1993 Audi V8 Quattro Reviews

1993 Audi V8 Quattro six-speed 4.2 from Germany

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carAudi Audi V8 quattro 3.6

Summary:

The original four-door sports car

Faults:

Replaced parts so far: Oxygen sensor, front brakes, left rear brake caliper, rebuilt alternator, left distributor, battery for auxiliary heater and lots of suspension bushings. Nothing extraordinary.

Other worries:

- both front BOSE amps dead.

- Brake caliper mounts are somewhat worn and need to be replaced soon.

- some lights in dash and switches are out.

- rear power sunshade drive is missing a few teeth in gear drive - makes grinding noise when closing.

- original exhaust still under the car, front muffler will go soon.

- biggest gripe: replaced valve seals at 150k, still burns 1qt of oil every 800 miles.

General Comments:

The car is generally a blast to drive and goes like a bat out of hell no matter what (I have the Euro-only six-speed manual transmission). Average mileage is around 19 mpg.

Maintenance and repair costs are high, even compared to other vehicles in the same class. The 150k scheduled service which includes a timing belt change ran a whopping $2000. Parts pricing is outrageous, with availability becoming more and more of a concern - already there are some trim pieces that are no longer obtainable... this will make this car a hard-to-maintain classic in the future.

Good things: interior still looks like new. Superb build quality, perfect fit and finish. Good reliability record - never left me stranded. Also never had any electronic gremlins in both V8 I own (ed).

The UFO front brakes are a little overburdened by today's traffic though - I encounter considerable fade in high-speed autobahn driving conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

18th May 2006, 16:33

That six speed must be a blast to drive, however, UFO's were eliminated by the 1992 model year. Unless, of course, they were still offered over the G60's in Europe after 1991.

10th Aug 2006, 16:46

Does anyone know what a good price on a 93 would be with around 200km on it???

Thanks.

23rd Aug 2006, 12:27

That depends on where you live.

In general, prices for these cars have all but bottomed out. In (western) Europe, especially Germany, well-maintained late-model ones can be found in the EUR 3000 range, maxing out at EUR 5000. Long wheelbase versions (of which only 260 were ever made) and manual transmission models with the 4.2l engine are sought after most, and therefore are a little more expensive.

Germany`s the biggest market for these cars by a wide margin.

But these low prices have one reason: Owning a V8 is expensive. VERY expensive. Expect to pay around EUR 0.40 per Kilometer in running costs if you work on it yourself. If you can`t afford that, stay away.

Have a look at www.mobile.de for prices in Germany. And check out www.audiv8.com - there you'll find an excellent buyers guide, as well as classifieds, and the best Audi V8 forum on the 'net (speaking German is a plus for that one...).

1993 Audi V8 Quattro from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Makes me feel like a teenager with hotrod

Faults:

The BOSE stereo seems to be the only bad thing with my car.

Have a small steering leak.

Everything, but the stereo works.

General Comments:

I love this car, its fast and is great in the winter.

Handling and performance is top notch, but the steering is too lite for my taste. I have a 1981 Porsche 928. the Audi is faster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

7th Nov 2008, 22:52

I see you have the same taste in vehicles. I have 2 V8's, a 90 and a 93, and also an automatic 85 32v 928s, and can say the same about the Audi being faster. My Porsche is great fast and solid, but so are the Audis; the 93 runs very close to the 928, but amazingly enough will pull away above 110.

As for the 90 V8, it's slower off the line and midrange, but its 90-130 times are faster than the 928 just barely. It really starts to fly above 100 mph. The Porsche is a lot faster 0-60 0-80, but 0-120 is pretty much dead even with the 90 V8.

Oh, and just to let you know how in my opinion well built these cars are, this little speed test was performed when the Porsche had 72k miles, the 93 V8 had 147k miles, and the 90 V8 had 192k miles.

My 90 V8 has now almost 230k miles and sees triple digit speeds almost on a daily basis. I know I won't be doing that with any of these newer cars..

11th Jan 2009, 23:01

Same here - 1993 Porsche 928GTS and '93 V8Q; campaigning both of these for the past 8 years.

Summer I ride the 928GTS. Its torque is amazing, plus it gets better MPG.

Winter and spring the V8Q. It has always leaked a bit of oil, but this year it's getting pretty bad and smoking off the exhaust a lot. So I have it in the shop for them to look at it.

Driving a Lexus GS300/Aristo Twin Turbo now. It's very fast, sic handling (coil-over kit/will out-handle both of the above) so I'm trying hard to like it! This sedan feels more like a 944 Turbo or 968 than the V8Q or 928.

19th Nov 2011, 00:26

All the '92 through '94 series 4.2 V8Q cars have the same oil leak from the front right head gasket low pressure return. Fortunately, as a result it's a manageable amount, but it does tend to make its way to the exhaust pipe. Easiest way to deal with it is just to locate the area below the leak, where there are a couple of "galleys" where it collects and sop up the oil there. Then it won't overflow from there and create the lower end oil mess and the oil burn odor. However, these cars (I've owned 3) do burn some oil as a matter of course, regardless and as a result do seem to foul the plugs to a degree. Fortunately changing the plugs is surprisingly easy, and can be done by the home mechanic in an hour or less. Try that on a transverse mounted GM or Ford V6!

These are remarkable cars when properly maintained; get an identical parts car as I've done, otherwise you will become unhappy.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 2 reviews