1995 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1995 BMW 5 Series 530i 3.0 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Sporty, luxurious, great looking German built chick magnet

Faults:

Very little so far, but I've only had it for a couple weeks.

General Comments:

This car is amazing... The powerful V8 engine makes me want to stomp on the gas all the time, the interior is full of leather and wood trim, and it looks so cool! I almost like it better than the new 5 Series.

Plus it's a great magnet for the chicks (not as much as a Porsche, mind you, but more than the Volvo that I used to have).

If you can find one for a bargain price ($16,000) like I did, or even if not, get it right away! This car is awesome, and the 540 is even better (skip the 525 though... it's way too weak).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

17th Jun 2004, 11:14

Try a 525i with a Dinan chip and manual transmission. I am getting much better gas mileage (24 city) than your 530i and still pushing 207 hp.

19th Feb 2006, 00:42

How old r you to. I'm just curious cause most teens can't afford 16,000. I'm 17 and bought a 540 for 15,000 but could only pay half so the parents helped me out cause I didn't want payments. The car is amazing and quick. I just worry about costs cause 100 bucks for an oil change is scary to me.

1995 BMW 5 Series 520i SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carBMW 520i

Summary:

Fantastic cruiser

Faults:

Gearbox mode indicator in the instument binnicle failed.

Rust on both front wings behind the front wheel arch.

Failed to start one morning.

General Comments:

I love these cars. Big, beautifully made and they still look great 13 years after launch.

Rust on my car is disappointing but will be fixed under warranty.

520i auto is tardy low down, but once the engine is breathing it flies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

20th Jul 2002, 12:08

I've a 520i 24v, it is a fantastic car! 150HP, 6 cylinders,... But one problem: it drinks a lot of liters of fuel! It is expensive to drive with it!

12th Sep 2002, 09:40

I've got a '93 520i SE touring, the best car I have ever driven - inc. a fast new Porsche. Solid with beautiful suspension and steering - it does things other big cars would kill you in - and its about as stylish and elegant as any car could be. BM ruined the 2nd series - too heavy -lost the sport element. I would have a 3liter next time for more autobahn use. Find a good one and its just smooth and dreamy. This shape is now collectible!

1995 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Extremely good performance, reliability and FUN at a premium cost

Faults:

One problem in 4.5 years repaired under warranty - left rear window motor replaced (became intermittent).

General Comments:

Fantastic car. Extremely good overall performance. Handling is exceptional, more than enough power, very good mileage. Fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2000

9th Sep 2001, 01:01

I would like to know the 0-60 MPH times for the 525i with the automatic transmission. Also if possible the top speed.

10th Jul 2009, 01:12

I'm not sure of the 0-60, but I do know that the top speed is governed at about 120 stock. If you get a transmission and engine chip from Dinan (or another after market manufacturing group) it takes it from about 120 to about 140 or so.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews