1990 Audi 80 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Audi 80 Quattro 5 cylinder. 10 V from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder. 10 V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

A classic four wheel drive small luxury sport sedan

Faults:

I have replaced the master brake cylinder.

The starter has been replaced.

Both radiators have been replaced.

The rear struts and strut mounts have been replaced.

General Comments:

While not quick off the line, this car handles beautifully.

The Quattro feature comes in very handy up here in Maine as do the heated seats and ski-sock pass-through.

The styling has held up well over the years. Although now over twelve years old, its looks are not all that dated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

20th Jan 2003, 06:23

I will like to know what the P (red) in the dashboard stands for? As I was driving it came on.

1990 Audi 80 Sport 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance134590 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

I believe Audi should re-release this car in a special edition to celebrate its beauty

Faults:

The sensor on the coolant bottle.

CV joint.

Switch on the distributor.

Driver's seat worn on the right hand side.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and feels nice and solid on the road.

It has immaculate bodywork for a 12 year old car.

Reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

7th Nov 2003, 19:34

I agree, the 80 Sport is gutsy, solid and sleek

I have 92 J reg' edition with front bodykit and silver/red "SPORT" tag above the glove box.

Now considering buying 2.8 version, although I don't know much about them.

I'm hooked.

3rd Dec 2003, 11:55

I`ve just bought a 1990 G reg. It is a great car, solid,clean and still shifts. I love it.

31st Oct 2004, 08:52

Iv had my 91 80 sport for 5 years, had to replace the ball joints and a couple of bulbs. The car is still nice, drives like new and still pretty quick.

11th Sep 2005, 09:15

I have just bought a 1995 Audi 80 sport for £795. It has been very well looked after and the service history shows that it has received a great deal of care. It is lovely to drive, handles well and can accelerates well if you want. Confident my next car will now be an Audi. Only problem at present is with the speed dial, as it bounces even when speed is not changing. Other than that, I love it!

13th Feb 2009, 12:20

I bought my Audi 80 2.0i Sport for £50 off a friend of the family who didn't want to see it go to the big scrapyard in the sky. I wanted it for a project and put it on the road for one month to see if there was any problems needed sorting.

As soon as I drove it to work for the first time, I couldn't wait to finish work to drive it home. I loved it; the ride, comfort, and rigidity when cornering was amazing, and taking into consideration the age of the car, it's a J-92, wow, I will own my 80 Sport to the day I die.

Oh I did find one thing wrong with it; the bloody drivers seat was worn on the right hand-side, and I ended up with a sore leg LOL.

1990 Audi 80 Quattro 2.3 L SOHC 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 L SOHC 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carAudi 4000

Summary:

Reliable, solid, and safety combined with a pleasurable drive!

Faults:

It starts kind of hard sometimes, and still have not fixed the problem yet, but after it is warmed up the performance is better, smoother. I gave it a tune up but it may need plug wires.

Very nice car.

General Comments:

It handles very well, and comfortable, but not as much head room as my 4000 Quattro. I am 6' 3", does anyone have a '87 4000 Quattro for sale with heated seats, part trade for mine?

Lounge_sam@Yahoo.com or 360-676-5415 in Washington State.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

1990 Audi 80 Sport 2.0 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Reasonably quick, looks good, but let down by niggly items

Faults:

Handbrake caliper - twice.

Water leak in boot.

Radio circuit failed.

Steering pulls to left, cause not found.

Suspension bushes rotted.

Missing bolt in front exhaust section, causing exhaust to fail.

Possible sun roof leak.

Windscreen seal doesn't.

Corroded wheels.

High fuel consumption around town - low 20s but good over long distances - 40ish.

General Comments:

A good solid car, reasonably quick once it's rolling, but a bit slow off the mark. Handles very well, especially on minor roads. Wasted on motorways.

Seats could be more supportive and pedals are a bit upright, so can be uncomfortable over long distances.

Insurance is steep.

Looks the part with Speedline wheels.

Makes other cars feel tinny by comparison.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2000

16th Jan 2001, 18:15

The AUDI 80 Sport Saloon. THIS CAR IS SERIOUSLY FUN.

I am in love with them. Who said they are slow off the mark? You are not driving it right my friend. I'll have any boy racer in my H plater 200K motorway miler. Granted, it's a bit heavy on petrol round town, but it's worth the cost for the drive.

These are motorway cars and serious pieces of kit. I love the looks I get off older people, and love third gear @ 2500 rpm onwards, she's ready to play.

26th Jan 2001, 20:25

I've got 2, a 1.8E, which I had new, 130k & running like a Swiss watch & a 16v coupe with 16k (93 model).

These motors are far superior to most, but they do need regular servicing & oil changes! I've been driving Audi's for 28 years & have never been let down.

1990 Audi 80 Young edition 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong, apart from a few minor problems with brakes - squeaking sounds coming out of the rear brakes.

General Comments:

Generally speaking I have been really satisfied with this car although the engine could use some more power. If there was an entry called 'safety' I would give the car 20 marks, because I survived a crash in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 1998

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews