2000 Audi S4 2.7 twin turbo from North America


Very fun, but prepare to become best friends with your mechanic


I got the car with only 90000km on it. Within the first month:

- Hydraulic clutch broke $$$$+ tow truck

- Both right and left rear wheel bearings broke $$

- Drive shaft bushings were leaking on the rear differential

- In dash CD player and trunk mounted 6 CD player kept showing error.

General Comments:

Overall the car is definitely a driving car for that enthusiast out there. It will give you endless fun in all driving conditions. There are many cool options like the 6cd Bose player and the alcantara seats, but I am going to put this from the point of view of a twenty year old.

- There is no back seat room to put normal sized people in

- Drinks way, way too much gas; will go through a 60L tank in 260km

- Although fast, it's very sluggish

- Handling amazing

- Alcantara seats although sporty, are in no way comfortable.

And last of all the maintenance is a joke. The car needs servicing all of the time. Every time I bring it in for an oil change they find another problem.

People this is definitely a fun and good looking car but look away, look at the repair costs for example; replacing the twin turbos on the car, which were made horrible from Audi, are $10,000.

Personally next car I'm going to a benz... this car gave me a bad impression of Audis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2008

16th Mar 2009, 21:44

Well, thanks to reviews like yours, I won't buy an S4, even if I'd really like to.

Lets save a few bucks and get a C32 AMG, hand-built engine and 350HP in a wolf in sheep clothing... hmmm sounds interesting.

9th May 2009, 19:08

Think twice before jumping to Mercedes. All of these performance cars are high maintenance. Look at Consumer Reports, the S4 has average reliability, while just about all Mercedes cars are below or well below average. If you were disappointed in Audi's cost of ownership, you may want to go with a Toyota or Honda, you probably won't find any relief with MB.

9th Jun 2009, 21:16

It would be cheaper to replace with aftermarket turbos :) I got a reconditioned KO4 turbo for my 1.8T Quattro for $750.

Was going to cost me more than $1000 for the standard K03 at the dealership.

31st Aug 2010, 01:33

If you want a luxurious car without the maintenance cost get a Lexus. If you want a powerful car without the maintenance costs get a Nisan 200SX, but don’t get a Mercedes unless it’s pre 1996. After that they are all expensive and troublesome. My 1998 C200 gearbox failed at 80,000km on a dirt road 30km from nearest town and cost $7,500 to be replaced. (C36 AMG is OK with 4spd).

2000 Audi S4 V6 2.7L Twin turbo AWD from North America


Buy now!!!


Nothing has gone wrong with the car since I have owned it. But is very bad on gas.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever driven, nothing can compare to it. I had a 2000 Volkswagen Jetta, 2005 Mercedes Benz SLK, 2002 BMW M3, and a 2004 Jaguar S Type. Before those I had a 1993 Mazda MX-6, 1995 Chevrolet Camaro Z28, and a 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24. The Audi S4 is unbelievable, I have invested almost $18,000 into it in performance upgrades, most of them are suspension and transmission. I have to admit it is the best luxury/ sport/ AWD/ sedan on the planet. It is amazing in all 4 seasons. It handles better then any of the cars above, and is way faster too. I have also driven a 2004 Ferrari 360 Spider, and I have to admit that I prefer my S4. The Ferrari might be faster, but is not as luxurious and it dose not handle as well as my Audi. Overall I would highly recommend this car to everyone, I cannot get enough of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

8th Nov 2007, 18:55

I would just like to know if this " Ferrari" you drove actually have tires on it, or were you comparing them in a snow storm on the top of a mountain where you obviously getting low oxygen to the brain.

20th Nov 2007, 19:35

So you invested $18000 on upgrading the S4, for that amount of money, of course the S4 would mostly be "better". I could invest $18000 in most car and make it perform much better, and depending on how you spent the money. You are not really saying much!

26th Jan 2009, 01:55

Obviously you guys never driven Audi and Ferrari. The last one made for nice Italian roads.

For everyday driving I prefer Audi. It is fast, comfortable and luxury. Ferrari is fast... and if you have money for Ferrari go buy it. Drive it 15000 miles a year, and then show me your bills for repairs. Just buy a R8 V10.