1995 BMW 3 Series 318i 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

The ultimate dream convertible

Faults:

Nothing other than the ignition doesn't register all the time. Also if you try to start the ignition too, fast the key spins.

General Comments:

I absolutely LOVE my car. Even though I had a 2003 Maserati Spider, I was looking for a normal person's car that wouldn't be so high maintenance. This has definitely fit my expectations, and even in this car I get looks.

My car is a convertible - the interior is in perfect condition, meaning that this car is very durable. I put the M3 kit on it and it's now 100% a jaw dropper.

I love this car more than my Maserati. I would love to buy another 1995 BMW convertible along with this one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2008

24th Nov 2010, 15:04

I am selling my 1995 cherry red BMW 318i with spoiler and sports package, and I don't know why. I only have 95,000 miles on it, and the newer BMWs aren't made like the good older ones. Why am I selling it? I must be crazy. It gets looks, and looks shiny and new!

26th Nov 2010, 08:46

Keep it.

1995 BMW 3 Series 325is 2.5L from North America

Summary:

Overpriced new, but a bargain used

Faults:

Muffler rusted through @ 85K miles.

Plastic interior pieces cracked @ 50K miles.

Headliner unglued @ 105K miles.

Door lock actuators broke every year it seems.

Break light circuit switch malfunctions once a year.

Coolant expansion tank cracked at 120,000 miles.

Front strut busted at 90,000 miles.

Minor leaks on valve cover gasket at 115000 miles.

Burned out dashboard lights- 85,000 miles.

Belt tensioners went bad at 80,000 miles

Control arm bushings replaced at 75000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall a good car. I bought it in 2002 with 48,000 miles. I drove until May 2008 and had 125,000 miles. A drunk driver plowed into the car and totaled it. Thankfully, no one was hurt. These cars are well built structurally.

Gets very good highway miles. Driving under 70mph on the interstate I would get over 30mpg. Over the life of the car (since 2002) it averaged about 23mpg.

The plastic parts do not last- Especially any plastic trim pieces exposed to sunlight. UNSAT!

Superb brakes! Handles very good. Excellent steering feel.

BMWs are not made to last any longer. They are very nice cars, but I would hate to own one beyond the waranty period. BMW's prior to the 90s were built to last and used high quality trim pieces. Newer cars- starting with the E36 build, used poor quality plastic trim and questionable material for mechnical parts.

The GM designed 4 speed automatic is prone to failure. If you have a 5spd manual, nothing to worry about. The automatics were difficult to service and not an easy task to accomplish at home. Mine made it to the end. But I made sure to replace tranny fluid every 30K miles as the book recommends.

Regular maintenence is easy, and for the most part all of my money was sunk into this area. The car never left me stranded. So I must admit it's completely reliable in my case.

I was only very disappointed with the quality of materials used in the car and some of the exterior trim. I did not replace these parts, simply because replacement parts didn't last and most were too expensive to justify replacing. I simply sunk my money in preventative maintenence and left it at that.

I loved the rear wheel drive and wish everyone would go back to it. I think it's one of the reasons the BMW is such a good handling car. Only wish mine had a limited slip differential.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2008

31st May 2008, 09:55

After owning 2 e30 325 models, I must agree, after the e30, the newer bmw's just don't offer the refinement that the older ones did.

Great review!

10th Jun 2008, 22:53

Umm, mine is also a '94, has 151,000 miles now, and it still looks new. I have not had any interior trim issues. The door panels and dash covers are made with much more durable materials than you will find in earlier BMWs. One nice thing about this interior is that you can use Armor-All without it feeling slick later on because the materials are well-textured and absorb the stuff pretty well. The only interior issue I have is that the glove box has a very faint rattle. Most people do not even notice it, but I do since I'm always in the car!

The suspension problems you mentioned were VERY premature. I replaced my shocks at 140,000 but have yet to replace any bushings, control arms, etc. All that still checks out fine when I go into the garage for oil changes, which is all this car ever seems to need. Well, I'm glad you survived the crash and I hope you will consider another BMW as they are terrific!

19th May 2009, 14:58

I bought my 325i three years ago with 164k miles on it, and it's been such a great car. Besides regular maintenance it's had no problems. It's got 191k miles on it now and it still drives great.