1972 Buick Electra 225 Limited 455 CID V8 w/ 4 BBL carb from North America


This is a great classic car to own


A few things have gone wrong. I got the car in Feb of 2016, and it was poorly maintained in the last part of its life. Because of that, generally things that have gone wrong include:

1) Windshield washer fluid motor was toast. That was actually the only thing that needed replacing to get it safetied; cost a whopping $42 CDN ($35 US) and took 1.5 hours for me to slowly replace.

2) Leak in the brake lines, bad brake pads and rotors. Did a full brake job.

3) New rear shocks (more of a car improvement).

4) New tires (was riding on 18 year old whitewalls).

5) CV flange yoke cracked almost in half (probably due to 45 years of torque applied).

6) Rebuilt the rear driveshaft (out of balance).

7) New brake master cylinder because it was leaking internally.

That's it so far, from Feb 2016-Dec 2017, but it gets stored in the winter from early Nov to early April.

General Comments:

I love the car, despite its terrible reliability. It's a 4 door, a real head turner, and sounds great with the big block 455 V8. It's my first classic car, and I got off to a great start. Its styling is mind blowing. A very gorgeous car that is easy on the eyes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2017

4th Dec 2017, 04:39

That's a cool year!

18th Dec 2017, 20:02

Cool big boat, probably rides like a cloud.

19th Dec 2017, 13:32

Rides like a cloud.

Handles like a baby buggy. With an elephant in it.

19th Dec 2017, 21:28

I think an elephant on a baby buggy would tip over on making a sharp turn. Highly unlikely it would happen to a full-size car from this era.

1972 Buick Electra 225 455 from North America


Best car I've owned


Had some electrical goblins! Previous owner hacked some of the wiring.

Bench seat was a little worn on the drivers side.

Flywheel had a few teeth missing. Sometimes I'd have to grab a belt and yank to turn the motor over enough for the starter to grab some teeth. Put a new flywheel in and was good to go.

Rebuilt the carb soon after I got the car. Ran, but ran rough.

Trunk weatherstripping leaked and trunk would collect water.

General Comments:

I bought this car a few weeks after high school for 700 dollars! Put a lot of miles on her and she did good.

Replacing the flywheel was about the only major repair I had to do.

Didn't handle very good, but I didn't expect it to.

Got 22 mpg on the highway with a little tuning! Really impressed me.

I took the AC compressor off and I wish I hadn't. It probably still worked!

Probably the best car I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2008

23rd Dec 2008, 11:34

Would like to know the tuning you have made to reach 22 MPG with a 455. I've got a 72 Riviera with same engine and cannot go higher than 15-16 MPG.

1972 Buick Electra 225 455 from North America


Fine piece of usa leadsleds


Virtually nothing except general wear and tear... ground valves at 111,000 and ran even better.

General Comments:

Had 2 of these.buy 3rd in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

1972 Buick Electra Limited 455ci from North America


A great daily driver

General Comments:

The Electra is a great highway cruiser, but suffers on bad roads. The quality of this car is excellent. General Motors was in the beginnings of serious quality decline, but 1972 was a good year for their cars. The engines run fine on todays gasoline due to their low compression, but offer plenty of power when needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2004

1972 Buick Electra Limited 455 V8 from North America


Problem areas on this model are the bottom of the roof rail; the vinyl top cracks, allows water to seep under the moulding, and the rail rots out, which will in turn rot out the trunk and quarter panels. Be sure to inspect this area first when buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

1972 Buick Electra 455 4 barrell from North America


Awesome power with presence


New water pump.

The distributor is on the front of the engine and gets wet when it rains, causing hard starting and raw gasoline in the exhaust, I have split open two mufflers. Sounds like a howitzer going off and a 455 on open pipes is impressive.

General Comments:

This car has enough power to accelerate uphill while pulling a boat.

I am the second owner and it has been very well maintained. The car is all original except for paint (same color) and looks brand new (almost).

It drives like the big block road crushing sedan that is is. Power is awesome, but has significant roll and under steer.

This car is the last of the cars that were built the way we use to build cars; big, powerful and with a presence that could not be ignored. It is the last year before emissions choked the engines and quality started to go down.

This car can pass almost every thing on the road except a gas station. Who cares about mileage with this much power and torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2002

8th Nov 2002, 17:33

Dear Steven

I am the proud owner of a 1972 Buick Sedan Limited with 350000 miles in the odometer. Her 455 cubic inch motor likes to drink fuel. However, on a long trip the comfort is worth it.

15th Dec 2002, 15:08

-72 Buick Electra is great cars! I own a Limited and these cars are very popular here in sweden. Strange, our gasoline prices are roughly about four dollars per gallon!!

Ingemar UmeƄ Sweden.