2002 Buick Century Special Edition 3.1 V6 from North America


Great all around car


The only problem I have had is the coolant gasket needs to be replaced. Which seems to be common problem with these cars.

General Comments:

I bought this car used.

It has been very comfortable and is very good looking car.

It has a comfortable ride and handles like a dream.

Bought for very reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2007

2002 Buick Century Custom from North America


Please bring back the Buick Century for the senior citizens who love them a a lot!!



General Comments:

This is my second Century. I had a 1996 version, but it had some problems with it. As for this one, well I like it a lot. It's been trouble free since I've owned it. Basically, I use it for errand running, along with taking the grandchildren to wherever they want to go. It's very comfortable and pretty reliable. No wonder why so many senior citizens like myself own one.

Would I recommend one of these? Of course I would. If you're in the market for something nice with Buick's reputation for making comfortable cars, buy one. I wish that they would bring back these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2006

2002 Buick Century 3.1 from North America


The best ride I've ever had in a vehicle


Only one thing... I lost the A/C in my '92, which, in this model, caused the engine to cease. Costly repair.

General Comments:

Outstanding ride, comfort and dependability.

Fairly easy for the uninitiated to do service, change lights, troubleshoot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2005

2002 Buick Century Custom 3.1 V6 from North America


Quality and comfort at a very reasonable price


To date absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car. Nor do I expect anything to. This is as solid a car as I have ever driven and in spite of my previous penchant for small cars I have driven a fair few North American cars on business travels.

General Comments:

I have been and continue to be delighted with my purchase.

If you want a boy racer's car you are in the wrong market although the engine offers plenty of assurance that you can accelerate out of trouble.

I have never had any reason to test the top speed as the motorway speed limit always comes first.

Breaking is solid and assured.

Ride quality is comfortable if a little wallowy by European standards. But then no one buys a Buick to throw it into corners.

All the gadgets you need are here, cruise control, ABS, traction control, power windows, power driver's seat and so on.

My personal favourites are probably the automatic headlights and the additional side-mounted 'turning' lights that come on with the indicators to provide light into the turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

23rd Jan 2004, 22:55

These are nice cars, my 98 Century has been a great car in the 6 years I've had it. Mine has 116000 miles on it, & runs like it's still brand new. This car doesn't owe me a dime, either.

12th Jul 2004, 13:10

I inherited my Grandfathers Century and I agree on the quality of the car. The motor is strong and it actually climbs pretty quick to about 110 mph until the governor kicks in. The ride is soft and the car tends to roll in turns, although you can't have that soft of a ride without body roll. My previous car was a Mitsubishi Galant. I liked the styling of the Galant better, but that's about all. I feel that the Century has 5 times the options as the Galant had for about the same price. My favorite feature is the low tire pressure warning and the heated mirrors.

2002 Buick Century from North America


A good comfort for the money


So far the car did not need any repairs, after all it has only 4000 miles of mileage.

General Comments:

Bad things first:

I don't like the fact that the driver has no control over the headlights being on or off. The headlights turn on only if it is dark outside. While your parking break is on the headlights remain off. Bad thing if you have a steep driveway.

The switch between high/low beams is slow.

Very simple and little bit boring interior.

Good things:

For the car this size it gets many miles to the gallon.

The ride is smooth and comfortable.

Sometimes while entering a sharp corner it seems to drift, however, the drift is easily manageable.

The transmission is a bit slow to kick in while going up the hill, however, the engine has enough power to move the car along when asked to.

Dual climate control works very well.

Rear seats are comfortable, so are the front ones. My configuration of front seats is 55/45.

My hight is 6,01 and if I grew couple of inches more I could keep this car and be comfortable. :)

Performs well on snowy & wet roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

27th Feb 2003, 19:29

I have a 99 century with 159,000 (mostly highway) miles. The car's been nothing but reliable, comfortable, & economical. Plenty of room inside with a lot of nice features for the money. I have had no problems with this car, just routine maintenance. While these aren't the most exciting looking or handling cars on the road, I must say that they deliver exactly what they say they do. A good, reliable vehicle with a nice ride, plenty of room, & excellent fuel mileage (I get about 30 mpg on the highway).This car has held up extremely well over the past 4 years, & I love it. Who says there's no more decent American cars anymore? This cars' a lot nicer, roomier, & larger than the so-called "full sizes" from Honda, Toyota, & Nissan. And this car is a midsize! I think you'll probably be very happy with yours also.