1995 BMW M3 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 BMW M3 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

Control and accelleration. You will not be disappointed

Faults:

Regular maintenance past 100K miles: CV joint, ball bearings, front suspension, front brakes, and rear brakes replaced.

General Comments:

The car is the ultimate driving machine. The year it came out it was the named the best handling car, in cars ranging in price of 30,000 and above. It is the car to which all others look to as a benchmark.

I've driven in a heavily modded Mitsubishi Eclipse that handled very similar. Audi's S4's have very good handling, but not on par with M3's. There are so many m3 wannabe killers out in todays market. However, handling is the one characteristic that can't be touched. The handling is second to none.

The acceleration is pretty good. 0 to 60 in 5.5 s with a manual, about 14 flat in the 1/4 mile. There is a large aftermarket scene for M3's from Schnitzer to Dinan. If you want to make your M3 go faster, turbo and supercharger kits are available.

I've owned a 1988 Porsche 944 turbo and my M3 was a refreshing change. Not only is it quick and the handling is phenomenal. The dependability of the car is above average for a German sport/sedan. No turbo problems, no problems with timing belt. The in-line 6 engine is bullet proof. Hardly any problems. I spent 4,000.00 in 2 months on my Porsche. The car is a money pit.

Probably the only negative aspect about the BMW M3 is the interior. It's not on par with Lexus, Audi, or even Saab's. The interior is spartan, but dooable. I suggest getting a good stereo and enjoy the drive. There are no little neat devices like I've seen in Saab's and Audis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

12th Mar 2005, 10:51

I just got an 95 m3 and it is incredible in every apect definitely commend BMW for this car.

22nd Feb 2006, 14:57

My 1995 M3 was lovingly cared for by its previous owner who had it from new. I have carried on in the same vein for the last three years and only use it between March and November, and even after 80,000 miles the paintwork and the Nappa leather seats are still almost like new. The acceleration is fantastic in all gears and especially responsive even in 5th gear. Road holding and handling is exceptionally reassuring especially when I am driving at speed. I have averaged 25mpg overall since I bought the car which I am very pleased with. As the car cost £45k new with all its extras, I am reluctant to sell it as it is probably now only worth £8 and what can I buy that is comparable for £8k.

1995 BMW M3 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carRenault 5 GT Turbo

Summary:

Impreza eater

Faults:

Nothing.....

General Comments:

An absolute animal. The most remarkable car I've ever driven. Far better than the Impreza Turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

12th Apr 2001, 07:32

Impreza eater? Yes, it'll eat one coming the other way when you spin off trying to go quick in the wet down a twisty road!! OK, it's quicker in a straight line but then it should be at twice the price with an extra 80bhp!

18th Jan 2007, 00:10

I'm with the guy above me. There is no way a Type R took an M3. Maybe in the wet, but that's your only hope is the M3 sliding on the water. Other than that the power of the M3 is enormously more, and the handling, even if it's not as good like you say, is still damn good, and is definitely good enough to get it through the twisties with times far shorter than Hondas.

That being said, this car is amazing. I've owned mine for a couple months and have no complaints. The parts tag is a little high, but well worth it. The VANOS system in these cars is amazing. Power non stop. Just keep your pedal to the floor and she'll keep running. I personally feel that the BMW M3 is the best performing car in the world all around.

1995 BMW M3 Evolution 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza series McRae

Summary:

Buy one even if it's for a week

Faults:

Very little except have replaced the rear tyres about 20 times.

Whining rear diff my own fault, probably due to blasting it sideways out of roundabouts and hairpins.

General Comments:

The best car in the world, fantastic performance, handles like it's on rails, drifts like the wind and great, great fun. Hope to get the new M3 later next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000

24th Feb 2003, 14:40

Not the best car in the world, the best sports saloon in the world.

1995 BMW M3 Saloon 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carBMW 318i Cabriolet

Summary:

Supercar bargain

Faults:

Lambda probe, oil cooler.

General Comments:

The M3 is a saloon car with super car performance and style, although pricey to service and maintain (nearly £800 for the inspection and service).

Slightly disappointed with the residual value of the car, cost £27k May 1998 and was offered 13k by a BMW dealer against a new car in August 2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2000

1995 BMW M3 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 3.0
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Looks great, sounds great, runs like a scalded cat. Can be driven every day by anybody. However, work the engine and 5-speed gearbox and it becomes a totally different car!

Surprising gas mileage - 22mpg (U.S.) average

Shop around for insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews