1980 Buick LeSabre Reviews

1980 Buick LeSabre Limited 5.0L V8 from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70310 miles
Most recent distance229845 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

A luxury car that is made to last

Faults:

When I bought the car, it needed a new headliner and vinyl roof.

1 year after owning the car, the transmission started having trouble shifting into third gear.

3 years after owning the car, the interior lights quit working.

4 years after owning the car, the suspension started to wear out, causing the car to sag and rock for a while after big bumps or fast stops.

General Comments:

I will say this is the most comfortable car I have driven. I love the body style of older GM full size sedans, and this car is pure American quality at its finest.

The car does not have very good pickup when flooring it to enter the interstate or anything, but once you get the car going, it's a joy to be in.

I used this car for a daily driver up until last year, and now it is a project car to fully restore and use as a daily driver again someday.

The car is a full size 4 door sedan, which is great for my family. The car is a good looking off white color with a burgundy full vinyl top and a burgundy clothe pillow seat interior. The seats in this car are extremely comfortable, and it's a joy to ride in on long trips.

The spoked wire wheel covers really make this car look good when they are all shined up. I also like all of the chrome trim on this car; it really shows you how much quality and class used to be put into vehicles.

All in all, this will be a daily driver again someday once I fix her up back to her original factory brand new condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2010

1980 Buick LeSabre Limited 301 4 bbl. from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 301 4 bbl. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81995 miles
Most recent distance82500 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

A real bargain

Faults:

Replaced the radiator at 82,000 miles.

Replaced the muffler system at 82,000.

Replaced the flange at the crossover pipe - rotted out at 82,000.

General Comments:

The car rides like a dream, smooth going over bumps, barely notice them.

Acceleration is responsive.

Getting 22.8 miles to the gallon on highway, 18 miles to the gallon in city.

Body and frame hold up very well.

Interior is like a Cadillac - velvet seats and lots of padding. Roomy, can fit up to six people in the car very comfortably.

Mechanically is very sound. Owned it for two months, not too many things have gone wrong besides normal maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

7th Sep 2001, 14:45

If your engine is really a 301, then it's not a 4 bbl, it's a 2 bbl.

(I own a 78 LeSabre with a 301)

30th Nov 2001, 17:40

I have owned three 80 model LeSabres. I know GM diesels have a bad name in general but the 5.7 liter diesel engine in the black LeSabre I currently own is the single toughest engine I ever had in a GM product. All in all, EXCELLENT cars.

13th Apr 2004, 23:14

I own a 1983 LeSabra Limited, The car is truly ugly.

I have found my 307 very dependable. The TH350 works well and is a compliment to its builders. Interior is very roomy and comfortable. The right rear door lock does have some electrical problems. On a whole she handles the Alaska winter very well. Good traction, wonderful ride on bad roads. With all the SUV's on the road I feel safe in her large cabin.

12th Jul 2005, 10:53

Regarding the first comment I read, the 1980 301 engine did in fact have a 4bbl. Quadrajet carb on it. A 2bbl. was not available probably due to the extreme lack of performance it would have had with all the smog junk on it. I have owned my 1980 Limited Coupe for three years now and have found the 301/TH350 combo to be reliable for daily use. All in all, a comfy old cruiser that I plan on holding on to.

30th May 2011, 20:23

Regarding the comment on the 301 did not come with 4 bbl carb. My Buick has been in the family, ordered new in 1980, and just had the carb rebuilt -- this car is all stock!! 10300 miles and is a 4 bbl carb!! 15 mpg in town, 21 on the road. Comments welcome.

1st Jun 2011, 23:25

Here is the story of the 301, born in 1977, died in 1980. 2 bbl form was the entire 4 years, 4 bbl was optional in 1979 and 1980.

1980 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 liter V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles

Summary:

Will not die

Faults:

Fuel pump.

Valve covers.

Transmission gasket.

General Comments:

This cars suspension is so soft that it feels as if you are riding on jelly, but it is the most comfortable beast in the world because of it. The handling and acceleration of this car are absolutely horrendous, A five year old with training wheels hits sixty before it does and can probably turn a hell of a lot faster too.

The seats are incredibly comfortable, better than my couch, and I can fit at least ten people in it if I wanted to.

With the 3.8 V-6 the thing doesn't go at all so flooring it is not uncommon, and I see between 10 and 13 miles to the gallon.

Damn reliable though, as long as I give it its quart of oil a week.

I put a 500 watt Sound system with dual 10" subwoofers and it sounds as good as a home theater system inside, and outside the thing is soundproofed, nobody knows I have anything in there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

22nd May 2001, 08:17

How would you test if the fuel pump is faulty on the 92 LeSabre?

Thanks, Walter.

6th Aug 2010, 17:44

I had a 80 LeSabre Limited, and used Bosch spark plugs; bad move, #3 cylinder, the head of the plug broke and my engine died. It put a rod through the side. It was laid out.

Bought an 84 Park Avenue with a 350. What a car. Use Autolight sparkplugs; the only brand with a solid core.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 3 reviews