1994 Buick Century Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Buick Century Custom 3.1 SFI 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Over all, if you're looking for a solid and reliable used car, I would highly recommend this one

Faults:

The only thing that has gone bad was the alternator. It died around 90,000 miles.

The engine is starting to leak oil from the lower intake manifold gasket and will need to be replaced.

General Comments:

I love my Buick Century custom! The styling is old for a 94, but it's a solidly built car. I've had my Century for almost 5 years now and have had no major problems... very reliable car in my opinion.

The 3100 SFI 3.1L V6 engine puts out 165hp and is smooth, quiet and has adequate power for the size of the car. These GM (General Motors) engines are notorious for leaky gaskets though.

The lower intake manifold gasket on my car started leaking oil (around 90,000 miles... I now have over 106,000 miles) and will need to be replaced eventually. I've been told it will cost $1,200 to fix. I think I'll be waiting on that until the leak gets bad enough.

For now, I just make sure to check the oil level from time to time and add more when needed.

It's no sports car, but the handling is good. Tires make a huge difference on how well this car handles, so be sure you've got some good tires.

The interior of the car is "old style" like the rest of the car, but is comfortable, roomy and relatively quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

1994 Buick Century 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Very dependable car bought for less than $2000 and has been great for 3 years.

Faults:

Most recently, I have decided to retire this car. Due to a knocking in the engine. The cost of installing a used engine has prompted me to move on.

Other than regular maintenence, no repairs to speak of.

Power door locks did not work when purchased. (120000 miles)

General Comments:

This car has been a joy to own, and has served me well on the highway and in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

30th Mar 2005, 18:58

Hi, the knocking noise that you hear in the engine is the transmission ready to go it is exactly the first sign of the transmission going like mine. Now every time you move the car while it's running it makes the noise. Cot man transmissions will repair it for 1500$ I will repair mine soon because mine only has 50,000 miles on it so it is worth it I believe!

1994 Buick Century Special 3.1 SFI V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75500 miles
Most recent distance75600 miles
Previous carSuzuki Samurai

Summary:

Very reliable

Faults:

My spark plugs went bad when I bought it.

Replaced a vacuum hose because car sputtered badly.

Replaced Muffler for better flow.

Removed Air cleaner restrictor +5HP.

Installed Performance chip +20HP.

General Comments:

I have heard that this is a very reliable car except for the fact that they are notorious for blowing alternators if the engine is taken past 5,000 Rpm.

After replacing the spark plugs, muffler, restrictor, and chip, I now have 190HP, Originally 160HP.

Very quick, smoked tires very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th September, 2004

1994 Buick Century Special 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100024 miles
Most recent distance100790 miles

Summary:

Low Cost, Low Mantience, very dependable

Faults:

Muffler replaced at 90,000 miles due to rust.

Paint faded on the back bumper.

Oil leak at 95,000 miles because of a small crack, fixed $150.

Oil light doesn't come on.

General Comments:

This car is a big boat! It floats around the turns.

Very good take off when needed, I think its the V6.

Good gas mileage, only have to fill her up every 350 miles.

All the Air Conditioning and Heating work's great, power seats.

I get the oil checked every 2,000 miles, and check it myself every week.

Handles great in snow!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

10th May 2005, 09:28

I have a 1994 Buick century 3.1, and we are having trouble with it shifting, it appears to be stuck in a low gear, will not shift automatically, any tips or suggestions, thanks.

3rd May 2007, 09:50

I had a 1994 Plymouth Acclaim with a similar transmission problem. It wouldn't up-shift into 3rd gear. The problem was a frozen linkage in the transmission. The fix was to remove the linkage, clean and lubricate it. The cost was less than $100.00 at a garage in the Boston area. So check this prior to replacing your transmission.

1994 Buick Century Special 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Great traditional Buick

Faults:

Regular maintenance.

Some taillights burned out after 40,000 miles. Hard to fix by yourself. You need someone to hold the long assembly.

Paint faded badly on bumpers.

General Comments:

A great car.

Plenty of room for the grandchildren and supplies.

Bought a new one in 1999 with no problems either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2003

1994 Buick Century Special Edition 3.1L SFI from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L SFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Great Bang for the Buck

Faults:

Replaced the power steering boots due to oil leakage at 50000 miles.

General Comments:

- Good transportation for a few dollars

- Ergonomics don't exist on this car.

- Styling is old even for grandpa

- However, this car will get get you from point A to point B with no problems, specially with the optional 3100 Series III V6 engine

- Suspension could be more tighter, but then again this is no Ferrari.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

1994 Buick Century Custom 3.1 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Very enjoyable, reliable car for the money

Faults:

Oxygen sensor was bad when purchased as a used car. Dealer fixed after initial incorrect diagnosis. Bad sensor caused intermittent stumbling.

Heating system baffle quit working properly, allowing heat to come through the upper AC outlets... very annoying. Simple fix, but expensive to get at due to being behind the lower dash area.

General Comments:

Nice, quiet ride.

Nice touch is the subdued lighting on electric window/door control for nightime driving.

Not a racer, but 3.1 engine provides more than adequate power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews