec 2003, 13:13

I have so far had 2 of these that didn't leak oil, or use oil for that matter. They both had 200k or over on the clocks.

1987 Audi 5000 S 2.2 I5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 I5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

If it was a bit faster it would be the perfect car

Faults:

Nothing really went wrong, just normal wear and tear. Struts, shocks, brakes.

The cruise control computer died.

The interior of the car is possibly made of steel. Seats and doors look virtually new. Seats feel as firm as could be.

Headliner is loose, as is lining of sunroof.

General Comments:

Having owned cars ranging from Chevies to Ferraris, I have to say that this Audi might be the perfect car.

It could use a bit more horsepower, but does everything incredibly well.

A fabulous combination of performance, comfort, safety, passenger and luggage room, and great styling.

The Audi 5000 may be among the most underrated and underappreciated cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews