1997 Audi A4 1.8 turbo from North America


Great car if you can afford the service


Going on my third driver's side headlight. Other than that, over 120,000 fun-filled miles and it feels like it's fresh of the showroom floor.

General Comments:

I bought my A4 with 48,000 miles on it from an Audi dealer. The previous owner had the car serviced religiously, and every oil change and dealer check-up receipt of the car's life came with it. Anyone who is used to driving a Honda or Toyota which you can practically drive cross-country without oil in the crank case would probably not have the best luck with an Audi. However, when serviced regularly and well-cared for, they are, in my opinion some of the most dependable cars on the road. And VERY fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

1997 Audi A4 1.8 turbo from North America


The Luxury is not worth the severe maintenance expenses


The timing belt broke at 92,000 miles. ($4700)

The ignition Switch broke. ($300)

Needs new wheel bearing.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive while it runs.

This car is plagued with expensive repair costs.

Thousands of Audi A4 have there timing belts break before their scheduled maintenance, which until recently Audi refused to cover.

It is a pretty car, but it is not worth the thousands of dollars in repair costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 14:49

If you change the timing belt as suggested at 90,000 miles, it isn't a fraction as expensive to fix.

15th Dec 2005, 02:49

Just out of curiosity, how in the world does a timing belt cost $4700? I always figured it was a rubber belt, more or less. At $4700, you could replace an entire transmission and perhaps buy a cheap set of tires.

15th Dec 2005, 04:48

If the timing belt broke in service, he would have had to replace a lot more than just the belt. On a lot of engines, this failure renders the whole thing scrap. $4700 sounds reasonable to me.

6th Feb 2006, 17:06

Like said above, if you use preventative measures to upkeep the car, it will not lose its timing belt. My Audi's timing belt was switched out at 60,000 miles as I heard suggested, and I will replace it again at 120,000 miles. If the upkeep is there, you can rely on it.

21st Feb 2006, 17:06

My timing belt went at 46,000, just past mileage warranty. Luckily Audi, as the result of a class action, paid for the entire repair, a few years after I paid. And, luckily only 4 pins on my engine head were bent. The damage is often more extensive than this.

I have changed the oil and done maintenance regularly and this happened along with various other replacements (radiator, control arm, left front, soon control arm right front, $500 each, other problems, plus all the "normal" maintenance costs) This is really a disappointment because the car looks beautiful and handles like a dream.

BTW, does anyone know *when* mileage wise, one needs to have the transmission Flushed?

1997 Audi A4 1.6v petrol from UK and Ireland


Comfortable and good looking, but will cost and frustrate you


Accelerator pedal broke off.

All 8 front wheel arms needed replacing at £100 each plus labor.

Engine inexplicably pinks (revs Bouncing between 1k and 1.5k) but generally only in Winter. This problem has been ongoing for 3 years.

Revs also occasionally disappear altogether so the engine cuts out even when warm.

Internal heating has failed and defied all repair attempts (3 at €700 each)..

Burns oil very quickly . Refill every two months or so.

Remote control is weak and cannot be trusted to lock the car. Means you have to wait to check it before walking away.

General Comments:

This is a great car to drive and very comfortable for the Driver. It is very fuel efficient and has aged well in that it still looks like a modern car after 8 years. It has never actually failed to start and is reliable and solid on the road.

On the other hand, there is zero room in the back for adults. every time someone gets in behind my seat I have to move the chair forward which is very uncomfortable for long drives.

While it has never broken down the inexplicable and apparently unrepairable problems I am experiencing are a huge inconvenience. I have just gone through my second winter with no heating in the cabin despite spending €2000 on repairs. Each time, I am charged, told there is a slight improvement and no change whatsoever has been made. The pinking in winter is equally baffling. No one can tell me why its happening and €1000 services only delay it for a few weeks if at all. Its intermittent and never happens near a garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2005