1987 Audi Coupe Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1987 Audi Coupe GT 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carDatsun 280ZX

Summary:

I love my Audi

Faults:

Within the first year I had the instrument panel replaced twice.

Exhaust System replaced twice.

Window regulator twice.

Timing belt replaced once.

Any other work has been from normal use and age.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It still handles better than many other

America n cars I've driven.

It is very reliable.

The engine has a great sound to it.

The body is still rust free with original paint.

My gas mileage is great.

Has lots of pep and speed.

I don't know what else to say, its worth every cent put into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

1987 Audi Coupe GT 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carSkoda Rapid

Summary:

A very nice motor, in superb condition for only £600

Faults:

Idle stepper motor never seems to work properly despite numerous changes.

Metal fuel pipe (under body) rusted through.

Burns a lot of oil due to worn valve stem oil seals.

Boot lid support struts are worn out.

General Comments:

The car wallows into corners, but I think this is due to worn out shock absorbers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

1987 Audi Coupe Quattro 2.2 litre (5 cylinder) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre (5 cylinder) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A cult classic, becoming hard to find

Faults:

Exhaust failure at 110,000 miles.

Collapsed wheel bearing at 118,000 miles.

General Comments:

Almost supercar performance at family car running costs.

Very reliable and rust free having a galvanised body from new. Excellent handling with a compromise on comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2001

1987 Audi Coupe GT 2.2 5 cylinder petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 5 cylinder petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance85600 miles
Previous carAudi Coupe

Summary:

Comfortable, fast, full of character

Faults:

Petrol pump (or so I thought - turned out to be a bad connection left behind after an immobiliser was removed), nearside CV joint, nearside wheel bearing, offside electric window mechanism (I think it's the cable), starter motor failure.

General Comments:

I bought this car for 44 pence, no jokes. It wouldn't start when I turned up to view it (originally priced at £900) so I gave the seller £25 for the road tax which left 44 pence over, hence the price.

Having previously owned a 1983 I would recommend holding out for a 1987 one. The brakes are far more effective and the interior a lot more pleasing. The rear seat is like an expensive sofa - deliciously comfortable.

The car handles very well as standard although I found that grip improved after fitting 205 width tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

22nd Aug 2001, 14:01

Had an '81 Coupe, my first Audi. I'll agree with you -- the rear seat can comfortably fit two or three six-footers! Had it had fuel injection I'd just have kept it.

1987 Audi Coupe GTi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

Performance, luxury and personality for silly money, get a good one and you'll not stop smiling..

Faults:

Timing belt and clutch cable replaced at 56K, brake shoes/drums/pads/discs at 66K. Headlamp reflectors corroded.

General Comments:

I couldn't believe I'd stumbled across a 13-year old Audi Coupe GT with such low miles, full service history, and in immaculate and original condition. Apart from a stiff clutch (worn spigot), it drives wonderfully, true sports car response and ride. Only down-side is lack of hatchback practicality, but for a grand...!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

1987 Audi Coupe GTi 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carAudi Coupe

Summary:

You cannot get better at such a low price provided you are careful over your choice

Faults:

Bought for £1.1k knowing some work was needed.

New belts, new front brake flexis, new clutch master cyl, new headlights, all were known at time of purchase.

Car is unmarked internally, no wear on seats at all. Body original, no rust.

I've restored all engine and suspension paint finishes to original.

Things gone wrong.. slight leak causing damp carpets, reduced by clearing roof drainage, but suspect corner of windscreen rubber.

Top of n/s suspension coil broken (1" long, hardened top face).

Usual rear light clusters needing attention for bad contacts.

Earth wire from idle control found broken. Must have been prior to purchase as when repaired, idle speeds rose to 3000rpm. All reset, now perfect.

Front n/s wheel bearing replaced.

Most done myself, approx £400 spent, therfore total cost of a very fast vehicle £1400. Targetted respray to original colour/finish to eliminate road chips and blemishes.

General Comments:

This is my 5th coupe, earlier ones were only 2 years old at purchase, this one is 13 and drives as new. No oil/water compsumption at all.

Company car is new 1.8 Laguna, which I abandon at every opportunity to drive the Audi. The Audi is faster, uses less fuel and NO oil, is quiet internally at all speeds, no rattles or squeaks and is quieter than a colleagues Merc 180, and more comfortable (his words, not mine). I would like a 1986 Turbo Quattro, but finance prevents! And some of these can cost you dear if you get a lemon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2000

19th Dec 2003, 07:41

Superb and informative review.

6th Jan 2004, 06:45

Can I borrow you to find me one of these. It's a classic, but finding a reasonable one is hard. Honest review and technically informative.. can the rest of the assessments match this standard please!

12th May 2004, 16:54

In response to the request to find a classic example.

This coupe has now been restored in an immaculate met black finish. Over the past 3 yrs any suspect metal replaced with metal (not filler). Interior unworn. New windscreen (no leaks now) new rad, shocks, bushes, hydraulic lifters, cam belt, brake callipers and discs, new alloys. Now up for sale as new arrival forces sale. Now in Auto trader! Best car I've had. Sob!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews