1991 Audi 90 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Audi 90 2.3 20v 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Audi performance at an incredible price

Faults:

As soon as I got the car the fuel pump needed replacing.

Both front wings were showing signs of corrosion.

General Comments:

This car is fast.

I bought it for £500 and spent £200 on the engine.

Today I have just beaten a BMW M3 at a trader price of 38 grand, with a 5.5 sec 0-60 spec and feel good.

If you want a car to work on that will beat other expensive cars, this is the one.

Thanks Simon for showing me this car.

Even when I got it as a standard 20v, it was fast.

You need a good parts stockist or you have to use a very expensive dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

21st May 2005, 13:32

I've now sold this car.

You need an account at your local petrol station.

7th Feb 2008, 15:24

That motor would never beat an m3.i have a heavly modified 20 valve and although it beats an m3 on top speed first and second gears are slow, I'm lucky to get low 5s on 0 to 60. and mine is a stripped out single seater. would like to know what you did to it. ta, the hat.

1991 Audi 90 20v 2.3 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 20v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance113545 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Powerful. With the right parts.

Faults:

Replaced HT leads at 100,000.

Needed at new fuel filter.

Distributor became loose at 105,000.

General Comments:

I've owned this car for nearly 20,000 miles.

The performance was mid ranged until I fitted a Power flow exhaust.

The car handles superbly.

Braking is top notch.

Steering is precise and responsive.

It feels as though the engine will run forever.

No corrosion due to galvanized steel bodywork.

My only criticism would be the lack of dealerships willing to help an over 100,000 mile car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

1991 Audi 90 2.3 E 2.3 litre 5 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 litre 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

The weirdest car I've ever owned

Faults:

Radiator blew one hour after collecting from car from dealership.

Temperature gauge works sporadically.

Steering rack leaking, requires reconditioning.

Front bushes need replacing.

Strange clattering noise in engine when running cold.

General Comments:

The 90 is kind of the best of both worlds - it's the 80-style bodyshape, with the more powerful engine from the 100.

My favourite feature of this car is the 5-cylinder engine. It just oozes torque and pulls strongly from as little as 1500 rpm, with the unusual, but pleasant exhaust note unique to these cars. The broad torque curve means there's hardly ever a reason to take it all the way to redline, which is good because it's a bloody thirsty old beast!

Handling is good, but requires more steering wheel input than most cars I've owned. Steering would be the 90's biggest weakness - it's vague, flighty at speed and squirmy under braking.

Ride quality is excellent, and the cabin is decked out in plush blue velour.

Overall it's a rewarding car to own and drive, although I'm not under any illusion as to the long-term running costs of this vehicle. Having said that, the Audi 5-cyl engine is capable of racking up enormous mileages, so I think it's a good car to hang on to for a while.

It's also the most unusual car I've had, which is saying a lot after a Peugeot, a BMW and a string of Fiats.

Dealer service is truly excellent, especially considering it's a 13 year old car.

To sum it up, the Audi has the character and styling originality of an Italian car, with all the engineering hallmarks of a German one. They don't make them like this anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

13th Jul 2005, 08:44

A helpful review.

It played a part in the purchase of my own car.

I am now the proud owner of a 1991 Audi 90 2.3e.

Things to be wary of in your own purchase are:

* Fuel pump has a nasty habit of giving out

* Left hand window wiper arm is slightly longer than the edge of the windscreen (easily replaced)

* Corrosion can build up quickly on the windscreen washer nozzles

* Electric aerial is quite expensive to replace (approx $170 AUD)

* Watch the terminals on the radiator fan, they quickly burn out.

On the whole, a very nice "cruise" car.

Dealers are generally very nice.

I took it in for a service, and not only did they give me a loaner car (2003 Holden Astra), but after the very minor repair on the Radiator fan, they also detailed the car at no extra cost!

So :

* Diagnosis

* Repair to radiator fan terminal

* Loaner car

* Complete car detail.

Total cost : $155 AUD.

Very nice guys :-)

And as a P.S.

I'd just like to say, there's no other sound like the 5 cylinder growl of this car when you put your foot down.

It just oozes sex appeal. ;-)

Good luck if you purchase one of these. I love mine.

NR.

2nd Sep 2005, 03:27

I just bought a gorgeous 1991 A90 from an 'older' gentleman who took very good care of this beauty. It has 171k miles. This person was the original owner and had the car serviced and cared for by Audi, with the work orders to prove it! I am amazed at how well this car responds. I find myself having to back off on the pedal, she just asks for more! She is fully loaded, with the most pristine interior I have ever seen for a car of it's age. On the down side: The tranny is kicking on low gears, starting is not always on the first turn of the key and the security system is a bit tempermental. Otherwise, I LOVE THIS CAR!!

It is my GREAT small piece of German Engineering!

1991 Audi 90 Quattro 20 Valve 2.3 Liter; in-line 5-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter; in-line 5-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance126500 miles

Summary:

Push maximum and prepare to be impressed

Faults:

The only thing that has gone seriously wrong, and by seriously... I mean that the car was inoperable until fixed, was the fuel pressure regulator. The fuel pressure regulator is what gets fuel pressure to the fuel injectors. Without it, the injectors can't move the fuel... so it doesn't start, and has a tendency to stall whenever the clutch is put in without applying the gas pedal. This repair including parts and maintenance was about $130.00.

General Comments:

This is a good car. People always say that Audi's are more expensive to maintain... but they're not really that much more than anything else.

This car handles amazingly thanks to the All Wheel Drive system, and is quite quick when you push maximum.

I would recommend this car to anyone who enjoys driving windy back country roads at high speeds without being able to afford a newer high-performance vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

1991 Audi 90 E 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carAudi 80 1.8E

Summary:

Reliable/sound, well built German vehicle

Faults:

Back calipers are a part of this vehicle that require regular renewing.

Hand brake cables break around about once a year.

FIRE:- The cable "loom" from the fuse box, passes through a small cable route (automatic gearbox clutch housing) and through time, and the clutch engaging - disengaging, has caused the cables to short-out and resulted in a serious fire within the engine compartment.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable over the last 4 years, regular Audi servicing is highly recommended if you want the reliablity that Audi is famous for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews