1996 Buick Century Limited from North America


I will never buy another Buick again


Everything is wrong with this car.

The style sucks.

The transmission slips, even after I put in Lucas trans fix. theres no cup holders.

Rear drivers window does not roll down.

The door panel is coming off on the front passenger door.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2008

17th Jul 2008, 12:12

You purchased a 9 year old car in 2005 and expect to not have to do any repairs? There is no such thing as a fix in a bottle! Your review provides no information about the car. So because your rear windows do not roll down, no one should buy a Buick?

31st Mar 2011, 22:49

If you don't like the style, why did you buy it?

21st Jan 2012, 22:31

With your review, almost nothing was wrong with your car. So the rear window motor is going, and there are cup holders probably broken from your car. The style doesn't suck, but if you think so, why the hell would you buy it then?

1996 Buick Century Limited 3.1 gas from North America


A quality car, with acceptable fuel economy, and good performance


The optional carriage roof has began to split its seams.

Front windows have failed repeatedly.

Headliner adhesive has failed, due to exposure to cigarette smoke.

Stock stereo failed after approximately five years of use.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel economy, coupled with the stability associated with a front wheel drive vehicle.

Adequate pick up in urban conditions. Moderately stable on freeway conditions.

Seats are comfortable, yet lack sufficient bolstering when cornering.

Rear ingress/egress is difficult.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

4th Jun 2006, 21:33

I have also had problems with the automatic windows in my 1995 Buick Century. First, my front driver-side window would barely roll down, and would get stuck when it would roll down. Now, neither of my front windows will budge at all.

I have had problems with several "cosmetic" components of my car, but mechanically the car is very sound. It also gets very good gas mileage, particularly considering that it is a 6-cylinder.

1996 Buick Century Custom 3.1L from North America


This is an amazing machine for the money!


Over the 40,000 miles, since I've owned this car, I've had to replace the water pump, the alternator, the spark plugs and one driver's seat mount.

General Comments:

I am amazed that a car this cheap is built this good.

All the plastic molding is still firmly attached, no rattles what so ever.

The car just turned 100,000 miles old, I've put the last 40,000 miles on it, and I've bought less that $100 worth of parts to fix the few things that have broken or malfunctioned.

I've done all the maintenance myself and this car is very easy to work on.

You have to remove 9 bolts to remove the water pump.

You can change the oil yourself without removing any body panels or nonsense such as that.

No special tools are needed to do general maintenance. With a simple ratchet set, screw driver and an oil filter wrench you can do pretty much anything short of replacing a halfshaft.

I will defintely be buying another Buick in the very near future!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

24th Nov 2013, 21:58

These Buicks are good cars. I love Buicks, Nissans and now Chryslers. My favorite Buicks are the LeSabre, Park Avenue, Riviera and Century. I do like the Century overall on looks; it's a beautiful automobile. As long as you take care of the engine and maintenance, these cars they will last for a long time, even at a higher mileage. Just take excellent care of your 96 Century. I hope you still own this reliable beauty now. I am very late on the comment, but would recommend the Century overall; it's a gas saver vehicle.

1996 Buick Century from North America


Excellent for the money!


Nothing major has gone wrong with this car since I've had it. To get it to pass inspection, it needed one of the power steering tubes replaced and new tires, but that was it.

General Comments:

I've only had this car for about four months, but I absolutely love it. Before this, I had a Kia Sephia, and I was in the shop literally every two-four weeks because things were always breaking/falling off/catching on fire.

The only fault I can find with the Buick is that it doesn't have great pick-up, but I'm not exactly trying to race my little boat, so that's okay.

At 114,000 miles, the transmission still runs incredibly smoothly (I can hardly feel it shifting), and I'm getting around 25 mpg city.

So far, I have had no issues aside from needing to replace the brake pads and getting a flat (I ran over a nail).

The body and interior of the car are in wonderful shape, and the trunk space is huge! Also, for those of you who don't know, this model seats 6 people, not the usual 5 (there's a third seat belt in the front).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

1996 Buick Century Custom 3.6 liter from North America


I will not buy another Buick


At 24,000 miles, we had to have new front brakes.

At 25,000 miles, the driver's door window motor was replaced, by the dealer. My cost was $315.00.

At 25,002 miles, the car would not start. Back to the dealership.

At 25,013 miles, we were told we needed a battery, $120.00.

We also needed an alternator, at an outstanding price of $305.00.

General Comments:

I'm not sure if is poor quality, or if it is coincidence.

The dealership, in Kentucky, doesn't want to take any blame.

Even if it isn't their fault, at least they could have a nicer "bed-side manner".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 16:09

GM doesn't make a 3.6 Liter.

28th Sep 2001, 11:38

This Century sounds like a real lemon! Yes, new cars can be lemons too. A surprising amount of new cars have some type of problem.

26th Feb 2002, 17:23

I just got rid of my Century 2000. No problem with the car that you had. The only problem was with the dealership not putting the oil cap back on the crank case and resetting the exaust system. Car nearly died out on the expressway on the coldest night of the year! Never went back to that dealership again. Another Buick dealership took good care of me, but I decided to upgrade to a Lexus ES300.