1982 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1982 BMW 3 Series 1.6 from Finland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin A40

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

Rightmost front brake cylinder replaced and also all brake lines.

Brake master cylinder's rubber seals replaced.

Fuel line replaced and fuel tank leaks a bit.

Head gasket replaced and valves have been grind.

Front windshield replaced.

General Comments:

I like my little BMW, it might not be the finest and fastest, but it's mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

1982 BMW 3 Series from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance10900 miles

Summary:

A fun, sporty car that is a great bargain

Faults:

Not a lot wrong with the car.

Is missing a BMW center piece off the right front wheel.

Had sat for 2 years before I purchased it, tank is full of dead gas and the paint is faded a little.

Something has worked loose on the engine, more than likely the valve cover, but I have not checked since I just bought the car 3 days ago.

Is in need of a new set of tires, right rear is badly dry rotted from long exposure to the sun.

General Comments:

Car runs great for a four cylinder, pulls steep hills in high gear.

Has all the original tools and the BMW first aid kit that doubles as a pillow.

Interior is in great shape except for a few cracks in the dash.

Is red with charcoal interior.

5-speed transmission.

Has a busted left speaker in the rear and stereo has been replaced by the first owner.

Interior is very comfortable with no rips in the seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

1982 BMW 3 Series 316 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

As good a car as I could have dreamed of

Faults:

Rust round the wheel arches (fixed in 1994 but came back).

Rusted sills (rockers) welded 2001 for MOT test (Scottish roads very salty!)

Exhausts every 2-3 years.

Rear sub-frame mounting bushes.

Front springs replaced (106,000 miles in March 2000).

Brake discs (90000 miles +).

Drivers seat badly worn.

Both petrol tanks leaking (2000).

Radiator replaced.

Hazard light switch replaced (twice).

Carb jet loosened (38,000 miles).

Water pump beginning to drip (110,000 miles).

Anti-roll bar bushes keep wearing out. This is the only unnecessary and irritating fault that it really has.

Beginning to use oil. Probably valve stem oil seals (100,000+ miles).

Oil leak from a fuel pump flange.

General Comments:

This car has been a dream for reliability in the ten years that we owned it.

All the faults have been minor and fixable. It is a wonderful car to work on, everything is well laid out and it has lots of nice touches to facilitate easy maintenance.

Runs beautifully even at 18 years old and 113,000 miles.

Having owned a Fiesta before it, this car felt powerful and fast, though it is actually a little underpowered for its size. Ideally get a five speed box and a bigger, fuel injected engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

7th Mar 2001, 14:40

The great thing with the E30 BMW is the styling and dash layout, also there are loads in the scrapyards now so they are cheap to buy and run, with parts easily available from the scrap man.

I drove mine for 5 years until it finally died with a cracked head at 304,000 miles. Was uneconomical to repair so I moved on to an E36. Still miss the 'old girl' though!!

Anyone with a Nova or Fiesta, get rid and get an E30 (84-91) BMW. You don't know what you're missing!!

19th Apr 2001, 19:31

The E30s of the 80s are excellent cars if they have been taken care of. They are very efficient, fast, and sporty, especially for cars of the 80s. Since they are cheap to buy and cheap to repair, I'd recommend getting one of these before a new car. They are lots of fun. I had an '84 318i, which provided me with a lot of fun driving.

22nd Sep 2002, 05:45

This car was given to me in 2001 by the owner who wrote the review above - I used it for a year and had nothing go wrong until one month before the MOT was due - then the clutch started to go and the brakes were becoming poor.

It was sadly beyond my budget to repair, but it was a true dream of a car and in the spirit I'd been given it, I passed it on to a neighbour who had plans to restore it. Sadly he moved away soon after and I don't know what became of it - but nonetheless, this 316 gave me the best year's motoring I've ever had! If anyone wants to give me another... ;-)

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews