2001 Audi A2 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Audi A2 SE 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Nice idea in theory, but not in practice

Faults:

White particles appearing on dash board - due to coating on pollen filter disintegrating.

'Sooty' smell coming from air conditioning system.

Car broke down due to failure of Engine Management System.

Pipe from air conditioning system broke causing water to leak into the car.

Indicators stopped working.

Adjustment of passenger mirror stopped working.

Dipstick broke.

General Comments:

Comfortable and fun to drive.

Rear visibility very poor.

Petrol tank too small.

Unbearable noise if you wind windows down whilst travelling above 10mph.

Flap at front difficult to open.

As dipstick is horizontal, it is difficult to check oil level.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

2nd Mar 2006, 12:12

Yes all cars have issues - but I think the A2 is a super little car - happy to have managed 83 MPG average in the 1.2 TDI - a version sadly never imported into UK officially.

See: www.greenconsumerguide.com/audi_a2_tdi.php

2001 Audi A2 1.4 Petrol 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A quality vehicle that is fun to drive

Faults:

Slight whistle from Windscreen

General Comments:

A well made car at a price that reflects its re-sale value.

Seats 4 adults with plenty of space and comfort.

It looks good, returns over 45mpg on the Motorway and is agile and nippy for town work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

2001 Audi A2 1.7 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 TDI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Corrado

Summary:

An expensive dud

Faults:

The car is supposed to do 80mpg but will only do 50mpg at the most.

General Comments:

This car is fairly sluggish and a very bouncy ride.

The fuel consumption rate is nothing like what it should be. I paid a lot extra for a more efficient, environmentally friendly car and I consider that money to have been completely wasted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

17th May 2002, 15:46

The A2 is fitted with a 1.4TDI PD engine as used in the VW Lupo and Seat Arosa, and not a 1.7TDI.

The all aluminium body shell makes the A2 weigh less than the slightly smaller Arosa and Lupo.

I have not driven an A2 myself. I drive a Lupo 1.4TDI PD and, although it is a little unrefined, yields plenty of torque and has an excellent power to weight ratio.

The lighter A2 should provide an even better performance.

Perhaps there is a problem with the turbocharger, intercooler or fuel cooler - all these would have the affect of making it "sluggish".

25th Oct 2003, 06:20

Anyone expecting 80mpg is living in cloud cuckoo land!!

50mpg is perfectly reasonable. Manufacturers figures are based on perfectly set up cars driven by expert drivers. The urban figure is the most realistic for real life day to day driving.

My Corsa 1.5TD was quoted at 70mpg when new and delivers 50-53 with mostly extra-urban driving.

Get real.

18th Jul 2004, 16:34

I manage to get 50mpg out of my petrol engine 1.4 A2 SE when driving approximately 35 miles per day 30 on the motorway or dual carriageway. If I drive more recklessly increasing speed and acceleration etc then this will fall to between 43-46mpg. Either you do a lot of short, stop start journeys, drive extremely fast and hard or there is something wrong with your car.

2nd Aug 2005, 13:51

I have had my 1.4SE diesel with 22000 miles on the clock now for a couple of months, and have carefully carried out fuel checks. Mixed driving gives 55 mpg, and a recent (fast) 300 mile motorway drive gave 58!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews