BMW 2002 Reviews

1974 BMW 2002 2.0 M10 from Thailand

Model year1974
Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 M10 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance240500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Harrier

Summary:

Fun and charismatic; not eye-catching though

Faults:

Mine wasn't exactly a love at first sight; the previous owner didn't maintain the exterior or interior. But got it with a decent price at $4000 USD (considered a bargain in Bangkok), then spend $300 USD refurbished the roof linen, new cover for the old Recaro seats front and back, 2nd hand wooden steering wheel, replaced all light bulbs with lead type. Not to mention, wax and polished, and oil changes.

It drives like a little go-kart; fun and lots of charisma. However, I have heard a "hum" when accelerating in 4th. Suspect the differential problem, replaced oil, but noise remains... cross my fingers.

Not so sure how long I am keeping it... maybe a couple of years... but it is a fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2010

1973 BMW 2002 Weber 40 DCOE 2.0L 4-cylinder from North America

Model year1973
Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired184271 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Beautiful slip angles! Power and Glory!

Faults:

Nothing has "gone wrong".

I have chosen to perform maintenance as indicated, as well as to make a few upgrades of my choosing.

For example, I replaced the 32/36 Weber downdraft with twin Weber 40 DCOE sidedrafts. I mounted these using an intake manifold from a 2002 ti additional BMW parts. It also has an exhaust manifold from a twin-carb '02 ti. Momo Prototipo steering wheel with momo 152 hub (NLA).

General Comments:

Strictly by the numbers, this car isn't the fastest car on the road today. No matter, for the BMW 2002 remains one of the greatest sports sedans of all time. With twin sidedraft Webers, acceleration is instantaneous. On one hand, with properly tuned DCOEs, one can expect docile performance and good gas mileage when needed. On the other hand, one can expect fantastic throttle response, 4-wheel drifts, and poor gas mileage when wanted. The choice is yours...

Well sorted BMW 2002s are very reliable and very fun to drive. Parts are reasonable and readily available via the Internet and cost of maintenance is ridiculously cheap. Just start with the best foundation you can find and afford (e.g., low rust, good records, etc.). There are some great books and websites for zero-two owners out there. You are not alone...

Including what I originally paid for the car, I have only spent $9800 -- including all subsequent upgrades. At that price, no other driver on the planet is having as much fun behind the wheel as I am. The BMW 2002: One of the greatest cars ever at any price! Why suffer? Valhalla awaits!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

14th Apr 2009, 12:32

Right on, Valhalla certainly does await those who battle against the bewildered herd of mediocrity! I am one of those who once parted with a 2002, only to regret it forever... you speak the Truth, brother!

1973 BMW 2002 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Awesome handling, quick, fun, simple to work on classic

Faults:

Rust!

Passenger side frame rail rusted through.

Floor pans rusted.

General Comments:

Always loved these cars. Picked this one up from the east coast (mistake). Mechanically excellent and reliable.

One day when jacking up car to mess with the shifter linkage, passenger side frame rail went through the floor.

Before this, I had a ball driving this car, and have recently picked up an earlier model rust free shell (71, roundie) and am in the process of transferring all the components from my 74 to the 71.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2008

1972 BMW 2002 2.0 from North America

Model year1972
Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1972
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

True love

Faults:

Lots of stuff broke on this car... none of it _ever_ left me stranded. I was always able to limp home.

General Comments:

My 02 was the best car I ever had. My parents bought it new in 1972 and I started driving it while in highschool. The engine was rebuilt at around 100,000 miles and I put another 150,000 miles on it. It was an old car, so things broke. But I have never loved a machine except for my 02. Keeping it going was like keeping a member of the family alive. I'm looking for a new one now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2007

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews