BMW 2002 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1976 BMW 2002 from North America

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carBMW M3

Summary:

This car is a fun attention getter

Faults:

California emissions had to go.

Seats are shot, tears, springs are gone.

Heater blower motor does not work.

General Comments:

The 2002 is a hoot. I own a tweaked '98 M3 which has all or most of the power and handling anyone would want, yet I drive the '76 2002.

The 02 is a work in progress. Installed headers and free flow exhaust, which sounds throaty. It has a Webber 2 barrel downdraft carberator. I put Bilsteins in the rear, the Bilstein fronts go on soon. 205/60x13's on 320i wheels. I also have a 320i 5spd in another 76' parts car which will go in over the winter. Pocket book willing I may send the engine out for some serious horsepower gains.

Did I mention this is a rust free car, as is my parts car. If I had the money I would restore that one also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2006

1975 BMW 2002 2.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1980
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

I wish I never sold it

Faults:

Manual transmission thrust bearing broke apart at 78,000 miles. This was attributed to not changing the transmission fluid at a frequent interval (I did not change it when I bought the car.) Down shifting into second gear becomes difficult as the brass synchronizing rings wear. I was able to rebuild the transmission myself using the full service manuals as a guide.

Since the transmission was apart, I rebuilt the engine using new components where possible. The engine was easy to rebuild.

Original head valve guides have a knurled surface without seals. Wear causes leakage resulting in smoke upon engine start. This can be fixed using new guides with rubber seals.

Guibo fitting linking the transmission to the drive shaft can become loose over time.

Floor mounted pedal assembly can get gummy causing accelerator pedal to stick.

Straw used in seats wears out over time.

General Comments:

I loved the car and was very sad on the day that I had to sell it. The car was black with tan interior and had a sunroof. The sunroof was very large for a car of this size, window area is amazing.

The car was made to be taken apart and put back together easily.

I replaced the original springs with lowered versions. I also increased the tire size. The handling was much improved.

I also used the 2002tii exhaust manifold, and removed much of the emissions objects and never had a problem passing New York inspections.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

11th Sep 2006, 18:58

I made the same mistake and sold mine 5 years ago. I should have known it was a mistake when it sold on the first call sight unseen. They are becoming increasingly hard to find due to the rust issues so when I found a rust free one last year I snapped it up even with no engine. Fast, fun, cheap to fix, and simple to work on. What could be better. FYI the "straw" in the seats is called "Gummihaar". I just love saying that word! find another one, join the BMWCCA, and stock up on undercoating.

12th Sep 2006, 11:12

I own an impreza, but I must admit to finding this car intriguing, it looks very odd, but it must be one of the first fast saloons with a 2.0 turbo engine. I think it has about 170 BHP doesn't it? whats it like to drive? does it feel very fast? it must be quite a bit lighter than todays 2.0 turbo saloons. Did this come out before any of the BMW M models? must have.

20th Jan 2007, 16:56

I know of a decent 2002 sitting in a yard. Not sure if running... probably not.

Any help as to contacting the owner and what to offer?

Thanks,

Shenton.

2nd Apr 2007, 14:44

I sold my 75 2002 and regret it even now 25 years later.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews