2002 Audi TT 225 hp 1.8 from North America


Very classy, fast with an excellent grip on the road (4 wheel drive)


I haven't had any problems whatsoever, certainly not any electrical problems as some owners mentioned. The car performs best on the high octane gasoline though, otherwise it might start shaking. Also, I'd recommend synthetic oil (not blended) as it has a sophisticated twin turbo engine.

General Comments:

It is a beautifully designed car: truly very classy.

The cup holders are in a very awkard place though, you have to be a contortionist to get to them. This is really the only design fault I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2008

23rd Mar 2008, 14:19

I would like to add that the TT 225 is not in fact a "Twin Turbo" system, but is in fact a 1.8L Inline 4, with a single K04 Turbo charger instead of the smaller, less efficient K03 Turbo on 180 hp 1.8T's, Dual Side mount intercoolers, and stronger rods... this car much like the K03 1.8T's can benefit greatly from a chip which can add up to 40hp and almost 100 torque!

2002 Audi TT 225 Quattro 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland


Boy race killer..


Main headlight switch broke in March 2006.

General Comments:

Really happy with this car.

Very fast car.

Looking to get the ECU Remapped soon.

Best car I have ever had & I would buy one again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

2002 Audi TT 180 quatro 1.8 turbo 6 speed from UK and Ireland


So pleased I bought it


Nothing so far, came with full history,and knew previous owner.

General Comments:

Car is a dream, very quick, supurb handling, wonderful interior, just a great car, wonderfull sound system, heated seats add to the driving pleasure. and you don't have to drive it hard to prove anything, looks say it all... but, its black and it shows the grime, but who cares it's a pleasure to clean. did round trip to London 410 miles (motorway) on 1 tank of fuel returned 35.1-gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

30th Dec 2005, 14:54

Well that's it, I think I'll buy one...

1st Jan 2006, 16:15

My 180 is good on fuel when driven carefully, (around 30+ mpg) must have been a leasurely trip to get 35mpg. well done...

30th Apr 2009, 08:52

But then I don't have anything to prove. You talk like it's a Porsche 911 Turbo when it's only an Audi TT, everyone has one. And a lot of cars you see on the road like Focus ST, RS, Clio 172, Honda Civic Type R are just as fast, if not faster.

2002 Audi TT 225 quattro 1.8T from North America


Few if any cars are made this bad


ABS sensor, engine control module, gasket leaks, central locking, electrical shortages.

General Comments:

The car is slow for 225 HP.

Way too many problems for a 2-4 year old car, (speaking on general info about the TT).

It looks great, but it's way over valued.

Buy a new Mazda or MR2, and get a better built, less expensive car (save about $17000 and a lot of anger).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

2002 Audi TT 225 Coupe 1.8 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland


Fast, but only average reliability and driver involvement


Two breakdowns caused by coil pack failures. A common problem obviously as there were two other TT's, an A4 1.8T and an A6 1.8T sitting at the dealership awaiting parts. Mine took 4 weeks the first time and 2 weeks the second. Not acceptable on a car of this price and supposed engineering excellence.

Heater blower died.

Air conditioning condenser sprung a leak.

Lacquer peeling from alloys (not kerb damage). Replaced under warranty.

Power steering fluid needed topping up every couple of months, but no fault could be found.

General Comments:

In a word, disappointing.

Reliability was average at best, and parts backup from Germany was poor. A combined 6 week wait for the coils and the air-con compressor took a week. Dealers were efficient, but I didn't think they tried particularly hard. I had to argue for a courtesy car when my car was immobilised with coil failure the second time and they couldn't give me a delivery date for the parts.

The TT is good to drive with punchy performance from the 225PS engine and excellent traction from the Quattro transmission, but hardly the last word in involvement. Felt more like a (very) fast Golf than a sports car. Easy to drive fast, but little reward for doing so. Takes no skill whatsoever to push to its limits which is either a good or a bad thing, depending on your point of view.

By all accounts the original "pre-recall" version (the one that was involved in the high profile accidents) was a far more rewarding car. I suppose you cannot blame Audi for playing safe against the insidious spread of the lawsuit culture.

Excellent quality interior and dramatic styling were the two areas where I thought the price was justified (and the two features that sold it to me within about 5 minutes of looking at it), but there are now so many around that even the styling doesn't really stand out any more.

Good used values. Got an excellent trade-in against a Nissan 350Z. To be honest, it doesn't have the same quality of finish inside, but it's a far better sports car.

Looks good, goes well and holds its value. Better pose value than entertainment value though, and don't expect it to be problem free just because of the Audi badge. It seems those days are long gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

7th Jul 2005, 00:15

Excellent review. And a comment: If it feels like a very fast Golf, that's because it IS a very fast Golf with a fancy body. Couldn't agree more about the 350Z, though.

7th Jan 2011, 22:38

Great review. Accurate!

In Singapore, just had coil pack replacement on Sat, Jan 8, 2011 for 2002 1.8T TTTYTTip TT.

TT is still a classic beauty in shape.

Handling 100% there, but with hard suspension.

Still exceptionally fast for a car for city driving... despite being bog standard in tuning.

Only 2 years left before mandatory scrapping. Wife enjoys it every day!