2000 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2000 BMW 5 Series 520i 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Above the rest, perfect

General Comments:

I used to own BMW 328I SE, 1998, but this car is so much more comfortable. I like the way it handles, looks, and drives. It's got more room in the boot, and the interior is well built. Feels like it's going to last forever. German quality; can't beat that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2005

2000 BMW 5 Series 530iSE 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

There's no better all rounder unless you're partial to holding tight on the very edge of a bend

Faults:

Nothing, in the 1 year 2 months & 25000 miles I've had it.

General Comments:

OK, it's the acknowledged king of the proper (not small) executive cars. And the king still rules. The young pretender to the throne is another Bangle bungle, at least in aesthetics.

But I'm not writing this to tell you it is handsome with real road presence, well put together, comfortable and refined, safe, fast (530i petrol manual makes 60mph (not 62mph) in 7 seconds), fairly spacious, not unreasonably expensive to run and a pleasure to own.

Actually, all I wanted to say is that while the SE is the best I've had for motorway driving, I wish I'd bought the Sport. I'm not that old and whilst the platform is as well balanced as expected, changes of direction in this car need relative restraint and a little decorum, for a BMW. A quick couplet of flicked turns generates body roll, wobble and ultimately under-steer (unless the road is wet). The Sport would have been better for my soul if worse for my bum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

2000 BMW 5 Series SE 3.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Great chasis,great engine, great ride, great car.

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Great car, a very smooth engine and much more performance than my 528i.

It has comfort seats which are among the best I've experienced.

It runs quietly and is a pleasure to drive.

The air conditioning (climate control) works, but is not to the standard expected on a car of this class.

It costs more to run that a 528 but I knew that when I bought it and I just wanted a V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

2000 BMW 5 Series 548i 6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carLexus GS300

Summary:

High performance, relatively expensive, only worth the price if you value performance over comfort

Faults:

Only problem is that the BMW phone does not support all the directory and dialer features on the display.

Rims easily damages, but this was my fault, going over a curb accidentally.

An intermittent rattle from the rear that could never be fixed. It eventually went away on its own.

General Comments:

The car performs very well, is easy to drive and handles superbly.

I find the seats not to be as comfortable as those on a previously owned Saab and Lexus. I am unable to sit high enough or as far back as I'd like, and when I get into a comfortable position the speedometer in not fully visible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

15th Nov 2009, 03:55

Hi there, I'm just interested in what Saab model you had and why you sold it? Cheers, SaabMan.

2000 BMW 5 Series 528i 2.8 litre gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 litre gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 230E

Summary:

As Britain's CAR Magazine said, quite possibly the best sports sedan ever!

Faults:

It has been incredibly reliable except for, and this is funny, the front cup holders. I never drink coffee, but friends of mine do. Their cups apparent spilled on the cup holder and caused both it and the fan switch to stick. Bizarre. You would think they would make the area around the cupholders liquid-proof. It was all covered under warranty, but if it wasn't it would probably be expensive to fix (relative to the repair).

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned, and I have owned BMWs, Mercedes, Toyotas, Hondas, Chevys, and such. Absolutely nothing has gone wrong and this car has seen all sorts of conditions from city driving to the autobahn (I did European delivery) to country roads to everything in-between. The DSC (Dynamic Stability Control) is a lifesaver in snow and/or rain. The funniest part is the gas mileage. It is rated 19/29 which is roughly the same mileage as many smaller cars including the new Nissan Sentra SE-R! The 16-way sport seats (optional) are not the most comfortable, especially on long trips. There is also some quirky ergonomic stuff (like the rear view mirror, rain sensing wipers) but that is very minor. The car is heavy, but the BMW engine has grunt when you need it. And that's what I love about BMWs. They are docile when you need them to be (i.e. commuting) and a real terror when you want to have fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

2nd Apr 2004, 06:41

I agree. My 528i SE A is coming up for three years old and the more I drive it, the more I admire it's abilities. I would normally change my car after three years, but this is one I'm going to keep as there is currently no other car made that can take it's place. And that definitely includes the new 5 Series. What a shame, that! I reckon my car will go to 150,000 miles and beyond. At 50,000 miles it still feels and drives like new. Surely the very best car ever, in the real world, for real people.

22nd May 2004, 10:38

I've just had a test drive in a 2000 525i and a 2001 E240. The 525i wins hands down in all departments. I tried the new 5 Series, but to be honest I can't quite get used to the new body style. I think I'll trade in my 740i and get the 528i!

23rd Jun 2004, 10:46

I have now owned a 528se (leather and all the 'bits') for 1 year having bought it with 91,000 on the clock (at 6 years old)

It is now 7 years old with 107,000 on the clock.

Except for a split hose and a rumbling wheel bearing (both now fixed) I have had no problems.

The car drives like a new car - smooth, quiet, very good acceleration and confident handling.

The paintwork still gleams (the odd tiny stone chip), the original alloys are like new and the interior is better than most 2 year-old cars.

I have owned around 30 cars over the last 30 years including 3 new ones (I have never owned one with more than 50,000 miles before the beemer) Previous ownership has covered most makes other than Mercedes and Peugeot, including sports, coupes, prestige and family saloons. The 528 is better than all of them (although the Rover 600ti came close)

A tremendous package of speed, comfort, reliability, practicality and image.

I'm going to buy a cheap cherished plate and keep it for a couple of years more.

2000 BMW 5 Series 530 D Steptronic 3.0 diesel from Spain

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 145 Montreal TS 1.6

Summary:

A beautifully made, brilliantly styled executive sports saloon

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Handling and ride absolutely superb.

No intrusive noises at any speed.

Automatic gearbox slightly lazy in urban traffic, but the weight justifies this.

Fuel consumption amazing, except again for urban traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001

4th Jan 2001, 09:13

Rear wheel drive will doughnut you around to any degree you want.

Traction control: good job, but they are the worst car ever in snow.

15th Mar 2001, 08:17

Rear drive provides balanced weight distribution and thus balanced handling: the engine is up front, the gearbox and propshaft run the length of the car, and the final drive is at the rear.

If you have a dislike for rear wheel drive cars, or are of the opinion that they are somehow "dangerous", do not buy BMW. Every car in their range shares the front engine/rear drive layout.

Remember that the 5-series is noted throughout the world for being the finest executive car on sale today; being unable to drive it is merely a reflection on the person behind the wheel and not the badge upon it.

Knowing your car's limitations is all part of driving. Seek tuition if you are inexperienced.

29th Jul 2004, 06:10

Well, I drive 530d in Finland (Lapland) where is winter over 8 months in a year. No problems at all during my 150 000 km.

2000 BMW 5 Series SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance70 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Ultimate luxury machine

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It handles beautifully. Germans know how to build cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

13th Apr 2001, 12:18

How can you comment on the car's reliability and say 'The Germans know how to build cars' when you've only driven 50 miles? I've driven more miles in borrowed friends' cars than that!

Judging by some of the other responses, don't you think you should have waited a little longer before having submitted a review?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews