Autobianchi A112 Reviews

1981 Autobianchi A112 Abarth 1.0 from Norway

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carAutobianchi A112

Summary:

Great driving experience!

Faults:

The dynamo charged at about 16V, so I had to replace it.

Some rust.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It's cheap, reliable, and gives you the feeling of driving a go-cart!

Also you get quite a lot of attention, and I can guarantee that your neighbor doesn't have one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

1984 Autobianchi A112 Abarth 1.0 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14900 kilometres
Most recent distance16100 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

A car full of charm!

Faults:

I have installed a new 2" exhaust system.

New front and rear brakes. New brake lines.

The alternator have got broken, twice.

And just like almost every a112 Abarth, a lot of rust!

General Comments:

I love this car. It's not fast, but it's so small, and the combination of a light car with the wheels placed so close to the corners of the car, makes it feel like a go-cart in the corners!

The interior is very ugly and simple, and it's very noisy inside the car. But all of this bad things make the car having a personality. And with a personality follows a charm.

I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

28th Dec 2007, 20:46

So if you love it how come you put a blue bad face on it?

4th Mar 2008, 09:17

Is it really that good? How come I got here when I searched for it in Google?

1979 Autobianchi A112 Elegance 1.0 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6700 kilometres
Most recent distance7600 kilometres

Summary:

Love at first sight

Faults:

Got all breaking equipment renewed.

General Comments:

For about €500, it is a special car. It is my 3rd A112, and I hope I can make this one last forever. The big advantage of this car is that is always runs, no matter how cold, wet or hot.

Oh, mine has a special feature, a real Abarth steering wheel, let´s go carting!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

20th Sep 2002, 21:09

My dad spent almost €3000 restoring an A112 to concours condition in order to use it around town...It's done 20000 km since then and normally spends more time at the garage than on the road...Electrics, Engine, Cooling system, you name it...Dad's lucky enough to be chauffeured to work (in a Suzuki Baleno!!!). If he wasn't, he 'd have a BIG problem!

Please delete that when editing (unless you think it's really relevant) : I 've got to state that I work for jaguar (though I 'd rather be on the dole- no commercial interests present!)

1983 Autobianchi A112 Junior 903 cc from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 903 cc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres

Summary:

Tiny 'bianchi handles like a sports car

Faults:

Seats are wearing.

Radiator leaking a bit.

General Comments:

For a small car with a tiny engine its performance is quite good.

It handles really easily and on the motorway taking over is no problem at all.

The comfort is the bare minimum although four people fit in with a bit of squeezing.

The engine uses just a bit of fuel, like 6 liter/100 km.

Even in freezing cold starting the engine goes surprisingly well.

Maintenance costs are virtually none, although spare parts are hard to get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

27th May 2003, 13:47

After searching for quite some time, I've found out that there is no problem getting spare parts. http://www.bielstein.com has all the parts you would ever need...!

18th Jun 2004, 08:10

It's true that A112-specific parts (= body & trim) are getting very rare.

But the car is essentialy a Fiat 127, for which you can easily (and very cheaply) find every mechanical part ;-)

1983 Autobianchi A112 Abarth 1050 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1050 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carAutobianchi A112

Summary:

It is a great driver's car against low costs

Faults:

Leaking gas tank.

Exhaust pipe.

Broken carburettor.

RUST!

General Comments:

Car is very quick, especially in the second stage of the carburettor!

The car handles very good in quick long turns.

The car is very fuel efficient.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2001

1979 Autobianchi A112 Abarth 1050 from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1050 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance188000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Handles like a go-cart, goes like a rocket! Rusts!

Faults:

Complete clutch failure; Alternator broke; Carburettor broke; Headlights; Ignition sensor; Fuel pump; Thermostat twice;

General Comments:

A very good car vhen it comes to performance and handling, but when you look at the rust you get sick. Not the most reliable car, but at least it is cheap to service and everyone can repair it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 01:54

The best thing about the A112 Abarth is... second gear! It can take almost any car up to 1.4 litres on second gear! And it is also quite easy to modify! And what was that about handling? All the fun is going sideways.

Anybody know a company that does body kits for the A112 Abarth? Please reply to timosc@hotmail.com

Thanks!

17th Jul 2001, 11:18

I'm about to buy an Autobianchi A 112 with the less powerful 58HP engine. Do you think 826,64 euros is a good price? The engine runs good, but there is a bit of rust at the doors (nice colours: red car with black hood).

For the price of 1180,91 euros I get the same car with the 70HP engine, is it worth the money?

SanderHertoghs@hotmail.com

17th Sep 2002, 22:50

Get the Abarth engine, if you can. Whatever the cost! If you do not like it, it is always a good investment. Here in Denmark it cost from a 1000 euros and up wards, even in mediocre condition. Because of the crankshaft, the connection rods, the cylinder head and the rocker box with its integral manifold for the double-carburettor (get that too!), it is what the Cooper-engine is for the BMC A!

27th Feb 2004, 05:54

Believe it or not, this man that wrote this review bought another A112 Abarth in January 2004!

NOW THAT IS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT!

29th Jun 2005, 19:19

A beautiful car, if a little complicated when it comes to reliability. Fun to the extreme I used to street race one in Athens, great fun, if anyone knows the official 0-60mph please contact me!

Sativ27@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews