1987 Audi 5000 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1987 Audi 5000 S 2.3 inline 5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 inline 5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carAudi 5000

Summary:

An excellent value for the money.

Faults:

My mother locked up three of the calipers while doing 75 miles per hour on the highway. I had to replace the two front calipers and rotors. I also had to replace the rear disc rotor.

In the winter time, the car had an acceleration problem. The car would start to drive but then the gas pedal wouldn't work and the car would just coast. Then all of a sudden, the car would take off again.

When I bought the car, the switch for the turn-signals had been broken. The turn signals worked, but the high beam wouldn't stay on.

The front right ball joint also had to be replaced, only because of where I drove the car everyday. Other than these problems, I loved the car.

General Comments:

For being such a large heavy car, it was extremely fast. I purchased an K&N air filter for it and the car performed like a dream. I put brand new Bosch platinum plugs in the car and that helped the performance a lot. I was very surprised at how fast the car was. When your on the highway driving about 80 miles per hour, the car kept wanting to go fast. So I had no choice but to drive faster.

This car also got excellent gas mileage. I have gotten a serious 500 miles to a full tank of gas in this car.

This car handled extremely well. I was also very surprised when I took it on country roads and took the car up to 75-80 miles per hour on extremely curvy roads. The car stuck to the road like glue. Even with Goodyear regatta 2 tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

7th Dec 2003, 22:13

500 Miles is a bit optimistic for a tankful. The car's got a 21.1 gallon tank and after owning 2 5000s I can say that you get around 17 mpg in town and about 21 on the road---with a light foot. Mash the throttle and the mpg drops like a stone, which is a real issue because these cars were underpowered (100hp to 130hp for non turbos and 130hp to 160hp for turbos, depending on the model year). I can't get over people saying how fast and quick the non-turbo cars are because 100 to 130hp in a 3,300 pound car = SLOWER THEN A SNAIL.

10th Jul 2004, 11:37

I too love my Audi 5000S, and although I do not feel it is a fast car, it certainly is fast enough for the type of day to day driving that I do. The fuel economy on my car seems to hold true at around that 500 mile to a tankful number. at 21.1 gallons, that equals out to about 25 miles to the gallon. My car seems to perform better when I do use the recommended premium unleaded fuels. Outside of minor annoyances that can be found on any car, the Audi ranks tops on my list as the greatest pre-owned vehicle purchase by far.

17th Oct 2004, 03:13

Well understand turbos do get better gas mileage. I am on my third 5000 though this one is a 5000cs turbo and the extra horsepower only kicks in at 10-15mph, but when it does it goes. By using your computer you can review your MPG. I drove from LA to San Diego and on the highway I did get 29MPG!!

1987 Audi 5000 S 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Excellent value for your dollar

Faults:

Front axles needed to be replaced at 160,000 miles because of torn boots.

Electrical problems affecting secondary systems such as license plate and dashboard lights.

General Comments:

I was a little reluctant to purchase this car because of its reputation, but I'm so glad I did.

After 170,000 miles it still performs very well and is tremendous value.

Possibly one of the worlds most underrated cars from the 1980's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2001

4th Jul 2001, 12:54

The "reputation" you mentioned would probably be the unintended acceleration? Funny because it never spread outside Nth America, even with the automatics. Just be conscious of the pedal position. And keep the automatic properly serviced.

17th Aug 2001, 06:18

The strange thing about the unintended acceleration is it only happened to one car. Yes one. Rumors spread quickly.

1987 Audi 5000 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

This car was given a bum reputation, excellent durable car

Faults:

Normal items tend to wear out - alternator, a/c compressor, rack and pinion, my brake calipers seized at rear and front passenger side of the vehicle.

General Comments:

This car has been extremely reliable and is probably one of the best built Audi products. It needs to be driven, if the car sits things tend to go bad. This car gets better and better as you drive it.

Once you get a good Audi mechanic and a source for inexpensive parts, this car is cost effective.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 20:46

With these cars (Audis's) mileage tends to easily accumulate in excess of 150,000. At that time, somethings gotta give. Used parts for these cars are readily available making them a good value.

1987 Audi 5000 S Quattro 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carAudi 4000 S Quattro

Summary:

A lot of car for not a lot of money

Faults:

I have to say this was an incredibly reliable car. The only times it was in the shop was due to two side impacts (both not my fault, one when it was parked and the other was someone sliding into me) and a faulty spark plug.

Other than the standard maintenance of the car, the only major problem was the front disc brakes. They had to be replaced due to wear. Due to my driving style most likely.

Nothing else major happened to the car during its time with me.

General Comments:

If you live in any winter climate the quattro is the best part of the Audi 5000, or for that matter any Audi. The only reason I don't have it any more is because I got an Audi 100 S to replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews