1977 Buick LeSabre Reviews

1977 Buick LeSabre Custom 405 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 405 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Best car ever driven!

Faults:

Nothing major has happened to the car yet. It was garage kept and is all original. The only thing on the car that is not working constantly is the clock, but I think it is just getting hung up, seems like it is working a little more now.

General Comments:

This is my favorite car that I have ever driven. It floats down the road like a boat. The seats are the most comfortable seats I have ever sat in. The only negative I have on this car is its gas consumption, but that is to be expected with a 305 V8, and an old all metal car. Some people don't like the looks of this car, but I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2010

15th Feb 2010, 11:25

I'm not doubting you, but I wonder what five liter V8s were used in the 77 Lesabre? Maybe the 301 and the 305? I guess the 307 wasn't being made yet.

15th Feb 2010, 17:52

It was the 301 V8, I don't think the 305's were ever offered on the full size Pontiacs (up until 1983), Oldsmobiles and Buick's.

15th Feb 2010, 21:06

The 301 V8 was a 4.9 litre.

20th May 2010, 08:54

The 305 engine was a Chevrolet engine. This engine was offered in all lines in 1977, Buick, Chevrolet, Olds, and Pontiac.

The 4.9L (301) was a Pontiac engine. This was the first claimed fuel miser engine of 1977. They sold a ton of them; they were paired up with the GM200 Metric tranny, and that tranny was junk.

21st May 2010, 14:51

A friend of mine had a 1977 Pontiac Grand Prix with the 301 - sure it was a bit underpowered for that huge car, but it lasted well over 200,000 miles. I don't recall him having any trouble with the transmission, either, so I wonder if in the Grand Prix they put a beefier transmission?

In any case, is it possible to swap out the weaker 200 turbo for a 350 turbo in 301-V8 cars?

21st May 2010, 17:40

I owned a 77 Grand Prix, which was equipped with a 301 with a turbo 400 trans.

1977 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Ugly to look at, scary to drive

Faults:

The transmission was the biggest problem. About 3000 miles ago it began slipping like crazy, and eventually could barely make it up roads with even a slight incline. The one I replaced it with was from a junk yard (luckily this car's bell-housing could bolt a transmission from just about any non-Chevy GM auto 1969-1985), and though it does work, it seems to shift awkwardly.

The air blower died a week after I replaced the transmission (easy fix).

The front left caliper had to be replaced once (When I first got it about 10000 miles ago I replaced it, and its freezing up again now), the front right once (Started freezing about a month after I replaced the left).

The radiator coolant line had a leak (fixed while swapping transmission).

The left rear turn signal does not work (don't know how to fix).

Total exhaust had to be replaced (wear and tear).

General Comments:

This car is the slowest car I have ever driven, or seen. While on the thruway, most tractor trailer drivers speed around me and flip me off. Heck even senior citizens driving modern Buick's speed around me and flip me off because my car is so slow. I would much prefer to have the 5.7 L engine most older Buick's have.

It is impossible not to hit a pedestrian while driving this thing. It's enormous!

It is very, very roomy inside. The seats are comfy, too.

It stalls even on blazing hot summer afternoon.

Very solid. I had an accident with this car once, and totaled the car I hit. My car, on the other hand, just had a few scrapes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2004

13th Dec 2005, 16:52

I have a '76 as well, but mine has a 350 Wildcat engine so when I need to get somewhere in a hurry, it really gets the job done. I more of a cruiser because I like for everyone to get a glance of what they're missing, but if I need power she gives me all shes got and then some. Maybe the car wasn't kept in as great of condition as mine was, I guess. I guess I could get something more gas conservative, but I know it wouldn't be as pleasurable to drive. I wouldn't trade Mary for the world though she's just worth more than any amount of money to me.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 2 reviews