1994 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 6 of 12

1994 BMW 3 Series i SE 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Exhaust needed replaced as soon as I got it, but I new this before sale. The radiator needed replaced sooner after.

Also the bit that connected the radiator pipe to the engine corroded. Cheap replacement, but took a week to get the part in.

Sometimes it overheats in heavy traffic.

General Comments:

Even though I've had to do a bit of work since I bought it, I love this car. It's a great drive, feels nice and has enough power for me. The overheating in traffic is a bit of an annoyance, but nothing that bad. Considering that it's a 10-year old car, it's great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

10th Dec 2004, 08:50

Regarding the overheating in traffic problem, replacing the radiator fan switch will fix the problem. As your radiator fan has two speeds, the first speed may not be working.

My advice is to change the internal/engine fan clutch as well.

E36 316i, Beirut-Lebanon.

1994 BMW 3 Series 318 iS Sedan 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance127000 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Love it and wished I had had a BMW years ago

Faults:

Battery required replacing - normal wear for age.

Minor leak in a heater hose in engine bay - simple fix.

General Comments:

Handles brilliantly, precise steering and little body roll.

Impressive brakes.

The sports / economy switch changes the gear change points and transforms the car accordingly.

Very comfortable (leather option) and well appointed with a very well thought out cabin design and functionality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2004

1994 BMW 3 Series IA Coupe 1.6 M43 from Lebanon

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 M43 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

An attractive fun-to-drive car for a young man who enjoys sporty cruises

Faults:

Had to replace the rear shock mounts a week later from purchase.

Squeaky from inside.

Dash board and date/time indicator has dimmed digit light.

Windows pull down an inch when I open the 2 doors.

Door panels need new mounts.

Once, air got trapped into the coolant circuit which caused overheating.

General Comments:

I always wanted to buy this car, it is built like a rock and made to last.

It can be so easily tuned in case you feel it's kind of slow.

Excellent gas mileage.

Great handling and fun to drive, especially if you switch it to sport mode.

If you have the experience, you can fix almost anything related to this car by yourself.

And oh, IT'S A BMW!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

23rd May 2004, 15:48

"Windows pull down an inch when I open the 2 doors"

That isn't a negative thing, it's a design feature, "they all do that"

28th May 2004, 04:00

I didn't know that, thanks for the info.

At first I thought it was a common problem, not a common design.

1994 BMW 3 Series 318is coupe 1.8 from Finland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Cool, but affordable coupe

Faults:

Minor idle problems with cold engine, should be easy to fix by cleaning the idle control valve.

General Comments:

Very nice and comfortable interior where everything is at correct place. Even the back seats are usable even though it's a 2-door coupe.

This is a good-looking coupe and the body design does not seem old for a 10 year old car.

Excellent handling, fun to drive on a curvy road.

The higher output (than the normal 318i) "IS" engine (140 hp) gives the car quite good performance even though you have to use high rpm to achieve it.

The engine is also quite economical as it consumes only 6-7 L/100km on a highway. In city the consumption is around 10L/100km. Not bad for a 1300 kg car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

23rd Feb 2006, 11:48

My name is Diego del Pozo, I´m From Argentina, I have a 1994 318 is and I love it! It really consumes as a smaller car.. I´m amazed when I drive from Buenos Aires to Mar del Plata (almost 500 km) and it burns only half a tank! Very powerful, but I think it´s true.. She loves to work in high revolutions, 3000 and above suits perfect for sportive driving.. I got 210 Km / h (as I saw) Perfect car! and well designed car!

23rd Feb 2006, 17:18

My friends were getting major work done on their 92 318i at the BMW dealership and got a 2006 325i as a loaner. I drove the loaner yesterday and, honestly, I would take their 318i over it, even with its high mileage.

The new BMW felt very very heavy and not as nimble as the 318i, and many of the controls were awkwardly placed.

Too bad, as I will probably never buy a 3 series again and I have had four.

318i is one of the best BMWs they ever made.

29th Dec 2006, 08:29

I have a 94 318 IS coupe navy blue with grey interior. I have had many problems with the car recently, the main being that something keeps draining the battery and consequently dies every morning without fail!!! When working I do agree with past posts and comments that the car does require high revving which can be a bit annoying at times, but it's a great drive never the less...

2nd Mar 2008, 17:40

Hey, i have a 1994 318is and man let me tell you. I have never had a problem it has 14500 miles on it and still runs great, and don't burn a lot of fuel. I drive this car about 115 miles a day to work. I mean this I have never touch this car mechically at all. I do put a bottle of marvel mysteried oil in it every oil change. any question fill free to call me at 904-647-9099.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 42 reviews