2005 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.5 from North America


Short of an M3, best go-cart on the road!


Have driven it like I stole it since it passed it's break in period and it needed a quart of oil prior to 1st scheduled oil change.

General Comments:

Short of an M3, best go-cart on the road!

Love this car!

Driving enthusiast must get the manual...

I can beat a motor cycle off the line and it corners like a demon.

Heated seats are awesome.

Wish I had the built in ipod system and up graded speakers like in the 2006.

Gorgeous styling

Seat tracks need to be a bit longer for shorter legs. My calf muscles are getting a good work out with the clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2005

2nd Nov 2005, 19:59

Slow for a 2.5.

31st Dec 2005, 18:59

The Honda s2000 produces 240 hp out of 2 litres and is a 4 cylinder too.

Bmw are overrated and overpriced.

7th Feb 2006, 02:08

S2000 aka the "Torqueless Wonder"

15th Mar 2006, 21:50

The S2000 is designed for people who want a light, fast, no-frills (no comfort) toy. The BMW 3 is designed for people who want a sporty car that they can actually live with every day. Now, a base 325i starts at $30K, the S2000 is the same money, and although it is faster, I would skip over to the BMW dealer in a heartbeat for the sake of utility. Hondas are good cars too, but they do different things for different people. Happy motoring all :).

14th Nov 2006, 00:45

BMW straight sixes deliver refinement and torque that you will not find elsewhere relative to the engine capacities. Honda engines produce more power relative to capacity using a V Tech system, but they thrive on revs (up to 9,000 rpm) rather than torque, and are not as refined as the BMW straight six. Either way it is good to be comparing engines from arguably the two finest engine manufacturers in the world today. Interestingly BMW and Honda are two of the few remaining independent car manufacturers and two of the most profitable!!

28th Dec 2007, 04:31

Try not to compare 2005 BMW 3-series (aka soccer mom sedan) to the S2000.

15th Apr 2009, 02:15

It's 3.0 liter, not 2.5. The latest generation of BMWs is no longer numbered according to displacement.

2005 BMW 3 Series 325 Convertible from North America


Still a good car, but less of an obvious leader


Roof operation extremely noisy.

Temperamental "Automatic" windshield wipers.

Rain gushes through open window at soft roof juncture.

General Comments:

Lots of new gadgets, such as parking radar, swivel rear view side mirror etc, but the quality construction and the craftsmanship have gone down. Still a safe car with good, if expensive, performance, but not as reliable as in the past.

A recent discussion with a BMW headquarters manager revealed a little known secret, i.e. reportedly the fact that many US bound cars are now made in South Africa, in a plant where Quality Control may not be as rigorous as in Germany.

At a time when Mercedes has undergone massive quality and image problems, but has addressed them successfully (says the NY Times on July 10, 2005), BMW might be inspired to take note before its image is really tarnished.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

22nd Oct 2005, 03:42

Mercedes Benz cars are also made in South Africa for export and it is BMW that has gained the better reputation for quality (in South Africa) in recent times.

14th Feb 2009, 22:30

Whats the maintenance costs? Since I read it was 5/10?

Oh yeah, does it cost more to maintain the convertible than the coupe?

15th Feb 2009, 16:16

When I went looking at 3 series recently, everyone one of them was labeled with where it came from, either Germany or South Africa. It was not at all hidden, very easy to find. It was a 50/50 mix in the lot I was looking in.

2005 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.5 from North America


This is far and away one of the finest automobiles I have owned


None so far and with the BMW warranty, it should be painless for at least a few years. After the warranty runs out, I will have to closely look at whether or not to keep the car. Parts are hugely expensive and the dealer costs are pricey.

General Comments:

As the 2005 3 series is the last of the generation, all the refinements over the years have come together to produce a great machine.

The level of performance exceeds all others in the same price range.

The quality of the build is more than I anticipated.

The reputation of BMW is well deserved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

11th May 2005, 19:01

Nice review on the 2005 BMW 325i. I have had a very similar experience. As the "new" 2006 3-Series were arriving, I was able to acquire a simple 2005 325i with a manual 5-Speed and the Sports package. This car has far exceeded my expectations.

While the interior room is a little cramped for someone 6'2" tall, the performance is beautiful. Simple, stable, strong and elegant, everything I wanted a BMW to be.