1991 Audi 90 Reviews

1991 Audi 90 5 cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Catalytic converter at 86,000.

General Comments:

The most comfortable car I have ever owned, much better than MB. Transmission is silky smooth, performance good for 5 cylinder. Gas mileage is average at around 23 miles to gallon in city, 30 open road.

Absolutely great all around touring car and in city car.

Manual seats are not the easiest to use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2007

1991 Audi 90 E 2.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Style, Speed and Reliability

Faults:

The idle control failed last month due to general wear and tear (15 year old car). The mechanic I bought the car from is replacing it under warranty.

General Comments:

Apart from the idle control the car has not put a step wrong. The car takes off quick from the traffic lights and handles extremely well. The inline 5 engine makes a great rumbling sound that is very unique and the limited sound proofing on the engine means that everyone knows it.

The interior is nice and in perfect condition. Although the boot space has been sacrificed for more leg room.

I live 100m from the sea and there is not a spot of rust on the car.

The one draw back of the car is in unquenchable thirst, it consumes between 12-16L/100km of premium petrol; but it is definitely worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2006

29th May 2008, 00:12

I can't believe that it consumes that much. Mine is a 20V quattro and average mileage is 10.1/100

And all that with my gas lines leaking. I will get better mileage when I fix those.

1991 Audi 90 Audi 2.3E 2.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

Simply the best!!

Faults:

The heater packed up so have by passed the same. It doesn't get that cold in New Zealand.

Driver seat has split, The dashboard covering has come unstuck in places, creating a bubbling effect.

But I guess for a vehicle 16 years old is to be expected!!

General Comments:

Great value for the money I paid!!

This car has everything, any driver should want in a family sedan.

Power, comfort, economy, plenty of room inside, the power delivery from the 5 cyl engine is smooth, quiet, Also the transmission is simply the best.

The paintwork is still original (black) When polished it comes up just like new.

I am fortunate that the two prior owners cared for this vehicle, as do I.

I have always wanted a European car and tossed up between a Beemer, and a Merc or an Audi.

The Beemer I took for a test drive was awful just a German Cortina in my View.

The Merc was a 2.3 but the 4cyl motor was likened to an old pack mule. Very sluggish and a tired feeling the rest of the Merc's performance at speed was top class!!

But the Audi in my opinion was in a class of it's own!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

1991 Audi 90 e 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 600

Summary:

A classy old car for peanuts

Faults:

Nothing major. Have changed the oil and the front brake pads and put 2 new tyre's on the front.

General Comments:

This is a ace car for the money! much better value for money than newer cars.

Have had it 6 months and hasn't missed a beat has a lovely 5 cylinder 2.3 engine which is quiet and smooth and quite rapid when you require it to be.

Bodywork has no rust after nearly 14 years and only a minor scuff where a trolley hit it in tesco's.

My only gripe is that it doesn't have a sunroof, but it has most other mod cons you get in newer cars.

Servicing and parts are reasonably priced, but avoid main dealers of you can.

A highly recommended car if you can find one, i travelled 80 miles to find this, and a bargain at £725.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

10th Jul 2004, 18:33

Agree with every word, they are a bargain at that sort of price - especially a well looked after one.

I paid £500 for 1990 2.3 E. I'm loving every minute of driving it also.

2nd May 2006, 11:20

Just arrived home with my newly acquired Audi 90 2.3 E (H plate).

Absolute bargain at £380 (The seller thought it was an Audi 80)

Previously had a BMW 316i of similar age. The difference in quality is remarkable.

25th Jun 2006, 21:15

I had to look long and hard to find mine. £600 but worth it though - 88 audi 90, one owner and 61k on the clock. I love em.

14th Oct 2006, 13:19

I agree with everybody, these are underated cars. I have had Audis for years. I have a 2.2 Audi 90 1989 with 63000 miles, one owner from new, black with 17inch alloys, a very nice motor.

18th Nov 2006, 11:11

I have just bought a 2.3 20v quattro sport, for £200 drove it home fine no problem, getting lowered next week, already has custom inlet and tubular manifold soon to have stainless. Cheap for parts etc only thing I reckon will be a bit expensive is fuel.

22nd Nov 2006, 15:05

I'm the original reviewer on this thread and the old 90 still refuses to die! its just flew through an mot first time of asking at 16 years old and has NEVER let me down thus far. £725 for 3 years reliable motoring who can grumble at that? I will never buy a new car ever. And the best part of all (bar the sweet 5 cylinder lump) is I've sufferered zilch depreciation!

5th Aug 2010, 20:21

I've got a J-reg 90e 5 cylinder. I paid £500. It belonged to an elderly gent who looked after it, and it was not far short of showroom condition; what a find!!! I used to have a 1.8 A4, a T reg, and it wasn't half as good as the 90e.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews