2005 Audi A3 2.0 tdi sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not very good

Faults:

Noise from steering at low speeds.

Problems with cooling system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

3rd Jan 2006, 10:57

Could you be a little more precise and give more details please?

2005 Audi A3 Sport 2.0 fsi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An excellent well made machine

Faults:

Key flob has prevented me from getting into the car and locking the car on some occasions. It always seems to work when I bring it back to dealer to look at. False warnings on the Driver information system (DIS) has meant a few uncalled visits to the dealer. Noise coming from steering column was caused by a air lock in the fluid pipe.

General Comments:

Overall it’s an excellent car that I’m so impressed with every time I drive it. The car has so many smart details that make owning the car a pleasure. The cabin is classy and well made and everything is easy to find.

The car feels so solid on the road, and you feel so safe as you know you’re in a strong made car. The engine has plenty of torque and so far is returning a respectable MPG.

Ride and comfort has been greatly improved in the face lifted 2005 model. I got to drive an older 2005 A3 and found it harsher over surfaces, but my car takes the bumps on the road rather well.

I would have no problems buying another Audi and would recommend anyone who is interested in a Alfa 147, BMW 1, or a C –class coupe to drive the A3 before making their purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

24th Feb 2006, 08:20

Just discovered that due to two bulbs that have blown, you can’t change the bulb in the rear brake light and, front headlight yourself, due to they being inaccessible. Dealer is quoting an amazing £79.00, most of which is labour. Nice to see Audi make their cars with the profit of the dealer in mind.

2005 Audi A3 S-Line 2.0TDI Quattro from UK and Ireland

Summary:

So far, so good - a joy to drive

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I've only had this car for a few weeks, but the very first thing I noticed about it was how 'choppy' the ride is - it's actually quite difficult to hold a conversation with your passenger without your voice wobbling! This tends to happen mainly at lower speeds around town.

That is a small price to pay however for the remarkable handling ability of this car - especially with the Quattro 4 wheel drive. The 6 speed manual gearbox is slick and precise, while the 2.0L TDI engine is just wonderful - it just oozes power! No problems blasting along those windy country roads or cruising on the motorway - I'm currently getting approx 45mpg on average.

The car look great, the S-Line trim is the icing on the cake - very supportive sports seats and neat finishing touches to most of the interior trim. BOSE stereo is just the best too.

I just might get a little fed-up of apologizing to my passengers for the bumpy ride!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2005

20th Oct 2005, 19:55

Just oozes power? at 140 bhp I don't think so.

17th Nov 2005, 05:31

You ever driven a diesel they have far better mid range than petrol engines so yeah it does ooze power.

23rd Jun 2006, 07:33

Of course, it oozes torque, not power, for the pedants out there.

8th Nov 2006, 14:48

First of all, yes it does ooze power. If you have driven one you would know, but you probably haven't. Secondly you most probably wouldn't know what power or torque was if it hit you in the head. So don't criticise something you don't know!

2005 Audi A3 Sportback SE 2.0 TDi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Best of both worlds - economy and performance - coupled with understated looks, great car

Faults:

Nothing gone wrong with the car at present.

General Comments:

Great economy (50mpg+) coupled with great performance - I am now a diesel convert!

Leather adds a touch of class - well thought out interior with lots of small clever touches - e.g. shopping bag hooks and cargo net on parcel shelf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

2005 Audi A3 DSG Quattro 3.2 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Classy, subtle HOT HATCH

Faults:

Nothing yet. Car is new.

General Comments:

A great hot hatch. Fab build quality, the engine is eager and economical, DSG is fantastic!. A great allround daily driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

20th Oct 2005, 19:57

Nice and fast.

21st Nov 2005, 03:56

I thought these were fast? mg's are very quick though.

1st Dec 2005, 19:11

DSG mated to 3.2v6 is a great combo, quick enough for the real world & practical too, nice sounding stereo & supportive sports seats. Overall a well made car inside & out. The steering could do with more feel & the ride on 17" alloys is a bit fidgety.

31st Mar 2008, 09:37

I had A3's since 2004. 1st was 2.0 ambition manual - fantastic but had to sell. 2nd ambition DSG 2.0tdi - absolute fantastic especially if driven in sport manual. always recommended car.