1985 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.8 from North America


Very good learning experience


Replaced back tires.

I had to replace a loose alternator belt.

One hose leaked, so I replaced all the hoses.

Had to replace the water pump.

Drivers side door makes a weird noise when opened and closed.

Front passenger side window works when it wants to.

Chrome molding around the driver's side door fell off.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and unfortunately it has had me on the side of the road three times. Two out of the three problems (leaky hose, disconnected battery cable) were remedied while on the road and only once (failed water pump) did I have to have it towed to a mechanic. I have learned a lot about cars this year.

I love the way the car handles turns.

I'm still not used to the loud European engine.

This car still looks good inside and out, despite its age. You can tell its quality is better than a lot of cars that are newer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

9th Dec 2003, 23:25

The loud engine may be a leak in the exhaust header or down pipe; my '84 is reasonably quiet. The hitch in the driver's side door is probably a check strap in need of grease, or in some cases, with a broken mounting.

28th Aug 2004, 14:56

My passenger window also only worked when it wanted to. I pulled and disconnected the switch from the middle console and cleaned it with alcohol and now it works like a dream.

1985 BMW 3 Series ie inline 6 (added turbo) from North America


Perfection...sheer perfection


None other than the traditional maintenance. I have never seen a car so perfect in my life. I was expecting a few electrical problems maybe even a major engine problem, but none of the sort occurred. The performance is excellent and the turning radius isn't bad. Fuel economy is sub-par, nothing special. Seats are very comfortable, but tiring after long drives and the manual transmission shift with great ease.

General Comments:

Nothing more to say than the most perfect car in the world, I know what your thinking, car from the 80's is actually good? Well this one sure is. If you have the means of picking one up, please do so as they are very pleasant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

1985 BMW 3 Series 325e 2.6 6 cylinder from North America


BMW 325e Pride!


Blown Out Speakers - Replaced with aftermarket speakers.

Busted Radio Deck - Replaced twice with after market deck.

Clutch - Raced and slammed too hard on clutch, replaced cheaply for $300.

Exhaust - Sounded better with a hole in the pipe, gave it some personality.

Starter Wire - Just died at one light about 3 miles away from home, cost $250 for parts and labor.

Seats - Leather had ripped, put some racing seats in for a more comfortable ride.

Central Locking System - Haven't fixed it yet, could be a motor problem.

General Comments:

Besides being 17 years old, it is reliable. Fixing parts is annoying, but I have seen more cars need this many replacements after 5 years. I drive fast and furious, end results for a 17 year old car. It'll always need more work, but its always fun to improve on a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

5th Apr 2008, 22:28

It's a 2.7 liter engine!

1985 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.8 Liter from North America


A long living wonder


This is a great little car. It was given to me by a family member and for how many miles it has on it still runs great. It has a oil leak and the bottom part of the engine covered in oil. I plan to have this fixed soon.

General Comments:

The car handles very well and it also has good acceleration. I'm going to try and keep it running all the way to 400,000 miles if I can. The seats and all are still in tact and are very comfortable. Its still a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

1985 BMW 3 Series 325e 2.7 L 6 cylinder from North America


Unbeatable as a daily driver, or commuter car


Only wear-and-tear items... no breakdowns!

General Comments:

Needs a lot of routine & preventative maintenance only because it's 16 years old. But it's built like a tank, and has never left me stranded. I highly recommend this car, especially if there's an INDEPENDENT mechanic in your area who specializes in BMWs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

1985 BMW 3 Series 323i 2.3 injection straight six pet from UK and Ireland


All electrical items a bit dodgy, such as windscreen wipers, wing mirrors, sunroof, windows.

Auto gearbox failed, rebuilt and just failed again (c£1,000 a time).

Coolant sensor light remains on constantly. Trip computer had 3 new boards and still doesn't work!

General Comments:

Good firm ride and confidence boosting acceleration. Nice size car handling brilliantly.....until it rains! Petrol economy on long runs is good but guzzles petrol on in-town motoring.

Debating another 2nd hand BMW or an Audi (50/50).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 1998

18th Dec 2001, 05:28

Head cracked twice, rear suspension noisy, diff bearings failed. A lemon.