1988 Audi 5000 S Quattro from North America - Comments

24th Feb 2003, 13:28

This review was based on the stock car... not one which had been doctored up with aftermarket performances goodies. I don't think the author ever said that you couldn't get aftermarket stuff.

24th Feb 2003, 13:29

I've been an active participant in the Audifans group for some time now, and I think this is an honest review of the car.

19th Dec 2003, 13:10

Other than the hydraulic system that is a nightmare, the car is pretty tight. He otherwise gave a pretty good assessment of the cars weaknesses. The owner that left the initial review has a 5000 S Quattro and the turbo model is the 5000 CS Quattro. I have one and it has no lack of power. It has a chip that gives the car ~ 220-225 hp. It also is an incredible snow car as you can lock the differentials if you get into trouble and chances are it will pull you on through. Mine has almost 200k miles on the clock and doesn't use oil. It also has the original turbo, which is very common in these cars.

11th Feb 2004, 11:56

I bought a 1988 5000 Cs Quatro from a mechanic, the car has 388,000 km. on it. the engine has never been touched other than a new timing belt. I paid $1,500 certified for it, money well spent. In the future I want to rebuild the engine. You can also get another 150 h.p. from the turbo. The body only has 2 rust spots on it. I love the galvanized body on these cars. As far as power I find the car launches with lots of response for a five cylinder car, it's favorite speed on the highway is 140 km. overall I'm very satisfied with this car. Had a few volvo's try and keep up with me on the off ramps ha ha. living in Canada I love the four wheel drive and the bullet proof drive train. Thought you gave a pretty fair asesment of the car.

25th Nov 2004, 14:09

I find it being as slow as you claim when the slowest 0-60 is 10.8 impossible.

20th Jun 2005, 14:38

I love my 1988 Audi 5000 CD Quatro Turbo it's the most dependable car I ever owned this car has out lived six other cars that I've bought brand new. with some vary miner repairs and maintaining yearly, my Audi in the snow is the best. if you can find one buy it.. Great for every driving and very long trips go Audi.

26th Feb 2009, 02:03

I have a non turbo 1986 Wagon with the sport chassis. Great review.

We have driven this car well beyond the 500,000 mile mark. The engine is still strong with the normal maintenance. We replaced the trans and diff six times already. I believe I am on my 6 set of half shaft and fifth full set of wheel bearings.

The wiring has been an issue. The diameter for load is too small. I have had to rewire the horn, both front door windows, locking system, front head lights.

Never could keep mufflers, moved to aftermarket, have had no issues.

The car handles great. I would take this 20mph 90 degree turn in the middle of no where at 70mph. Tried to do the same with another car which had the latest traction control system and went spinning into the freshly plowed field.

This car had no problem keeping up with my friend's corvette.

If you don't mind working on it yourself, it is a great car. I haven't found anything which compares to it today, and still get 32 city mileage.

18th Mar 2010, 02:07

Overall a good review. I had an 1986 5000CS turbo quattro. Off the line performance I would rate at acceptable; but, this a low boost turbo motor driving a quattro system. They do not launch like your average car; but once the quattro digs in and the boost comes up, lean back and watch the miles go by.

I credit my 86 5000CS for saving my youngest sons' life. I had loaned him my baby while his Subie was in the shop. En route to work he hit a k-rail at 70mph. He arrived home with a bump on his forehead and a light bruise on his knee (that's all!). All components in the cars safety design functioned perfectly. Our family has had 5 Audis and loved all of them.

15th May 2013, 18:44

I have an Audi 5000 CD Quattro with the 2.2 liter turbo with only 14000 miles (23000 kilometers). This car is just amazing, and in such mint condition. I use it as little as possible so I can keep it like that.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site