1992 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1992 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

I would highly recommend this car to anyone

Faults:

I had to replace one coil pack because of a misfire problem.

I had to replace the transmission at about 170,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car. I've owned all types of sports cars and this car handles like a Mustang GT with room for the family. It still does not use any oil even at 200k miles.

It is also very safe. I hit a deer at 60 MPH and the car protected me and my family.

What more could a guy want, performance, safe, economical (28 mpg).

WOW!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

1992 BMW 5 Series 520i SE 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A Joy To Drive and A Pleasure To Own

Faults:

Viscous Coupling (at 56K)

Water Pump (at 70K)

Clutch Slave Cylinder (at 70K)

Brake Pipes & Track Rod Ends (67K)

SLIGHT rust (bubbling just below petrol tank, & front corner n/s/f/door) - To be remedied, although note that this car is cherished and garaged.

General Comments:

Beautiful Car, both in looks and running

Slightly underpowered at low speeds, as regards acceleration, although it's an awesome motorway car (constant 125mph without complaint, and it feels like 70!)

For a big 2.0 engine, this car returns between 26 and 35 mpg (29 is the usual "urban" return) therefore I consider it economical.

Not very expensive to run or service, parts no dearer (and sometimes cheaper) than most makes.

This car is 12 years old, and I've owned it for 6 (I bought it from the one previous private owner) - I can't see it not lasting another 12...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 16:52

I just bought one and wow, its great, prob actually next to a jag the nicest motorway cruiser I have ever had and if you wind up the revs it really takes off, does the MPG in though, totally sorted lovely piece of german engineering.

1992 BMW 5 Series SE 2.0 litre petrol Injection-6 cyclinder-24 valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre petrol Injection-6 cyclinder-24 valve Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Comfort and style costs, can you Really afford it?

Faults:

Water-pump, radiator, and thermostat re replaced every 30,000 miles at £250 a time. I live with very hard water apparently!!

New shock-absorbers, coil springs and brake disc's every 25,000 miles. cost £800 a time.

General Comments:

Having gone from a small 3-series 323i BMW 2-door saloon to a 5-series automatic BMW tourer it took a while to adjust to the loss of power.

I spend £1000's on replacing parts that wear out, but I have the car screaming and crying non-stop.

If ever you wanted a very comfy shed on wheels with a surge of extras and some power then you'll love this car.

I still get 45 miles-Per-Gallon at over 100,000 miles on my engine now so need I say more?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

1992 BMW 5 Series 525iSE 2.5 24v straight six from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 24v straight six Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Flashy motor that's cheap to buy (but not run)

Faults:

Head gasket blew (may have cracked head - still in garage)

Driver's door central locking motor not working.

Check control 'licence plate light' warning keeps coming on (somebody PLEASE tell me how to get rid of it)

Under heavy acceleration, engine seems to flat-spot a few times through the rev band (3, 3.5, 4k revs)

Engine vibrates at 2.5k revs for some reason?

Bit of valve-train ticking on cold start-up.

Cam-chain/vanos-chain chatter above 4k revs.

General Comments:

Overall a quality car for the money.

Supposed to be the most reliable BMW ever built - can't see it myself.

Note from 'zorst system sounds mint.

Drives very nicely.

Not impressed by coarse sounding engine and poor reliability (BMW reckon M50 engine is prone to cracking head)

When changing coolant PLEASE PLEASE only use BMW coolant. Spend few more pennies now - save lots of pounds later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

21st Jan 2002, 16:08

Good, interesting review. Do you use alt.autos.bmw in the Outlook Express newsgroups? Your input on the M50 engine problem would be very helpful.

Also try www.unixnerd.demon.co.uk for an excellent UK message forum. It's helped my with my 1993 E36 heaps of times.

22nd Jan 2002, 07:39

The dealer gets 3/10 for service. I wondered if this was from a franchised name? Because my experience of main BMW dealers is quite positive. Mercedes-Benz dealers on the other hand, well, they're another story. The last M-B dealer jetwashed the AMG badge off the back of my E-Class and didn't even tell me...

2nd Oct 2004, 13:29

BMW 525i se M50 engine you reckon prone to cracking cylinder head well the head on mine is cracked five hundred quid for reconditioned head plus fitting may be they are, but all I know is they are costly to run.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews