2005 Audi A8 L 4.2 from North America

Summary:

The Audi A8L prevented serious injury in a serious car accident

Faults:

Very minor repairs required. The emergency brake light came on. Warranty repair.

General Comments:

My wife who is the primary driver of our Audi A8L was involved in a serious accident. The knee airbags deployed as well as the regular front airbags. She was rushed by ambulance to the emergency room of a nearby hospital. She checked out just fine other than being a little sore and quite shook up needless to say. Decelerating from 35 mph to 0 instantaneously has a tendency to do that. The 2005 Audi A8L absorbed the impact with essentially no injury to my Beloved. I've read where the Audi is one of the safest cars on the road today. My wife is a living testimony to that end. I won't own another car for that reason and the fact that it is an absolute joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2008

5th Jul 2011, 14:16

This is why you buy an A8!

15th Nov 2011, 02:53

Saying an A8 is a good car to buy because it crashes well is a bit like saying a Stradivarius is a great violin because it burns nicely. Are you all mad?

6th Jun 2012, 05:00

I honestly don't get your point. A well-built car is naturally supposed to protect its occupants in the event of a crash. But a good violin is only supposed to be sound nice; you normally don't expect it to burn nicely, only if you're lunatic enough to burn a Stradivarius on purpose.

2005 Audi A8 from North America

Faults:

The brakes on this Audi A8 have made a noise almost from the very start.

To spend the amount of money I am spending on this car, and hear a loud noise at every stop is intolerable.

It looks awesome and drives beautifully, but when I have to stop, I turn the radio up so I don't have to hear it.

Never again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

29th Jun 2006, 08:43

Has to be a problem with his brakes. Maybe they are worn? Brakes do give off dust, as do many others, but they sure do work. Have the dealer check things out.

11th Dec 2006, 16:27

I have A8, it has fantastic engine, but many prob. with other things. Very uncomfortable seats, noisy parking brake, some things on WV Polo are much better. It's a lot of money for style... but, thanks, I've had enough of this car.

16th Dec 2008, 14:40

You may be able to cure the break squeaking. when on a empty road (no one behind you) brake harshly. This should remove the glazing on the pads. Or you could get a different set of pads. Or if you want better braking all round get the Brembo discs. The A8/S8 is a fantastic car, sure it need to be looked after, but that's something that should be researched before buying one.

25th Feb 2010, 19:11

Yap, the worst car ever made. Brakes squeak.

Have you ever thought of two highly uncommon and crazy possibilities of why your brakes sound??

1- Worn pads.

2- Dirt in the pads.