1989 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1989 BMW 3 Series 320i SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Good solid fast car, full of character

Faults:

The Chassis bushes needed replacing for the M.O.T this cost around £180, when it was done the car drove better.

Now it needs a new front half of the exhaust for this years M.O.T which is costing £120.

General Comments:

This car is quite fast compared to my previous car, but it can be a bit of a handful in the wet or ice.

Its engine is fantastic and sounds very well encouraging you to stay in lower gears.

It is suffering from rust now and I think this will be its last year with me, but then it is 15 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

14th Feb 2004, 11:47

Hi yeah I agree they are a bit of a handful in the wet. I went around a bend when it was a bit greasy and ended up in a field. I'm a bit more careful now, although I did get of lightly with very little damage. Steve.

1989 BMW 3 Series 320i SE 2.0 injection straight 6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance126500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

When I got the car the central locking didn't work, then it did and then it stopped completely about a month ago. I have bought a new control unit, but this didn't fix it so I have given up.

The engine has cut out a few times usually whilst breaking or accelerating hard.

I put a large dent in the back door when I was closing it,

General Comments:

The car is great fun to drive with loads of power and speed.

You can put the power on very early in a corner because it is rear wheel drive.

The tail can slide and you can spin it in the wet if care is not taken due the lack of traction control.

It is very comfortable at high speed on motorways and will still pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

1989 BMW 3 Series 316i 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 600

Summary:

This car is solid sporty, safe, and very satisfying

Faults:

Clutch Master and slave cylinder at 100K, Radiator at 120K, Fuel pump at 170k.

General Comments:

For a 1600 cc car this is very reliable reasonably nippy, handles well, and still looks as good as when it was new. It looks good even beside much newer cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

1989 BMW 3 Series 325is 2.5 litre inline 6. from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre inline 6. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Fast, fun and practical!

Faults:

The car had an intermittent problem where the engine would cut out at 2000 rpm

The idle was rough and the car started missing very badly throughout the driving range. It all turned out to be a bad fuel transfer pump.

General Comments:

This car is a beautiful example of fine German engineering.

It handles like nothing I've ever driven before. The acceleration and speed of it is just amazing, and that sound the exhaust makes under hard acceleration... it's too good for words.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2003

1989 BMW 3 Series 325i convertible 2.5 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol injection Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carSubaru Justy

Summary:

Best £2,000 ever spent

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it since I've owned it although when I bought it a lot of things weren't working, e.g. check computer, speedometer service lights, fog lights, electrical aerial. I have put new tyres on it and had a bit of welding done where the windscreen washer reservoir had been leaking. I also changed the cam-belt and rear pads and have given it three oil changes.

The oil sump plug was leaking badly this was helicoiled the rear shocks and tyres need replacing and a dent pulling where a motor bike went into the side of me. So at the moment it is resting in the garage.

General Comments:

Very quick fun with the roof down would recommend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

1989 BMW 3 Series 318i saloon 1.8L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Only enthusiastic drivers need apply for over steer heaven

Faults:

Just a scheduled cylinder head rebuild.

Rear suspension has been converted to 325is spec with rear disk brakes.

The shocks were replaced with a sports koni suspension kit.

The ride is bad, but handling great.

General Comments:

The car is light and nimble, and handles perfectly in the dry, but it is a different story in the wet where although controllable at lower speeds, over steer becomes difficult to control at speeds above 40-50mph.

It can scare unsuspecting passenger and pedestrians with its intoxicating mix of revs, rubber and squealing.

The car has super hard springs and therefore although it has good grip in dry and can be unpredictable over puddles, bobbles and ridges because the car doesn't soak the bumps up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

31st Oct 2002, 09:18

This review is a masterpiece with serious comments with a slight twist of humour, garnished with enthusiasm.

Over steer comments are always welcome.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 42 reviews