1999 Audi A6 from North America - Comments

30th Jan 2004, 07:03

Mine is an 99 Audi A6 2.8 4WD. As I was doing about 35 mph and as I tried to accelerate further, the accelerator seemed to get stuck and high rev to 5.5k on the RPM, and the car accelerated to about 60 mph, which on the local road is uncontrollable; luckily there was no car in front of me while I missed a left turn to where I was going, and I stepped on the brake pedal with both feet to slow down the car, and turned off the engine.

I hope this will help those who who might yet encounter this ordeal.

The road was clean and the temperature was very cold (around 13 degrees Fahrenheit). I believe it's the cold weather that triggered this malfunction. The accelerator pedal did not get stuck on the rubber mat, because I do not have one.

Alex.

5th Feb 2004, 09:04

Consider the possibility that snow and ice on the floor is melting, and the resulting water is migrating into the center tunnel, where at least some of the computers are housed -- on the floor in 1998, and perhaps, some 1999 models -- thus shorting out one of the computers. In subsequent years, Audi enclosed the computers in boxes and elevated them off the floor to attempt to remedy this situation. I don't know for sure that engine management computers are located there, but transmission, brake, and power windows, etc. are.

I encourage you to file a complaint with the NHSTA. http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

10th Feb 2004, 14:54

I have an Audi A6 from 1998. The throttle sticking problem happens only when it is below 0 degrees F. I believe it is ice forming from condensation on the throttle plate of the fuel injection or on the throttle cable. We have had this occur 3 times in two winters. It will take about 15 min. for the ice to form for sticking. No one at Audi has helped us with this. I believe a long period of engine warm up may be the answer before driving on the coldest days. The condition will go away after the engine heat melts the ice and it will not occur again the same day unless the engine is very very cold.

20th Feb 2004, 12:08

I am looking for current or past owners of 1998-2001 Audi (A4, A6, S4 and Allroad) or Volkswagen Passat owners whose brake pedal mounting bracket fractured or broke either during an accident or before an accident. The brake pedal mounting bracket collapsed on our 1999 Audi A6. All braking capacity was lost and the car went out of control at freeway speeds. A serious accident resulted. We have good reason to believe the bracket collapsed hours or days before the accident. After the bracket broke and before the crash, the bracket was loosely held in place with a bolt secured under the dash. The bolt did not hold during the panic application of the brakes. I am looking for owners who have had the same experience or who have had their brake pedal mounting bracket replaced FOR ANY REASON. The bracket may have been replaced by the dealer during a routine inspection of the car. The bracket is hard to locate since it is behind the cowl in the drivers foot well and attached to the engine firewall.

20th Feb 2004, 14:59

I have a 1998 A6 with the throttle sticking problem. It will happen in very cold temperatures below zero degrees F. The crankcase ventilation hose will deliver condensation from the oil to the throttle plate. The cold air will cause ice to form and stick the throttle. Audi Service Rep suggested using a Teflon spray on the throttle plate to keep this from happening because ice will not stick. Service the throttle plate before winter begins clean it and spray on Teflon.

30th Jan 2005, 18:17

Hey, I have a great suggestion.

Do yourself a favor and get rid of your Audi.

You will then experience the great relief of peace of mind motoring no matter which vehicle you choose to replace it with, that is unless you are foolish enough to purchase another Audi.

My 99 A6 was the most excellent vehicle to drive, but there was always something to repair. The repair costs are just ridiculous. I was pleased to find a dealer willing to offer me a trade on the Audi and I gladly gave it up for the reliability of a Nissan. The Nissan is not even close in comparison to the Audi for comfort, but I don't care.

I need my car on the road-not in the shop getting fixed.

15th Jan 2009, 19:06

I had the same thing happen last year in January at temperatures between 0-7 degrees Fahrenheit, and today I had it happen again. My car kept accelerating with me pushing the brakes. I was driving 75 miles/h and all the sudden I found my car at 80 and trying to go faster and faster. The difference with all the posts is that I have a 1999 Volkswagen Passat V6, 2.8L automatic transition. Audi is owned my Volkswagen, so in my opinion it is almost the same car just with a different name, and therefore think that it is possible to have the same defect. The other problem is that Audi has a recall for this problem, but Volkswagen does not. There is something seriously wrong with that.

I will go to the shop/garage and have the throttle box and all replaced, and hope that Volkswagen will also have a recall on that so I can get reimbursed.

Thank you.

Sabine.

21st Jan 2010, 17:43

I had an Audi A6 wagon... can't remember the year; about a 2002. Bought it brand new, and around 2006, during the winter, it accelerated on me 3-4 times. Each time the car kept accelerating and nothing I did would stop it. Touching the gas, thinking it was stuck, nadda would stop it. Luckily I knew to throw it into neutral, but even then it would continue to race. I ditched it that spring and no one believed me. I will never buy an Audi again.

4th Apr 2010, 21:00

April 2, 2010

I just found myself driving down the highway at 50 mph when suddenly the car started to accelerate. I took my foot off the gas pedal and it accelerated to 75 mph. I hit the brakes and pushed the pedal right down to the floor and the car would not stop. It finally started to slow down to about 30 mph when I turned down a side road and put it into park and turned off the ignition. There was a burning smell and smoke. I had the car towed to a repair shop. We are waiting to see what the problem is. We did not get a recall notice from the company. Is there a reason only Toyota is being monitored by the government agencies? Why were we not made aware of this problem by the Audi Dealer?

11th Apr 2010, 17:50

Audi was hit several years ago with Unintended Acceleration complaints, it almost cost them their US Business. At the time, it was thought to be caused by the relative closeness between the brake and the gas pedal.

3rd Jul 2010, 08:55

1998 Audi A6 Quattro Avant old body.

This comment is to the guy using cruise control in the snow; you were lucky you were not killed, this is not for use in any kind of wet conditions PERIOD.

I have a mixed bag feeling about this car. I have owned Audi products since 1985, and have been pretty happy. I didn't care for the 5000 with the automatic drive train, but the 5 speed is and was bullet proof. The 5 cylinder engine was the most durable and reliable ever made by this manufacturer. When it was retired and replaced with the V6 configuration, a different set of problems came about, oil leaks, complete engine damage/failure due failing timing belts, poor fuel economy and very heavy sluggish performance, but to be fair the build quality had come up, and the materials seemed to be of better quality.