2005 Bajaj RE 2S 3 seater from India - Comments

1st Oct 2006, 23:19

You should be blessed by abundant sense of humour to read this. In Indonesia, such bajaj is famous for its venerable history as an urban transport cart, not a car. Travelling distance is about 10 miles at most and the speed is around 30 km/h. No need for air-con since the cabin leaks at all joints. No need for stereo since the engine screams like an F-16. Anyway, I respect the idea and bravery.

7th Nov 2006, 18:21

If 35 Km/h it's a "pocket rocket" I can't imagine the slow cars in India. LOL.

11th Feb 2007, 15:22

This is an absolutely hilarious review! It is understandable about the cicumstances at which these vehicles are driven however, Those guys who own pocket bikes can go twice the speed of the Bajaj. I personally would enjoy owning one of these cars because I like the novelty aspect and would probably end up driving it to my sister's wedding. Good review!

2nd Apr 2007, 20:22

I love this! The bit about the stolen windshield did it for me.

Tell you what: My old Mercedes-Benz 6.9 has a cracked windshield. I'll send you the broken one after I have it replaced. :)

5th Apr 2008, 22:19

You know, I really do have a hard time believing this review. Since when did Bajaj auto rickshaws come with leather seats? Seriously, this is a cheap 1950's-tech 2-stroke Indian car, the thing the new Tata Nano seeks to displace. Also, the emphasis on speed very much seems played up. Also, people who own a Bajaj tend to be lower class and less educated. They probably wouldn't have impeccable English vocabulary, and for that matter, very few would have access to the Internet. Lastly, I'm not sure how anyone could not be furious at a car which eats four head gaskets in 11,000 miles. A typical modern Western car is considered bad if it makes a practice of having ANY serious engine failure before the first 100,000 miles! A Dacia 1300 or even a Trabant is more reliable than you described!

13th Jun 2008, 06:21

The review needs to be removed. The experience of the guy who wrote the review is not real. He is just making fun out of peoples curiosity.

11th Jul 2008, 09:30

I disagree. This is a story of 'real motoring' harking back to the days of Mr Toad when driving was life or death and the pilots of such death traps were heroes!

My Indian poster, I salute you, you are a hero and I award you the George Cross for Gallantry in the face of extreme danger!

Little drum roll and play the Indian National anthem.

By the way, are the mobile suicide machines exported to Europe or are Europeans not hard enough?

24th Aug 2009, 09:56

All in all, this review is amusing. You fixed the gearbox for less than 4 bucks, and replace the windshield for less than 20 bucks. Wow, that is a superb solution for the poor to afford a car (?). I bet your ownership cost is much cheaper than a chihuahua.

Anyway, you'd better write a review about Tata's car or any other well equipped Indian cars available nowadays. I respect India for "down to ground" technology and I believe, India is not that bad at all, I am saying that it is not as bad as your reviewed car (?)

16th Apr 2010, 17:32

Come on people, the review is obviously written with tongue firmly in cheek.

Very entertaining though (runs on both petrol and diesel!).

Mr Reviewer, I take my hat off to you.

9th Apr 2013, 16:20

I have rode in a Bajaj in Indonesia. Yes, they are basically like motorised rickshaws. I think they are fun to ride in. Quite convenient.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site