13th May 2003, 18:19

I have a 2003 Century, headlights come on as soon as the key is in the ignition. To my knowledge, all GM cars have the day-time running lights that come on as soon as you start the car. My car handles horribly in the snow and the back end slid around on my at 25mph on a dry mountain road with just a littly gravel on the road. The drift was not manageable in my opinion. Gas mileage is good and ride is very comfortable. In all honesty the car is very practical and reliable. It just looks like something my Grandmother should be driving.


2nd Dec 2003, 10:45

Just to respond to the first comment: I'm driving a newer Century (I assume an '03) as a rental since my 2000 Accord was rear-ended. Although the Buick isn't bad, there is no way one could say that it's "nicer" than an Accord, even my plain-Jane LX with the 4 cylinder.

The parts of the Buick's dash that hold the radio and the instrument area look like they were cut out with an Exacto knife -- absolutely horrendous to look at. This is strange, since the outer body of the car seems pretty high quality to me. The cup holder assembly just looks horrible folded down over the bench seat. The seats are totally devoid of any support, and the upholstery is really outdated and frumpy looking. I have the impression that the car was designed by different committees who weren't communicating with each other, and were under pressure not to rock the boat.

Also, although it seems to have enough pep and handles alright (Hey, it's supposed to "float," it's a Buick!) I don't like the way the engine sounds, especially from outside the car. It throws itself into too high an idle in park, and sounds "trashy." Okay, it's a poor, beaten-up rental car, but it should have a better feel at only 17K miles.

23rd Jan 2004, 18:09

In response to the comment above, I also had a 2000 Accord LX 4 cylinder, & while I'll agree with you that maybe it's true that the century isn't "nicer" than the accord, it's definitely a more reliable car. My Accord was nothing, but problems from day one when it was brand new, & I drove it off the lot. I owned Hondas before it, & they were no problem, but my 2000 Accord was a maintenance nightmare. From the faulty brakes at 10 miles, to the cracked block at 10000 miles. I maintained this car religiously as well (oil changes every 3k, etc. etc.) Definitely not the quality vehicle that Honda had produced in the past. So I replaced it with a (then new) 2002 Century, which I've had no problems at all with, other than routine maintenance in 36,000 miles. The Century was never advertised as the "nicer" car, just reliable transportation. In my opinion, they have delivered on that promise, & then some. Your complaints against your century sound like nit-picking more than anything else. Plus there's a lot of them on the road, & everyone I know that owns them (including myself) can attest to the reliability & the fact that they only have to perform routine maintenance. There are a lot of very happy Century owners out there. And after having both vehicles, I would pick the Century over the Accord any day of the week.

4th Feb 2004, 20:46

How can you say the Century is not "nicer" than the accord. The accord base is slow, featureless and feels like a tin can. The buick is a solid car that comes standard with most of the features that are options on the accord. Century's ride cannot be beat in my humble opinion. Great car.

29th Feb 2004, 08:42

I own both the Honda Accord and the Buick century. My opinion is that they are not comparable cars. The Accord is a smaller sized sedan built to be ride and look like a sports car, while the Buick is a larger sized sedan, that is built more for drive comfort, delvering a smoother less noisy and softer ride then the Accord. Both my Buick and Accord have been extremely reliable.

30th Jul 2004, 17:35

To the stuck up person who wrote the third comment, keep your import praising on the Honda boards. You can keep your precious tin can Accord, and we'll keep our solid Centurys that come with all the wonderful features that cost so much extra in an Accord.

24th Aug 2004, 11:38

I have a 2002 Century with 78,000 miles on it. I purchased it in January 2003 with 26,000 miles on it. I commute 100 miles a day in Wisconsin and get between 27 and 32 MPG. I have really enjoyed this car and have not had any problems at all with it. It handles very well in rain and snow. Oil changes, tires, and wiper blades are the only things done to the car since the warranty expired. I will be needing a brake job in the near future.

During the warranty time period, I had the injectors cleaned, drivers seat replaced, and rear window defogger repaired. The spray out of the windshield washers needed to be adjusted also.

Even my 2 teen age sons enjoy the way it drives but they wish it looked a little sportier. They say it looks like an old persons car. But they don't turn down a chance to drive it.

2nd Sep 2004, 16:56

I have just purchased a 2002 Buick Century, and I am delighted with my purchase. I have nothing good to say about Japanese cars, so I won't comment on that issue. However, as to the irritating Daytime Running Lights, I was able to disable them in my '99 Grand Prix by simply pulling the separate DRL fuse. The headlights lose their automatic night time feature, but otherwise work fine. I believe that the Century, being a GM "W" body car should be the same. Hope this helps. Aaron.

26th Oct 2004, 07:51

We owned a 94 Buick Century and are currently replacing it with a 2002. We put 180,000 miles on our 94 and my wife did not keep up on her scheduled maintenance. Other than oil changes we had very little work done on this car except for replacing the exhaust, brakes, and struts. It's not pretty to look at, but it is one of the few American cars available that I feel can compete with the reliability of Honda and Toyota.

24th Jan 2005, 19:13

I own a 2001 Century with 60K miles on it and I must say that I am very happy with my choice.

Reliable, very good miles/gallon on highway, comfortable.

It shouldn't be compared with Honda Accord because they have been design to satisfy different customers. Accord is smaller and sportier, but also noisier and more expensive for the same features. They are both great cars though.

Handling on wet or snowy roads was a little bit difficult until I replaced the original tires with Michelin Hydroedge; feels way more stable since.

10th Feb 2005, 05:55

I just wanted to add here. I have a 2002 Buick Century that I bought new. I drive about 140 miles a day. I use this car for work. I now have 106,000 miles on it. Here is a list of what I have fixed during my ownership so far: Windshield wiper motor failed - no pause. Catalytic converter clogged - replaced. ABS sensor gone out.

I love the car. Those repairs are basically normal for a car with over 100 k miles on it. The big payoff was when a lady hit me in the drivers door with a pontiac during a snow storm. I walked away from it and they replaced the door. Bigger cars give more protection. Another benefit of ownership here.

I would recommend this car to anyone wanting a smooth ride with solid performance.