1986 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1986 BMW 5 Series 535i 3.3 Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

It is a excellent car, must drive one for yourself to see

Faults:

I had a problem with the rough idle and I fixed it with, putting in new injectors, which was very expensive.

I replace all the front end componet's, which cost me about a $1,000 dollars.

Had to replace the fuse box due to a bad gasket which aloud water to get in the box.

General Comments:

U can work on the car yourself, but I would recommend that you take it to a dealer to have major work done on this car. This will prevent you from getting lost in the mass confusion of wiring.

Love this car I drive it everyday I have people offer me money for all the time, but I tell them I love the little car to much to sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

18th Jan 2006, 07:12

Hey, how's it going? Love your comments. I drive a Bronzit Beige 1986 535i. It's a dream come true. Love the car to bits.

This car has great power for a vintage hehe. Love the inline 6, and love the power I get from it. It's a smooth drive, and I love leaving the sunroof open.

A few problems though; over heating issue, a few electrical problems, and my car takes a bit from my wallet on petrol hehe.

Anyway, take care, and great comment on the wonderful 5.

1986 BMW 5 Series 528e eta from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission eta Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired475000 miles
Most recent distance548000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Sporty Luxury Sedan that Never Dies

Faults:

Tie-Rods & Drag Link of Front Suspension, Muffler, Clutch Release Bearing, Door latches got a little sticky. Flex disk for drive shaft.

Most of this stuff after I put 70,000 on it.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, in a supportive way. Tough like a tank, runs forever...

Sporty handling- comfortable and in-control. Best car I ever owned, though maintenance is expensive when it is needed.

Mine died when a 16 year old ran a light and side-swiped it.

This car had been rear-ended 3 times over the course of it's millage and never required any repairs. The other cars were always totaled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

17th Apr 2004, 11:41

I had a 528e also, and when I was rear-ended by a Chevy Cavalier, I ended up with a scratch on the bumper. Of course, the Cav was totaled. hahahahaha!

16th Dec 2004, 15:58

I currently drive a 1986 535i; when it was recently rear ended by a new 3 series, the other car's front end was severely damaged, but all I had to contend with was scratches. These cars have 3 springs between the bumper and the body in order to absorb the shock, whereas most new ones have 2, one or even zero.

9th Nov 2006, 10:43

Regarding being rear-ended: take into account that as big as the rear bumper is, it only absorbs so much. Meaning, take a look UNDER the bumper - and I mean way under. The mounts/shocks are attached to a metal valence panel, and then continue to the spare tire well (left), and elsewhere on the right. If ever hit (over 2 mph.) carefully inspect what's happened way underneath, and behind. Most people and body-shops fail too look in these areas. What ends up happening during an impact is metal pushing against metal, which has not only dented the metal, but it has also weakened it and will more than likely rust. This is very common especially on the left support which will cause rot through the spare tire well. There's always more than meets the eye.

11th May 2007, 23:17

I have had a 1986 528e for over a year now. Bought it cheap for a daily driver and to leave at the office parking lot while I was away. After fixing the suspension arms (upgraded to 700 series bushings) it has been a good driver. Short shifting and keeping my foot out of it yields 30+ mpg regularly on cheap gas. Good room and a big trunk to haul stuff. Great utility car!

1986 BMW 5 Series 535i 3.5L inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired228000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

Sneaky fast and dependable to boot!

Faults:

Previous owners did extensive work on suspension and driveshaft. Immaculate records for car since first purchased indicate wonderful regular maintenance, In the short time I've owned the car, nothing has gone wrong at all... the idle is rough, but that is a characteristic of these cars. It will be time to change the brake fluid soon (recommended every year, it absorbs water and will play havoc on the lines), but only regular maintenance looms on the horizon.

General Comments:

Comfortable sportiness would be the best way to describe this car. It is quiet and reliable, and though the suspension is a little stiff, still rides very nicely. It really begins to shine on a twisty road... navigate corners at speeds that are silly to attempt with any North American sedan, and run at 140 kph without sacrificing comfort or scaring your passengers. Unfortunately I drive mostly city miles, but it is a treat to run the car on a mountain highway, it just begs you to challenge it. Also, the design team at BMW deserves a round of applause... all controls are conveniently located, there is plenty of room for adults in the back seat, the trunk has room enough to equip a small army, and the car does not look at all dated, even though it is 17 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

9th Nov 2006, 10:46

The US E28 535i is a 3.4 liter - not a 3.5.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews