1993 Buick Century from North America


I love this car, and will keep driving till it can't be driven anymore!


The main issue now is it seems to go through fuel pumps very quickly. I've replaced probably 5 in the last 8 years. Anyone else had this problem, or knows what might cause it?

General Comments:

This Century is very comfortable and a very good road trip car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2009

6th Feb 2016, 15:32

You could have a clogged fuel filter. Fuel pumps don't like to push fuel through dirty filters.

7th Feb 2016, 20:58

Or... You run it near empty all the time, which burns up fuel pumps. Never go below a 1/4 tank. Easy fix now, right?

13th Mar 2016, 07:51

OK so I'm wondering why mine has some type of fuel issue when starting, especially the 1st start of the day. I've changed the starter and plugs so it fires great. When I crank it, it turns but no start til I wait a few minutes with my foot on the gas, then sometimes I hear a misfire. This only happens that first start of the day? Please help.

93 Buick Century V6.

1993 Buick Century Special 6 cylinder from North America




At 160K miles, the water pump went out. That was repaired, and so far nothing else under the hood has gone wrong.

The electric controls for the drivers side seat broke at 145K miles, and now the seat is unable to change positions.

There are side panels separating the side windows that have fell off, and will not stay on. There is also a lot of wear on the seats.

The cup holder broke off years ago, and the arm rest/storage compartment are completely in shambles. The cardboard inside the arm rest is bent and it is unable to close anymore.

The plastic light covers on each side of the outside head lamps (yellow bulbs) have broken out. I see this same thing happening on most other Buick Centurys (1990-1996) I come across.

General Comments:

The car is extremely reliable. In the 8 years I've owned the car, I have not had to do anything to fix it except for replace the water pump, and your average maintenance repairs. It has nearly 200K miles on it, and it runs great. I trust my car.

I have had it this long, and haven't wanted to replace it. I've decided that my next car will definitely be a Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

1993 Buick Century 3.3 from North America


This has been a great car!


Had to have the alternator replaced once.

Gas tank was replaced (it rusted out)

A few belts, plugs, brakes... nothing major though.

My trunk lid is very rusted, so I try not to use it.

General Comments:

I have to let the car run for about 10 minutes when its cold outside (under 30 F). I don't like getting into a cold car anyways.

This car has lots of room in it.

It goes great on the highway, definitely keeps up its speed!

The heater and A/C work great.

This has been a great car for me, I got the car for free, but my mother in law only paid $1,200 for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2008

1993 Buick Century Custom V6 from North America


Fabulous car and don't have one single complaint



General Comments:

Just inherited this fabulous car with 50,000 original miles and perfect leather interior. Car has been taken care of pristinely. Am thrilled with the luxurious interior, sound system, a/c, overall spaciousness and road trip driving. Plan to keep this as a collectible. Keep it waxed, covered and garaged. It feels ever bit as good as a Cadillac. This is definitely a keeper. Never knew Buick was such a fabulous car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2007

6th Aug 2007, 12:19

They really made Buick Centuries with leather interior? I've certainly never seen one.

Personally I hate leather.

13th Jul 2008, 23:26

Well mine doesn't have leather and I love it. BTW the sound system in a Buick is awesome.

1993 Buick Century from North America


Perfect, couldn't have asked for anything better!


The only things I have ever had wrong with this car, in the entire time that I have owned it, are things that I have done myself - i.e. accidents and such. The car is still in wonderful condition, even after all of this time. The only reason that I rated comfort a 7 is because the car is a tank and is relatively hard to park for new drivers. But other than that, the car is great. I am definitely thankful to have had this as my first car, despite how unattractive it may seem.

As of recently, the only problem I have is this belt that snapped off (I can't remember what it was called, I am sorry, but it made my steering wheel lock up and I had to pull over). My dad looked at it and it was just from the normal wear and tear - easily and cheaply replaced.

General Comments:

The only complaints I have about the car are it's handling and size. You have to slow down a lot for turns, so as long as you're not a speed demon then you're okay :)

The seats are very comfortable, the ride is always very smooth, and it is a very easy car to drive and maneuver.

If you are transitioning to a Buick Century from another car, the size may be hard to adjust to, but that really is the car's only downsize.

I haven't had to replace anything in the car except that belt, brake pads, and tires from normal wear and tear over the years. This car has been a very cheap car to maintain, and for that I am fortunate. I would highly recommend this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

15th Jul 2007, 16:04

I am surprised the Century seems large to you, it was after all the smallest car in the Buick line-up. The Century is a very nice compromise between compact and full-size. I have driven several of the last generation Centuries (1997 - 2005) which were even a little bit larger than your car and I found them very easy to drive and maneuver. I drive a Park Avenue though, so I guess I am used to a larger car.