2000 Audi A4 Reviews

2000 Audi A4 Quattro 2.8L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Don't buy one

Faults:

Transmission at 78,000.

Rack & pinion at 78,000.

Front bumper clips.

Power steering inlet hose.

Clutch fan.

Coolant reservoir.

Power locks went out.

Two of the windows no longer work.

Stereo locked.

A.B.S. module malfunctioned.

Totaling up to about $12,000 not including general maintenance, after only 60,000.

General Comments:

It sucks; don't buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2008

8th Feb 2010, 10:55

Might seem this one's been driven pretty hard.

2000 Audi A4 2.8 quattro from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 quattro Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Great handling, shifting, acceleration. Five stars across the board, except repair costs

Faults:

My ABS computer went out. Dealer fixed it even though I had the car for about 2 months.

My oxygen sensor went out, and a ball joint and a tire blew, but that was thanks to Michigan's potholes in the winter. Nothing to do with the car.

Oh, and had two exhaust leaks, nothing major though. Just some flex couplers that were old.

General Comments:

Great car overall. Acceleration is smooth, and shifting is buttery smooth for a manual.

Handling is superb and the ride is very smooth and quiet.

It's a beautiful car, but any sort of maintenance is expensive. Cost for parts are about double or sometimes more what you would pay for your average American car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

2000 Audi A4 1.4 Unleaded from Trinidad and Tobago

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Unleaded Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

It's a Dream to Drive!

Faults:

Air Condition Unit failed.

General Comments:

Performance on the highway is great it goes from 0 - 70mph in abouts 7 - 10secs. It sits on the road at VERY high speeds. I have done every thing, but fly with my Audi.

The gas consumption is high if you're on the highway everyday, but the comfortable seating and concert music system is worth it.

Well of course the parts are going to be expensive. (filters, brake shoes etc..) again it's worth it.

It's roomy (I'm 5 ft. 9) a lot of leg room and head space.

The truck is huge - transporting plants, tools whatever you choose it can hold.

My Audi has never failed me - never shut down, no blow outs, no engine problems it's just a beaut.

I recommend it 100%

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2007

2000 Audi A4 Quattro 2.8 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good luck!

Faults:

Good luck on VW products including Audi. I had an Audi A2 2.8 Quattro 2000 that burnt oil from day one, had brake problems, O2 problems, leather seat problems, airbag light problems, radio problems, hazard switch problems.

Other than that, it drove nice and the HID lights were also nice. Thank God I bought an extended warranty, but boy was it a nightmare to own! Never again... Good luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2007

2000 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPorsche Boxster

Summary:

Great until you leave the sales floor, then it's garbage

Faults:

Air bag igniter

Seat belt sensors

Info screen on dash

Wheel bearings (at least 8)

Control Arms

Oxygen Sensors

Windshield wiper linkage

And a million other things.

General Comments:

We have owned 7 Audi's in my family, including 4 A4's. This thing, actually all of them, are a money pits and cause a lot of wasted time at dealerships getting them fixed. Dealership service is terrible. I will NEVER buy an Audi again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2006

2nd Feb 2006, 13:30

My 2000 Audi A4Q with over 100K miles has been outstanding on performance and maintenance. Original tires went 68,000 miles and still had more. No annoying electrical/mechanical or other issues just routine maintenance.

7th Sep 2007, 01:27

I bought a 2000 Audi A4 1.8t quattro with 90,000 miles on it for $11000.

After driving it for 2 days, a coil pack went out. After that, it has had no big problems so far.

The check engine light came on one time and went away, I bought it with a new turbo, new fuel pump, the timing belt was done, I have replaced wheel bearings, O2 sensor, all the vacuum lines, the turbo housing, the diverter valve (which is now atmospheric) brakes and rotors, tires.

It runs great for me; I love it and plan to keep it.

24th Jul 2009, 09:32

I have owned 14 Audi's in the past and they have been like Rolls Royces to me. So beautifully made and a fantastic finish. I have quite a rare A4, the 2.4 V6, but I've just had the cambelt done on it (the previous one was on it when it was new) and the engine is so quite and smooth. I got the car about 2 months ago at 83,000 miles. It drives beautifully. The car goes like the clappers and I usually get about 31 mpg, which is good considering I go on shortish journeys. I will NOT get rid of it.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews