1990 Audi V8 Quattro Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1990 Audi V8 Quattro V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres

Summary:

A dream come true car!

Faults:

The Bose stereo went intermittent.

Often stalls when put into reverse.Have not found out why.

This car has had no breakdowns and still runs like swiss clock at 202,000km.

General Comments:

This car is the best handling and most comfortable car I have ever owned!!

On the highway @ 120 km, it still only uses 7.8 liters for 100km!!

Never use a low octane fuel, it performs much better and gets more miles per gallon with high octane gas.

Once you have owned this car, you find yourself comparing all other cars to this one as it has now become the standard.

It corners and handles like a sports car no matter if the road is dry or wet and when I found out that it weighs 4,000 lbs I could not believe it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2004

1990 Audi V8 Quattro 3.6 Litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6 Litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

A German bullet train with character to spare

Faults:

Water Pump seized at 107k miles stripping 14 teeth off the timing belt.

Check engine light on. Diagnostics indicates oxygen sensor.

Speedometer & tachometer have a life of their own.

Driver seat bum warmer not working.

General Comments:

I had the 90k mile service performed right after acquiring the car at a local independent Audi shop. Basically amounted to a tune up, oil change, and new oxygen sensor. Cost was $400.00. I figured that was fairly reasonable. I had them check the condition of the timing belt, which showed fairly new. Records indicate that it was changed at 70k miles.

Water pump seized while driving along about 30 mph, at about 2200 rpm. Haven't really had a chance to check damage to valves; hoping not a whole lot of damage.

I miss my Audi. It's been sitting in the garage for about 5 months now - don't really have the money to fix it at this time.

An incredible car to drive. Yes, around town acceleration is somewhat sluggish, but definitely comes into its own out on the open road. Have had the cruise set at 125 mph for about 20 miles. Wonderful, secure feeling. Garnered a lot of dirty looks from other drivers, but oh well...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

28th Nov 2004, 07:24

Valves will be bad! This is high compression, low valve clearance engine! Repairing this all aluminum motor is not for the faint of heart! You will need a serious bank roll and a VERY GOOD engine re-builder.

Btobsharpe@yahoo.com.

11th Jul 2008, 13:21

The previous comment is wrong on this engine, the block is actually cast iron :) Which adds serious durability bottom ends of these motors. This repair of the broken timing belt should just be standard. Guaranteed you will have bent valves, the big problem is if the pistons got punctured. Your best solution is usually to just have a used motor put in rather than try to correct this madness. Plus you can replace all gaskets and the timing belt with the motor on a stand which is much easier and less time consuming. You'll essentially have a new motor at this point and much less maintenance down the road. I've even seen people dropping the 4.2 v8 from the a8 and s8 in, I don't know if this requires a transmission change as well though.

1st Sep 2010, 03:39

The problem with the timing belt might have been caused by the water pump, because it may not have been replaced together with the belt. On Audis, VWs and so on, it is a safe practice, and generally recommended, always to substitute the water pump together with the timing belt!

Bye.

1990 Audi V8 Quattro 3.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance139500 miles
Previous carAudi 5000

Summary:

Politically incorrect thirsty V8, yeah, so what? Wonderful, wonderful car!

Faults:

Got this car from a local used car dealer who had no idea whatsoever what he had.

He got it from a wholesaler who was also totally clueless - all service records were discarded!

Car has 139,000 miles on it, and has had a number of minor issues (like any used car), none of which have cost much to fix.

General Comments:

This is absolutely NOT a car for someone who goes running to the dealer for every little thing (in fact, for anything - USA Audi dealers have a *TERRIBLE* reputation, and they have fully earned it.)

Before you get into one of these, it is a good idea to have owned an earlier Audi, preferably a 5000 series (type 44) for a few years, and to have done much of your own work.

That said, this car is the equivalent of the Millennium Falcon from the first Star Wars movie - obsolete, cranky, hard to work on, wildly complicated, but man, oh man, when you get this car on the highway, hang on tight! Remember the scene where they finally get the warp drive working and all the stars blur past backwards? Well that's what happens from 75 mph up when you nail this - all the other cars on the highway just blur past backwards!

Get AAA plus, it comes with a bail bond certificate (you'll need it), join the Audi discussion group on the internet (you'll need that, too), and enjoy.

Wonderful, delightful ride, comfortable, goes like stink, handles superbly, stops on a dime and gives change, I don't care if it only gets 15 mpg around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

24th Feb 2004, 08:46

Amen!Couldn't have said it better myself, you are right on with this wonderful car.Thanks.

5th Jul 2004, 18:57

I have driven the 4.2 quattro, from 1992, and I can say that that it must be looked after well if it is to work, because the engine is old technology, and I really flied with the car, I mean I put it into automatic first gear, it started with a little wheelspin (!) then put it into second and your already around 60 mph at the middle of second gear, its crazy. Driving it is another story, silky smooth responsive steering along with no body roll, and as you know there is a switch which has buttons like M, S and I don't know the third one, well I used it on S which I think is sport, and it literally flied away, this year I'm buying the 2001 A6 V8 Avant 4.2 Quattro. So you can say I have a love for these beyond reality cars...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews